Amaitsa (Suing as Administrator of the Estate of David Ngómbe Masinde (Deceased) v Masika (Environment and Land Appeal 004 of 2026) [2026] KEELC 3257 (KLR)
The bottom line
#The High Court in Kakamega dismissed a request to pause a money judgment on appeal, confirming that simply being unable to pay is not enough.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Key legal issues
#Whether the appellant met the threshold for stay of execution pending appeal under Order 42 Rule 6
The application failed; the appellant did not demonstrate substantial loss, having not been ordered out of the suit property, and inability to pay the decretal sum is not a ground for stay
The court restated the tripartite test in Order 42 Rule 6(2): substantial loss, no unreasonable delay, and security. The trial decree had partially favoured the appellant (injunction preserved) and the orders she challenged merely required refund of consideration. Her children's attachment to the land and her financial inability did not satisfy the substantial-loss threshold, and she had failed to deposit the security earlier ordered.
Legal principles established
#- Substantial loss is the cornerstone of the jurisdiction to grant stay of execution pending appeal
- An applicant for stay pending appeal must demonstrate substantial loss, that the application was made without unreasonable delay, and willingness to provide security for due performance of the decree
- Mere inability to pay the decretal sum is not a basis for granting stay
Court orders
#- 1.Dismissal of the notice of motion dated 28th January 2026
- 2.Costs of the application to the respondent
- On appeal from
- Not stated (trial court)
- null
- Jurisdiction invoked
- Order 42 Rule 6 of the Civil Procedure Rules (stay of execution pending appeal)
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Amaitsa (Suing as Administrator of the Estate of David Ngómbe Masinde (Deceased) v Masika (Environment and Land Appeal 004 of 2026) [2026] KEELC 3257 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment copy provided. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2026/3257/eng@2026-05-25
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.