Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in judgment (Notice of Motion dated 19 March 2026 in Originating Summons dated 11 March 2026)· [2026] KEELC 5189 (KLR)

Andiga v Manyuru & 2 others; Lodi (Interested Party) (Environment and Planning Originating Summons E001 of 2026) [2026] KEELC 5189 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court (stated only as 'the Court'; delivered at Vihiga)
27 July 2026
2,064 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~8 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court lifted a blanket ban on land use but froze the title register, protecting both the adverse possession claim and the buyer's construction plans.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This is a ruling on the applicant's Notice of Motion dated 19 March 2026 seeking a temporary injunction over land parcel Tiriki/Tigoi/1208 pending determination of an Originating Summons dated 11 March 2026 in which she claims title by adverse possession. The applicant, aged 78, claims over 56 years of open and continuous occupation of land entrusted to her late husband by the registered proprietor, the late Herman Kidiga Manyulu, who died in 1992. The respondents contend the parcel was purchased from the applicant's late husband in 1989, remained vacant, and that her structures stood on the road reserve; the interested party, a former tenant, purchased the parcel in September 2025 and began construction in March 2026. Applying the Nguruman and Mrao principles, the court held the applicant failed to establish a prima facie case: her own account disclosed a permissive origin of occupation with no demonstrated repudiation, and the location of her structures on the parcel was unsupported by tenancy records or other material. The court nevertheless preserved the register, restraining the Land Registrar, Vihiga from registering any disposition without leave, and restraining any sale or third-party interest, since the parcel is registered in a deceased person's name amid succession proceedings and a disputed sale. The blanket interim injunction of 25 March 2026 was discharged; any development resumed is at the interested party's risk and confers no equity. Costs were ordered to be in the cause, with pre-trial directions and a mention on 29 October 2026.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the applicant established a prima facie case for a temporary injunction

Holding

No - her own account disclosed a permissive origin of occupation with no demonstrated repudiation, and the location of her structures on the parcel was disputed

Reasoning

A prima facie case requires an apparently infringed right calling for an answer, not merely an arguable dispute. The register showed the parcel was acquired from the applicant's late husband in 1989, consistent with permissive caretaking. The applicant did not identify when permission was repudiated, and produced no tenancy records, receipts or photographs locating the structures within parcel 1208.

p. 4
02

Whether preservation of the register should issue despite failure of the broad injunction

Holding

Yes - a restraint on registration of dispositions was granted because the parcel remains registered in a deceased person's name amid succession proceedings and a disputed sale

Reasoning

A transfer during the suit could multiply the parties and impair the Court's ability to grant effective relief. Preserving the register protects the subject matter without making a preliminary finding on possession, while lifting the blanket restraint avoids continuing economic prejudice. Works resumed are at the interested party's own risk and confer no equity.

p. 6

Legal principles established

#
  • The requirements for a temporary injunction (prima facie case, irreparable injury, balance of convenience) are distinct and sequential; failure of the first limb is dispositive
  • Possession attributable to permission or licence is not adverse while that basis continues; the point of repudiation of permission must be demonstrated
  • Expenditure on development after notice of a claim is at the developer's own risk and confers no equity against a successful adverse possession claimant

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The Notice of Motion dated 19 March 2026 succeeds only to the limited extent stated below
  2. 2.The temporary injunction issued on 25 March 2026 is discharged insofar as it restrains access to, occupation, use, accumulation of construction materials upon, or development of land parcel Tiriki/Tigoi/1208
  3. 3.Pending determination of the originating summons, the Land Registrar, Vihiga shall not register any transfer, charge, lease, subdivision or other disposition affecting Tiriki/Tigoi/1208 except with leave of the Court
  4. 4.The respondents and the interested party shall not sell, transfer, charge, lease, subdivide or otherwise create any third-party interest over Tiriki/Tigoi/1208 pending determination of the originating summons
  5. 5.Any access, use, construction or development before determination of the suit shall be undertaken wholly at the interested party's risk and shall confer no equity, priority or right to compensation against the applicant
  6. 6.No party shall threaten, harass, evict or forcibly remove another from any portion actually occupied as at the date of the ruling without an order of the Court
  7. 7.The parties shall, within thirty days, complete all pre-trial steps including further affidavits, witness statements, issues and paginated bundles
  8. 8.Mention on 29 October 2026 for confirmation of compliance and allocation of a hearing date
  9. 9.Costs of the application shall be in the cause
Jurisdiction invoked
Order 40 of the Civil Procedure Rules (interim injunction application in a suit for adverse possession)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Andiga v Manyuru & 2 others; Lodi (Interested Party) (Environment and Planning Originating Summons E001 of 2026) [2026] KEELC 5189 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in judgment (Notice of Motion dated 19 March 2026 in Originating Summons dated 11 March 2026). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2026/5189/eng@2026-07-27

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.