Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment· [2026] KEELC 2576 (KLR)

Abdurehman v Ali & 2 others (Environment and Land Case E055 of 2025) [2026] KEELC 2576 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
30 April 2026
981 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~4 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiff sued by Amended Plaint dated 21st May 2025 seeking declarations and injunctive relief over a parcel of unregistered land at Makokoni Area, Kipezini, in Kipini, which he purchased from the 1st defendant on 12th November 2018 for Kenya Shillings 20,000 under a written agreement signed before witnesses and the Area Assistant Chief. He took possession and remained in occupation. During a County Government titling exercise he was issued an enumeration certificate with reference number KPN/350/C. The 1st defendant, alleging he had sold only half the plot, purported to sell portions to the 2nd and 3rd defendants, and the plaintiff's parcel was later marked with an 'X' following a directive by the Minister of Lands, Tana River County halting registration of disputed parcels. The plaintiff pleaded breach of contract, fraud, trespass and unlawful interference. The defendants were served but filed no appearance or defence; the suit proceeded ex parte on 22nd January 2026 with the plaintiff as sole witness, producing the sale agreement and enumeration certificate. The court found that the survey found the plaintiff in occupation, that the 1st defendant sold him the whole parcel and therefore lacked capacity to resell any portion, and that the 3rd defendant had conceded and vacated. Judgment was entered for the plaintiff: declarations of rightful occupancy of Parcel ID KPN/315/C, that the subsequent sales and any resulting titles are null and void (with cancellation), a permanent injunction against the defendants, removal of the 'X' mark and resumption of registration in the plaintiff's name. Costs were awarded against the 1st and 2nd defendants only, jointly and severally. Judgment dated, signed and delivered at Malindi on 30th April 2026 by Mwangi Njoroge, Judge, ELC, Malindi.

Key legal issues

#
01

Ownership of unregistered land evidenced by a sale agreement and survey enumeration certificate

Holding

The plaintiff proved that he bought the entire suit land from the 1st defendant, took possession, and was found in occupation during the survey and issued an enumeration certificate; he is the rightful occupant of the whole parcel

Reasoning

The land is unregistered, so ownership rested on the sale agreement and occupation. The plaintiff produced the written agreement signed in the presence of witnesses and the Area Assistant Chief, and the enumeration certificate with reference number KPN/350/C. The court reasoned that the number would not have been issued had he not been found in occupation, establishing that the whole parcel was sold to him.

p. 2
02

Validity of the subsequent sales to the 2nd and 3rd defendants

Holding

The sales by the 1st defendant to the 2nd and 3rd defendants are null and void, and any parcel numbers or titles arising from them are unlawful, null and void and cancelled

Reasoning

Having sold the whole parcel to the plaintiff, the 1st defendant had no remaining interest to convey. The 3rd defendant did not appear to contest the claim and had purportedly conceded and vacated the portion sold to him. The court declared the subsequent sales void and cancelled any titles arising from them.

p. 3
03

Effect of ex parte proof where defendants fail to appear

Holding

Judgment was entered on the plaintiff's uncontroverted evidence after the defendants, though served, failed to file appearance or defence and did not attend the hearing

Reasoning

The defendants were served with summons and plaint but filed no appearance or defence. The hearing proceeded ex parte on 22/1/2026 with the plaintiff as the sole witness. His evidence matched the plaint, and the court was satisfied he had proved his claim on a balance of probabilities.

p. 2

Legal principles established

#
  • A purchaser found in occupation of unregistered land during a survey exercise, who holds an enumeration certificate, establishes possession and ownership as against the seller, who thereby lacks capacity to resell any portion to third parties
  • Civil claims are proved on a balance of probabilities

Court orders

#
  1. 1.A declaration that the plaintiff is the rightful occupant of the entire parcel of land described upon survey as Parcel ID KPN/315/C
  2. 2.An order of permanent injunction restraining the defendants, their agents, servants or employees or anyone claiming through them from entering, selling, subdividing, remaining and or dealing with the suit premises in any manner whatsoever
  3. 3.An order that the first defendant shall cease all his claims, interference or dealings in respect of the suit property
  4. 4.An order that the mark 'X' placed on the records in respect of the suit property shall be removed and the title registration process in the name of the plaintiff shall resume and continue
  5. 5.A declaration that any sale agreements entered into between the first defendant and the second and third defendants in relation to the suit property are null and void
  6. 6.A declaration that any parcel numbers or titles issued to the second and third defendants arising from the suit property are unlawful, null and void, and cancellation thereof
  7. 7.Costs of the suit to be borne by the 1st and 2nd defendants only, jointly and severally
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil suit jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court over land disputes (unregistered land at Makokoni Area, Kipezini, Kipini)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Abdurehman v Ali & 2 others (Environment and Land Case E055 of 2025) [2026] KEELC 2576 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2026/2576/eng@2026-04-30

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.