Saronera Ltd v Were & 2 others (Environment and Land Case E321 of 2022) [2026] KEELC 3944 (KLR)
The bottom line
#Kenya's High Court dismissed a judgment debtor's bid to reconcile accounts, ruling that a debtor holding receipts who identifies no errors is abusing the court process.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Key legal issues
#Whether an order for reconciliation of accounts was merited in respect of the decretal sum
The application was unmerited and dismissed; it was an abuse of process intended to delay satisfaction of the consent judgment decree.
The court noted the consent judgment of 11th May 2023 remained unsatisfied more than three years later, and that the 2nd Defendant had filed three prior applications (dated 2nd October 2023, 19th November 2024 and 20th June 2025) seeking various orders to delay settlement. The instant application was his fourth. Following In Re Ennio Limited, the court held that a judgment debtor who holds receipts for his payments and identifies no error in them, and who fails to specify which payments were omitted, cannot seek taking of accounts; doing so abuses the court process and denies the Plaintiff the fruits of judgment.
Legal principles established
#- A judgment debtor who holds receipts acknowledging his payments and who identifies no error in those receipts cannot legitimately seek an order for reconciliation/taking of accounts; such an application is an abuse of process aimed at delaying satisfaction of the decree.
- A party alleging omitted payments must specify the payments allegedly omitted; a bare allegation without particulars will not sustain an application.
Court orders
#- 1.The 2nd Defendant's Notice of Motion application dated 4th May 2026 is dismissed
- Jurisdiction invoked
- Not stated in judgment (original civil suit jurisdiction; application in pending suit)
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Saronera Ltd v Were & 2 others (Environment and Land Case E321 of 2022) [2026] KEELC 3944 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2026/3944/eng@2026-06-30
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.