Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedPetition (number not stated in the judgment)· [2026] KEELC 4273 (KLR)

Buya & others (Suing on Behalf Of Themselves and Ndera Community) v National Land Commission & 6 others; The County Government Of Tana River (Interested Party) (Petition 10 of 2021) [2026] KEELC 4273 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
1 July 2026
2,940 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~12 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's Environment and Land Court gave the National Land Commission six more months to investigate a community land grievance, or land and money automatically transfer.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This ruling of the Environment and Land Court at Nyeri (E. K. Makori, J) determines two competing motions arising from the Court's judgment of December 3, 2024, in the Ndera Community land-injustice petition over Plot L.R. No. 13597/1, Tana River. That judgment nullified the 3rd Respondent's 99-year lease renewal, found a continuing historical land injustice, issued a structural interdict directing the National Land Commission to investigate within six months, ordered Kshs. 25,890,620 (with interest) for limited loss of land use and wayleave to be held in escrow by the County Government of Tana River, and left each party to bear its own costs. The 3rd Respondent's motion sought an extension of time for the NLC investigative report and review of the judgment, while the Petitioners and Interested Party sought implementation: vesting of the plot in the County Government in trust for the Ndera community and release of the escrow monies. The NLC explained that its Commissioners' terms ended on November 15, 2025, leaving it without quorum, and that litigation over recruitment delayed new appointments. The Court held that a review of its own orders was unnecessary since, under Article 23, a structural interdict preserves the Court's jurisdiction after judgment; what was needed was an extension of time. The Court reiterated the December 3, 2024 orders, granted the NLC a further six months to file its investigative report by January 18, 2027, directed service of the judgment and ruling on the NLC, and decreed that if the deadline is missed, the Petitioners' and Interested Party's implementation prayers take effect automatically from January 18, 2027. Each party bears its own costs of the two applications.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the time for the NLC to file its investigative report should be extended

Holding

The extension was granted because the initial six months were insufficient; the terms of the NLC Commissioners lapsed on November 15, 2025, leaving the Commission without quorum to investigate, and litigation over recruitment of new Commissioners slowed the process

Reasoning

The Court took judicial notice that the Commissioners' terms ended and that legal action over the recruitment process delayed the appointment of new Commissioners. Investigations into historical land injustice require time. The NLC was fully constituted following the swearing in of new Commissioners on March 23, 2026, making a further six-month extension consistent with the interests of justice and balancing the parties' positions.

p. 6
02

Whether the judgment of December 3, 2024 required review

Holding

No review was necessary; the structural interdict meant the Court retained jurisdiction to supervise compliance, so only an extension of time was needed

Reasoning

The original judgment was grounded in Article 23 of the Constitution, which empowers the Court to craft innovative remedies including continuing mandamus and to maintain jurisdiction after judgment. Because compliance, not alteration of the orders, was at issue, a review of the original orders was unnecessary. The Court instead extended the compliance timeline and made the Petitioners' implementation prayers effective automatically upon default.

p. 6
03

Whether to give effect to the judgment by vesting the suit property in the County Government and releasing the escrow monies

Holding

The Petitioners' and Interested Party's prayers were held in reserve: they take effect only if the NLC fails to file its investigative report by January 18, 2027

Reasoning

The Court balanced the interests of the Petitioners, the Interested Party and the 3rd Respondent. Rather than immediately implementing the judgment through vesting of Plot No. 13597/1 in the County Government of Tana River and release of the Kshs. 25,890,620 escrow, the Court allowed the extension of time to run first, making the implementation prayers self-executing upon default by the NLC.

p. 7

Legal principles established

#
  • A court issuing a structural interdict/continuing mandamus under Article 23 retains jurisdiction after judgment and may extend time for compliance rather than review the judgment
  • The NLC bears a consultative, advisory and safeguard-oriented mandate over historical land grievances under Article 67(2)(e)

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Reiteration of the final Orders of the Court issued on 3rd December 2024
  2. 2.A further 6-month extension from the date of the ruling granted to the NLC to comply with the judgment dated December 3, 2024
  3. 3.The Investigative Report and Recommendations by the NLC concerning the gravamen outlined in the judgment of December 3, 2024, to be filed on or before January 18, 2027
  4. 4.The ruling and the judgment dated 3rd December 2024 to be served on the 1st Respondent for compliance
  5. 5.Failure to meet the deadline, the prayers sought by the Petitioners and the Interested Party in their application dated October 28, 2025, to take effect from January 18, 2027
  6. 6.Each party to bear its own costs in connection with the two applications
Jurisdiction invoked
Article 23 of the Constitution of Kenya (structural interdicts/continuing mandamus and continued jurisdiction after judgment)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Buya & others (Suing on Behalf Of Themselves and Ndera Community) v National Land Commission & 6 others; The County Government Of Tana River (Interested Party) (Petition 10 of 2021) [2026] KEELC 4273 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Petition (number not stated in the judgment). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2026/4273/eng@2026-07-01

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.