Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment· [2026] KEELC 2841 (KLR)

Kyuvi v Kwinga & another (Environment and Land Appeal E004 of 2021) [2026] KEELC 2841 (KLR)

Principal Magistrates' Court appeal (first appellate court)
14 May 2026
2,014 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~8 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

The appeal court threw out the couple's land claim because their ownership documents were never properly produced as evidence, ruling the appellant owns plot 1317.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This first appellate judgment arises from a land dispute in Emali, Makueni County. The Respondents, a couple, sued the Appellant before the Kilungu Principal Magistrates Court claiming plots 300A and 300B/Emali Town, allotted to them by the defunct Masaku County Council in 1987, and sought an injunction and mesne profits. The Appellant counterclaimed for a declaration that he owns plot No. 1317 Kinyoo Adjudication Section. On 6th May 2021 the trial magistrate found for the Respondents, granted an injunction (suspended for 90 days), dismissed the counterclaim, and directed the National Land Commission to investigate the authenticity of the documents tendered. The Appellant appealed on eight grounds. Sitting as a first appellate court, E. O. Obaga J applied the retrial standard in Selle v Associated Motor Boat Co. Ltd. The court found no evidence that plot 1317 was carved out of the Respondents' parcels; the maps and part development plan were merely marked for identification and never produced, the 1st Respondent admitted hand-inserting plot numbers, and no surveyor was called. The Appellant, by contrast, called a Land Adjudication Officer who produced a letter and certified demarcation book recording him as owner of plot 1317, whose adjudication was complete and undisputed. The court held ownership of 300A and 300B was unproved, so the injunction and finding of trespass had no basis, and that the trial magistrate abdicated his role by referring a matter he had already determined to the National Land Commission. The appeal was allowed, the trial judgment set aside in its entirety, the Respondents' suit dismissed with costs, the counterclaim allowed, and the Appellant awarded the costs of the appeal.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether plot 1317 was created out of parcels 300A and 300B/Emali Town

Holding

No - there was no evidence that plot 1317 was created out of the Respondents' parcels; the Appellant's evidence showed plot 1317 arose from adjudication in Kinyoo Adjudication Section

Reasoning

The Respondents produced no evidence linking plot 1317 to their parcels. The part development plan and area map were only marked for identification, and the 1st Respondent admitted inserting plot numbers on the map by hand. The Appellant called a Land Adjudication Officer who produced a letter and certified demarcation book recording the Appellant as owner of plot 1317 within Kinyoo Adjudication Section.

p. 3
02

Whether the parties proved their respective claims

Holding

The Respondents failed to prove ownership of plots 300A and 300B; the Appellant proved ownership of plot 1317 and was entitled to the declaration sought in his counterclaim

Reasoning

The Respondents produced allotment letters dated 18th June 1987 but no evidence of the location of the plots, called no surveyor, and relied on maps and a PDP never produced in evidence. The Appellant adduced evidence of the adjudication process and confirmation that parcel 1317 was recorded in his name with no dispute over it.

p. 4
03

Whether the trial magistrate could refer the matter to the National Land Commission after determining it

Holding

No - having made findings, the magistrate was bound to make a definite determination and erred in referring the documents to the NLC for investigation

Reasoning

The court found the referral strange given the NLC's mandate, and observed that the magistrate had serious doubts about the Respondents' documents yet still granted an injunction. Having determined the issues, the magistrate abdicated his role by delegating investigation of fraud without stating the fate of the judgment already pronounced.

p. 5

Legal principles established

#
  • A first appellate court must reconsider and evaluate the evidence and draw its own conclusions, bearing in mind it did not see or hear the witnesses
  • A document marked for identification but not produced in evidence is of no evidential value

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Appeal allowed
  2. 2.Judgment delivered on 6th May, 2021 set aside in its entirety
  3. 3.In place thereof, the Respondents' claim before the lower court dismissed with costs
  4. 4.The Appellant's claim (counterclaim) before the lower court allowed
  5. 5.The Appellant to have the costs of this appeal
On appeal from
Kilungu Principal Magistrates Court
Not stated
Jurisdiction invoked
First appellate jurisdiction over a decision of the Principal Magistrates' Court

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Kyuvi v Kwinga & another (Environment and Land Appeal E004 of 2021) [2026] KEELC 2841 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2026/2841/eng@2026-05-14

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.