Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNot stated in the extract (Environment and Land Court suit, Narok)· [2026] KEELC 3973 (KLR)

Ole Kipury & 2 others v Kipury Family Group Ranch & 7 others (Environment and Land Case 2 of 2019) [2026] KEELC 3973 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
4 May 2026
9,425 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~38 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's Environment and Land Court dismissed a land fraud suit because the family members alleging forgery failed to produce solid evidence.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Plaintiffs, members of Kipury Family Group Ranch, sued the Group Ranch, its Chairman (Koina Ole Kipury), a surveyor, Green Port Enterprises Ltd and its Director, and the land registration officials, challenging the subdivision and transfer of land parcel Cis Mara/Entontol/188 (approximately 1335 hectares). They alleged that the Chairman fraudulently induced the illiterate 1st Plaintiff, the Group's secretary, to thumb-print transfer forms on the pretext of withdrawing a pending Nakuru ELC suit; forged the minutes of a 7th July 2015 meeting; included non-members and minors in allocations; and misrepresented false officials. They sought declarations that the subdivisions and transfers were null and void, permanent injunctions, and cancellation of the resultant titles with vesting back to the Group Ranch. The Defendants denied fraud, asserting a unanimous members' resolution to sell 150 acres to fund survey, subdivision and titling, due process, and Land Control Board consent, and that Green Port was a bona fide purchaser for value. The court framed two issues: merit and costs. Applying sections 107, 109 and 112 of the Evidence Act and the strict standard of proof for fraud, it found the Plaintiffs failed: no forensic report on the thumb print, no police or DCIO investigation report, no called witnesses to dispute the minutes, and adverse inferences drawn from uncalled material witnesses. A members' majority vote to sell was established. The 4th and 5th Defendants were held to be bona fide purchasers for value without notice; no fault was found with the surveyor or the Registrar. Any misappropriation by the Chairman was a criminal matter not affecting purchasers' titles. The suit was dismissed entirely with each party bearing their own costs.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the Plaintiffs proved fraud, forgery and misrepresentation in the subdivision and transfer of Cis Mara/Entontol/188

Holding

No. The allegations of fraud were not proved on the required standard; the Plaintiffs produced no forensic report, no investigation report, and did not call material witnesses.

Reasoning

The court applied sections 107, 109 and 112 of the Evidence Act and the jurisprudence that fraud must be strictly proved. The Plaintiffs alleged forgery of the 7th July 2015 minutes and misrepresentation inducing thumb prints, but did not call the attesting advocate, Land Control Board or Deputy County Commissioner witnesses, or produce a forensic report on the thumb print. Persons allegedly falsely recorded as attending the meeting were not called to dispute attendance. Rebuttal evidence of a members' resolution to sell shifted the burden back to the Plaintiffs, which they failed to discharge.

p. 15
02

Whether the 5th Defendant is a bona fide purchaser for value holding indefeasible title

Holding

Yes. The 4th and 5th Defendants purchased the subdivisions after following due process and without notice of any defect.

Reasoning

The court found a sale agreement dated 18th March 2015 for 150 acres at Ksh 9,000,000 paid in full through the advocate; Land Control Board consent was granted; minutes of meetings including a DLASO-convened meeting showed majority approval of the sale. Absent cogent evidence of fraud, the purchasers' titles, being prima facie valid under the Land Registration Act, could not be cancelled.

p. 16
03

Whether the 3rd, 6th, 7th and 8th Defendants facilitated irregular subdivision and registration

Holding

No. The 3rd Defendant was a contracted surveyor and no negligence was proved; the Registrar used the documents presented and no fault was established against the 6th–8th Defendants.

Reasoning

The court held the surveyor could only be personally liable if negligence or irregularity were proved, which was not. The Registrar's office acted on the area list, minutes, mutation form and consents presented to it. The court found no reason to fault the 6th, 7th and 8th Defendants.

p. 16
04

Whether any misappropriation of the purchase price by the 2nd Defendant affects the purchasers' titles

Holding

No. Any misappropriation is a criminal matter against the 2nd Defendant and does not invalidate genuine purchasers' titles.

Reasoning

The court distinguished the alleged misconduct of the Chairman from the validity of the sales, holding that genuine purchasers cannot be punished for the alleged misconduct of the 2nd Defendant, and members may pursue him through criminal charges or other lawful means.

p. 16

Legal principles established

#
  • Fraud must be specifically pleaded with particulars and distinctly proved; it cannot be inferred from the facts
  • The standard of proof for fraud is higher than a mere balance of probabilities, though not beyond reasonable doubt
  • A party who fails to call a material witness available to it risks the adverse inference that the witness's evidence would have been adverse to its case
  • A certificate of title is prima facie evidence of absolute ownership under the Land Registration Act, 2012
  • Costs follow the event but remain at the court's discretion under section 27 of the Civil Procedure Act

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The Plaintiffs' suit is dismissed entirely for lack of evidence
  2. 2.Each of the parties to bear their own costs
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court (Articles 162(2)(b) and 165(5) not expressly cited; statutory jurisdiction over land disputes)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Ole Kipury & 2 others v Kipury Family Group Ranch & 7 others (Environment and Land Case 2 of 2019) [2026] KEELC 3973 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the extract (Environment and Land Court suit, Narok). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2026/3973/eng@2026-05-04

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.