Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in excerpt (Notice of motion dated 11th December 2025 in a petition)· [2026] KEELC 4861 (KLR)

Muugu & 191 others v County Government of Kirinyaga & 44 others & another (Environment and Land Petition 2 of 2019) [2026] KEELC 4861 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
29 July 2026
891 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~4 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's Environment and Land Court froze sales of Mwea land parcels pending trial, but refused to bind eleven new parties who had not been served or heard.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The petitioners, 192 in number through the 1st petitioner Samuel Muturi Muugu, moved the Environment and Land Court by notice of motion dated 11th December 2025 seeking leave to amend their petition and join eleven new respondents, a temporary injunction restraining sale, transfer or alienation of land parcels Mwea/Mutithi/Scheme/201 to 400, an inhibition registered against those titles, maintenance of status quo and costs. The 1st respondent opposed through a replying affidavit sworn by Carolyne Kinyua, contending the green cards showed the land last vested in Kirinyaga County Council in 2001, denying responsibility for alleged evictions, and asserting the suit was res judicata given prior litigation in Nairobi HCCC No. 1146 of 1997 and Kerugoya ELC No. 94 of 2017. An interested party, Samuel Maina Macharia, entered appearance but filed no joinder application or reply. At the virtual hearing on 15th July 2026, counsel for the 1st respondent, the only opponent, conceded to the application. The court found no evidence of service on the eleven intended respondents and held no orders could issue against them or their properties without service and a hearing, though leave to amend and join them was granted as unopposed. The injunction and inhibition were granted unopposed to preserve the subject matter pending the petition. Costs were ordered to abide the outcome of the petition.

Key legal issues

#
01

Joinder of new respondents without proof of service

Holding

Leave to join was granted as unopposed, but no binding orders could issue against the newly joined persons until served

Reasoning

The court perused the record and found no evidence of service on the eleven intended respondents. Natural justice required that they be served and heard before any orders issued against them or their properties. Because the only opposing party (1st respondent) conceded, the joinder itself was unopposed and prima facie reasonable, hence leave was granted.

p. 2
02

Injunction and inhibition over suit land pending petition

Holding

Granted unopposed, to preserve the subject matter pending hearing and determination of the petition

Reasoning

With the 1st respondent conceding to the application and no opposition from the existing respondents, the court found the injunction and inhibition prayers reasonable and granted them to safeguard the legal status of the land parcels Mwea/Mutithi/Scheme/201 to 400 pending full hearing of the petition.

p. 2

Legal principles established

#
  • No orders, including injunctive or inhibitory orders, may issue against a party who has not been served and given an opportunity to be heard

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Petitioners granted leave to file and serve an amended petition joining the eleven listed persons as the 43rd to 53rd respondents within thirty (30) days
  2. 2.Temporary injunction restraining the 1st to 42nd respondents from selling, transferring or alienating Land Parcels Mwea/Mutithi/Scheme/201 to 400 pending hearing and determination of the petition
  3. 3.Inhibition order to be registered against the titles for land parcels Mwea/Mutithi/Scheme/201 to 400 pending hearing and determination of the petition
  4. 4.Costs of the application to abide the outcome of the petition
Jurisdiction invoked
Original petition jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court (specific provision not stated in the judgment)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Muugu & 191 others v County Government of Kirinyaga & 44 others & another (Environment and Land Petition 2 of 2019) [2026] KEELC 4861 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in excerpt (Notice of motion dated 11th December 2025 in a petition). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2026/4861/eng@2026-07-29

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.