Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNotice of Motion dated 7th May, 2025 (suit number not stated in the judgment)

Not stated in the judgment (1st to 4th Defendants/Applicants v Plaintiff/Respondent)

Not expressly named in the judgment (delivered at Milimani)
7 July 2026
1,130 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~5 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court refused to order a bank to account for an alleged property sale due to lack of proof, but ordered the bank to release updated loan statements.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The 1st to 4th Defendants moved the Court by Notice of Motion dated 7th May 2025 seeking an order compelling the Plaintiff Bank to render accounts of the proceeds of an alleged sale of Maisonette Number 4 on LR 1870/11/199, together with updated loan statements, failing which the Plaint be struck out, plus costs. The Applicants argued the Bank secretly realised the charged property, relying on photographs, Google Maps screengrabs and a CR-12 showing third-party occupation and changed management shareholding. The Bank opposed, asserting it elected under Section 90(3)(a) of the Land Act to sue for the debt (extinguishing its statutory power of sale), that the demand for statements was res judicata following a 2022 application, and that the electronic evidence was inadmissible. Framing two issues, the Court held the application was not res judicata because the 2022 application sought historical statements for interest calculation whereas this one seeks to trace sale proceeds - distinct objectives. On the primary prayer, the Applicants failed to discharge their evidential burden: a statutory sale leaves a mandatory paper trail (90-day notices, 40-day auctioneer notifications, advertisements, Certificate of Sale) none of which existed; the electronic evidence lacked the Section 106B certificate and was inadmissible; and the Bank, having elected to sue for the debt, was bound by that election. The accounting prayer was dismissed, but the Court directed the Bank to avail updated loan statements within 14 days, holding trial by ambush has no place in a modern commercial court. Costs were made in the cause. The application was allowed only in part.

Questions the Court framed

#

The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.

  1. 1.Is the Application barred by the doctrine of res judicata?
  2. 2.Have the Applicants proved that the Plaintiff exercised its statutory power of sale to warrant an order for the rendering of accounts?

Key legal issues

#
01

Res judicata

Holding

The application is not barred by res judicata because the earlier 2022 application sought historical statements to calculate interest discrepancies, while this application seeks statements to trace proceeds of an alleged sale; the objectives are distinct.

Reasoning

Section 7 of the Civil Procedure Act bars re-litigation of matters directly and substantially in issue previously. However, the Court held that context matters: the 2022 application and the present one pursue different foundational objectives, so the bar does not apply.

p. 2
02

Proof of exercise of statutory power of sale

Holding

The Applicants failed to discharge their evidential burden; circumstantial evidence (photographs, Google Maps screengrabs, CR-12) was insufficient and uncertified electronic evidence was inadmissible under Section 106B of the Evidence Act, so no accounting order could issue.

Reasoning

He who alleges must prove. A statutory sale requires a mandatory paper trail - 90-day notices, 40-day auctioneer notifications, newspaper advertisements and a Certificate of Sale - none of which were produced. The uncertified electronic evidence was incurably defective, and the Bank pleaded it elected to sue for the debt, losing the power of sale.

p. 2
03

Chargee's election of remedies under Section 90(3) of the Land Act

Holding

A chargee must choose one of the menu of remedies; having formally pleaded election to sue for the debt, the Bank cannot simultaneously exercise the statutory power of sale and is bound by its election.

Reasoning

Relying on David Karanja Kamau v Harrison Wambugu Gaita, the Court held that electing to sue extinguishes the simultaneous statutory power of sale. The Court cannot compel the Bank to render accounts for a sale it legally denies conducting.

p. 3
04

Disclosure of updated loan statements

Holding

The Applicants are entitled to updated standard loan statements to know the quantum of debt they defend against; withholding them hinders preparation of the defence and amounts to trial by ambush.

Reasoning

Although the accounting prayer failed, transparency demands that the Bank avail updated loan statements within 14 days, since a trial by ambush has no place in a modern commercial court.

p. 3

Legal principles established

#
  • A party seeking an accounting must prove the facts warranting it; a statutory sale by a chargee leaves a mandatory statutory paper trail (notices, auctioneer notifications, advertisements, certificate of sale)
  • Uncertified electronic evidence without a certificate under Section 106B of the Evidence Act is inadmissible
  • Under Section 90(3) of the Land Act a chargee must elect one remedy; once it elects to sue for the debt it loses the right to exercise its statutory power of sale simultaneously
  • An application seeking a different relief or founded on distinct objectives from an earlier application is not res judicata

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The prayer directing the Plaintiff/Respondent to render accounts with respect to the proceeds of the sale of Maisonette Number 4 is dismissed for lack of proof
  2. 2.The Plaintiff/Respondent is directed to avail standard, updated loan account statements to the Applicants within fourteen (14) days from the date of the Ruling
  3. 3.The costs of the Application shall be in the cause

The bench

#

One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.

Wrote the judgment

Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction over the suit; the application invokes the equitable and inherent jurisdiction of the Court

Relief refused

#

Order directing the Plaintiff/Respondent to render accounts of the proceeds of sale of Maisonette Number 4 on LR 1870/11/199

Applicants failed to discharge their evidential burden of proving that the Bank exercised its statutory power of sale; the Bank pleaded it elected to sue for the debt under Section 90(3) of the Land Act and is bound by that election; the electronic evidence was uncertified and inadmissible

p. 3

Prayer that the Plaintiff be struck out with costs for failure to produce documents within 14 days

Not granted; the Court instead issued a direction to avail updated loan statements, without the striking-out sanction

p. 3

Costs

The costs of this Application shall be in the cause.

Quotable passages

#

Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.

Litigation is not a game of blindman's bufi. When a party invokes the equitable and inherent jurisdiction of this Court to demand an accounting of funds, they must do so armed with cogent, verifiable facts.
p. 1Proof required for an accounting
A statutory sale by a chargee leaves a mandatory statutory paper trail. There are no 90-day notices, no 40-day auctioneer notifications, no newspaper advertisements, and no Certificate of Sale placed before this Court.
Statutory paper trail for a chargee's sale
once a lender elects to sue for the outstanding amount, it loses the right to exercise its statutory power of sale simultaneously
p. 3Election of remedies under the Land Act
a. The prayer directing the Plaintifi/Respondent to render accounts with respect to the proceeds of the sale of Maisonette Number 4 is HEREBY DISMISSED for lack of proof. b. The Plaintifi/Respondent is HEREBY DIRECTED to avail standard, updated loan account statements to the Applicants within fourteen (14) days from the date of this Ruling. c. The costs of this Application shall be in the cause. It is so ordered.
p. 3Final orders / disposition

Issues in the judgment

#
minor

The judgment does not expressly name the court or the suit/case number, and the delivery date (7th July 2026) postdates the application date (7th May 2025) - the year 2026 may be an error for 2025.

minor

Paragraph numbering is duplicated: the paragraph introducing the res judicata analysis is also numbered 6, the same number as the paragraph framing the issues.

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Not stated in the judgment (1st to 4th Defendants/Applicants v Plaintiff/Respondent)", Case Analysis (2026). Notice of Motion dated 7th May, 2025 (suit number not stated in the judgment). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2026/4183/eng@2026-07-07

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.