Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNot stated in the judgment

Isaas v Mwencha & 2 others (Environment and Land Case E001 of 2024) [2026] KEELC 3416 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
6 May 2026
4,800 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~19 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kisii landowner lost her bid to cancel a property sale after failing to prove the buyer never paid or that fraud occurred.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Plaintiff, registered owner of Central Kitutu/Mwabundusi/265, sued the 1st Defendant (purchaser), the 2nd Defendant (chargee bank) and the 3rd Defendant (Land Registrar) seeking cancellation of the transfer, rectification of the register, discharge of the charge, a permanent injunction and general damages, alleging the land was transferred and charged without full payment of the agreed purchase price of Kshs 3,200,000 and through fraud. The 1st Defendant asserted the sale was lawful and fully paid, partly through a bank loan; the 2nd Defendant showed it advanced Kshs 1,920,000 secured by a charge, with funds remitted to the Plaintiff's Family Bank account. The court adopted three issues: whether the purchase price was paid, whether the 1st Defendant breached the sale agreement, and whether the transfer and registration were valid. Applying sections 107 and 109 of the Evidence Act, the court held the Plaintiff bore the burden of proving non-payment and fraud. Bank statements and the RTGS receipt showed the full price was paid, albeit late; the Plaintiff's claim that deposits were withdrawn and returned to the 1st Defendant was unsupported. Fraud allegations failed the strict standard of proof, no expert or corroborating witnesses were called, and no LCB records were produced. Although the 1st Defendant breached clause 6 by paying late and having the title registered before the last instalment, the Plaintiff did not rescind and filed suit only after full payment. All reliefs were refused and each party was ordered to bear their own costs.

Questions the Court framed

#

The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.

  1. 1.Whether the agreed purchase price was paid by the 1st Defendant.
  2. 2.Whether the 1st Defendant is in breach of the sale agreement dated 18.10.2022.
  3. 3.Whether the transfer and registration of the property to the 1st Defendant was valid.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the purchase price of Kshs 3,200,000 was paid

Holding

The court found evidence that the entire purchase price was paid to the Plaintiff, including the Kshs 1,920,000 remitted by the 2nd Defendant and later repaid to her after being refunded.

Reasoning

The bank statements showed deposits sourced from the 1st Defendant amounting to 40%, a condition of the loan. The Plaintiff alleged withdrawals were returned to the 1st Defendant but produced no witness or evidence of this. The RTGS of Kshs 1,920,000 was confirmed by receipt, and although initially reversed, the money was ultimately returned to the Plaintiff upon her acceptance.

p. 7
02

Whether there was a fundamental breach justifying the penal clause 10 (three times purchase price)

Holding

Although the 1st Defendant paid out of time and had the title registered before the last instalment, the Plaintiff did not serve notice of rescission and filed suit only after full payment; the breach was not enforced.

Reasoning

The delay in payment was explained by the bank's requirement of proof of the 40% contribution before releasing funds. The Plaintiff knew of the loan application. She did not rescind immediately after 31st March 2023; her advocate's letters merely sought documents. She filed suit after the final instalment was remitted, and the transfer reasons were genuine and intended to complete the sale.

p. 8
03

Whether the transfer to the 1st Defendant was fraudulent

Holding

No fraud was established. The Plaintiff did not call an expert on the alleged forged signature, did not call her son or the agreement witnesses, and produced no LCB records.

Reasoning

The transfer form bore a thumbprint; absence of witness signature does not imply forgery and no expert was called. The claim of trickery through a son was unsupported as the son was neither sued nor called. LCB consent application forms executed by the Plaintiff were produced, and no board records were summoned despite the transaction being recent.

p. 8
04

Whether the charge in favour of the 2nd Defendant was fraudulently registered

Holding

No fraud established; the 2nd Defendant produced all supporting loan and charge documents and the Plaintiff did not challenge their authenticity.

Reasoning

The loan purpose stated was plot purchase, monies were remitted to the Plaintiff's account as evidenced by a receipt, and the charge was registered after the title transferred. The bank's practice of registering the transfer and charge before releasing funds was explained as protecting its security.

p. 8

Legal principles established

#
  • Courts do not rewrite contracts for parties; effect is given to the expressed intentions of the parties.
  • Allegations of fraud must be strictly proved to a standard higher than a balance of probabilities.
  • A party alleging fraud must prove how it was perpetrated, not merely state it.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The suit is dismissed; the Plaintiff does not merit the orders sought under paragraphs a-d of the prayers in the plaint.
  2. 2.No general damages awarded as no fraud was established.
  3. 3.Each party to bear their own costs of the suit.

The bench

#

One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.

majority

Wrote the judgment

Jurisdiction invoked
Environment and Land Court Act, section 13 (raised by the 1st Defendant in defence); original civil jurisdiction over the land dispute

Relief refused

#

Cancellation and nullification of the transfer and rectification of the register in favour of the Plaintiff

No fraud established; the entire purchase price was paid and the reasons for the transfer were genuine.

p. 9

Discharge of the charge created in favour of the 2nd Defendant

No fraud established in the registration of the charge; the 2nd Defendant produced all supporting documents.

p. 8

Permanent injunction restraining the Defendants

The claim fails as no fraud or fundamental breach entitling rescission was proved.

p. 8

General damages for fraudulent transfer and charge

Fraud was not proved to the required standard.

p. 9

Costs

Each party to bear their own costs of the suit.

Quotable passages

#

Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.

The end result is that she does not merit the orders sought under paragraphs a-d of the prayers in the Plaint.
p. 9Dismissal of the plaintiff's claim
Having found there is no fraud, I award none, even under the heading of any orders the court deems just to grant.
p. 9Refusal of general damages
It is one that requires an order for each party to bear their costs of the suit and I so order.
p. 9Costs order
There is one observation which we must make – burden of proof–– standard of proof required – allegations of fraud must be strictly proved, although that standard of proof my not be so heavy as to require proof beyond reasonable doubt.
p. 8Standard of proof for fraud
In this instance, the Plaintifi has failed to meet the threshold of proof of fraud beyond a balance of probabilities. Her case also fails on this point.
p. 9Failure to prove fraud
I think the Plaintifi came to court too late to enforce clause 10 of the sale agreement dated 18th October, 2022.
p. 8Enforcement of penal breach clause

Issues in the judgment

#
minor

The judgment records the plaint date as 12th March 2024 but later states the case was filed on 13th March 2024.

minor

The delivery date of the judgment (6th May 2026) post-dates the submissions dated 30th November 2025 and testimony dates in 2025, while the plaint is dated 2024; dates appear internally consistent but the year 2026 is unusual and should be verified.

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Isaas v Mwencha & 2 others (Environment and Land Case E001 of 2024) [2026] KEELC 3416 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2026/3416/eng@2026-05-06

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.