Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNot stated in the judgment as provided· [2026] KEELC 3854 (KLR)

Arlington Heights Ltd & 2 others v Solomgo Enterprises Ltd & another (Environment and Land Case E023 of 2026) [2026] KEELC 3854 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
24 June 2026
1,455 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~6 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Buyers of Kitale land failed to win a court order protecting the property because their sale agreements were defective and they lacked proof of title, payment, or possession.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiffs (two limited liability companies and Nixon Onyambu Birundu) moved the Environment and Land Court at Kitale by notice of application dated 25/2/2026 seeking a temporary injunction restraining the defendants from selling, transferring, charging or dealing with Kitale Municipality Block 6/235, an inhibition order to be registered by the Land Registrar, and police enforcement through the OCS Kitale. The suit underneath is for specific performance of sale agreements dated 4/11/2021, 4/12/2021 and 21/1/2023, by which the plaintiffs claim to have purchased portions of the land from the 1st defendant, who allegedly then transferred the whole property to the 2nd defendant in bad faith to defeat their interests. Though served, the defendants filed no replying affidavits; the plaintiffs relied on written submissions dated 30/4/2026. Applying Giella v Cassman Brown as elaborated in Mrao, Nguruman and Kogo, Hon. C.K. Nzili (Judge, ELC Kitale) found no prima facie case: the sale agreements were unwitnessed and unsigned by the 1st defendant's director, the 3rd plaintiff was not party to some agreements, the authority to sue for the company plaintiffs was not a sealed board resolution, no title deed, lease or search was attached, and there was no proof of payment of the balances or of the plaintiffs' occupation. Irreparable loss and balance of convenience were likewise not demonstrated. The application was dismissed with costs, with a pre-trial conference fixed for 22/7/2026.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether a prima facie case was established

Holding

No - the sale agreements were defective (unwitnessed, unsigned by the 1st defendant's director, 3rd plaintiff not a party to some), no board resolution authorised the companies to sue, and no evidence of payment of balances or title documents was attached

Reasoning

The court examined the sale agreements and found material gaps: missing witness signatures, missing director's signatures, an authority to sue that was not a duly sealed board resolution, absence of title documents or searches, no bank slips or acknowledgement of payment of balances, and no evidence of notice of breach or completion documents. These gaps meant the alleged breach of right was not demonstrated on the affidavit material.

p. 3
02

Whether irreparable loss and balance of convenience were demonstrated

Holding

No - the plaintiffs did not state whether they were in occupation or had developments on the land, so irreparable harm and balance of convenience were not shown

Reasoning

Relying on Nguruman and Kogo, the court held that irreparable loss is that which cannot be quantified in monetary terms, and balance of convenience involves weighing potential harm. The plaintiffs failed to disclose their occupation status or any developments on the suit land, leaving the court with no basis to assess either limb.

p. 3
03

Compliance with statutory formalities for land sale agreements

Holding

Compliance with Section 3(3) of the Law of Contract Act and Section 38 of the Land Act is critical to establishing a valid sale agreement for specific performance-based relief

Reasoning

The court emphasised that equity follows the law and that delay defeats equity. It noted that the date of breach and of the impugned transfer were not pleaded, and that statutory formalities for land contracts had not been demonstrated on the material filed.

p. 3

Legal principles established

#
  • An applicant for a temporary injunction must satisfy the Giella v Cassman Brown conditions distinctly, sequentially, logically and separately
  • A prima facie case is one where a right has been breached, infringed or threatened with violation, calling for rebuttal by the opposite side (Mrao Ltd v First American Bank)
  • An inhibition order must be supported by a certificate of lease, title deed or official search certificate establishing the registration status of the land
  • Full material disclosure is essential in seeking equitable reliefs

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The plaintiffs' application dated 25/2/2026 is dismissed
  2. 2.Costs of the application awarded to the defendants
  3. 3.Mention on 22/7/2026 for pre-trial conference; mention notice to issue
Jurisdiction invoked
Order 40 Rule 2(1) of the Civil Procedure Rules (interlocutory injunction jurisdiction of the ELC)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Arlington Heights Ltd & 2 others v Solomgo Enterprises Ltd & another (Environment and Land Case E023 of 2026) [2026] KEELC 3854 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment as provided. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2026/3854/eng@2026-06-24

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.