Wangari v ABSa Bank Kenya Plc (Environment and Land Case E453 of 2025) [2026] KEELC 2467 (KLR)
The bottom line
#Kenya's Environment and Land Court ruled a bank cannot be forced to consent to a property sale that doesn't fully repay the secured loan.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Questions the Court framed
#The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.
- 1.Whether the Defendant can be compelled to execute the chargee's consent to the proposed private treaty sale
- 2.Whether the Defendant's refusal to execute the chargee's consent constitutes a clog or fetter on the Plaintiff's equity of redemption
Key legal issues
#Whether the chargee can be compelled to execute consent to a private treaty sale of charged land
No - the consent regime under Section 87 of the Land Act protects the chargee's security interest, and the court will not compel consent where the transaction does not guarantee full repayment of the secured debt.
Section 87 of the Land Act requires chargee consent for dealings specified in the charge, protecting the chargee's ability to recover the secured debt. The proposed transaction would have paid only part of the purchase price directly to the Defendant, with the balance held by advocates, exposing the Defendant to commercial risk and conflicting with the charge's contractual terms. Compelling consent would effectively rewrite the contract, which courts cannot do. The refusal therefore was not a clog on the equity of redemption, whose exercise requires full settlement of secured monies.
Whether the Defendant's refusal to consent clogged the Plaintiff's equity of redemption
It did not; the equity of redemption is exercisable only upon full payment of all secured monies.
Section 89 of the Land Act protects the chargor's right of redemption from clogging, but the right is not absolute and can only be exercised after all secured monies, interest and obligations are paid, consistent with Section 85. Since the outstanding debt remained disputed and unpaid, the chargee was entitled to retain its security, and the refusal to consent to a partial-payment structure was lawful rather than a clog or fetter on redemption.
Legal principles established
#- A chargor's right of redemption can only be exercised after all monies secured by the charge, including interest and contractual obligations, have been paid; until then the chargee is entitled to retain the security.
- Where the secured debt is disputed, it is premature to issue orders that would compromise the chargee's security before the dispute is resolved in the substantive suit.
- Courts cannot rewrite contracts between parties.
Court orders
#- 1.The application dated 26th February 2026 is dismissed
- 2.Costs of the application shall abide by the outcome of the main suit
The bench
#One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.
Wrote the judgment
- Jurisdiction invoked
- Section 13(7)(a) of the Environment and Land Court Act
Relief refused
#Order compelling the Defendant to execute the Chargee's Consent annexed to the Agreement for Sale dated 11th November 2025
Compelling consent would force the Defendant to accept unagreed payment terms and risk non-repayment of the outstanding loan; the refusal did not clog the equity of redemption
Costs
Costs of the application shall abide by the outcome of the main suit.
Quotable passages
#Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.
This Court is therefore not persuaded that the Defendant's refusal to execute the chargee's consent, in the circumstances presented, constitutes a clog or fetter on the Plaintiff's equity of redemption.
The upshot of the foregoing is that the application dated 26th February 2026 is hereby dismissed. Costs of the application shall abide by the outcome of the main suit.
if a debt secured by a charge remains disputed, it would be premature for the Court to issue orders that might effectively extinguish or compromise the chargee's security before the dispute is resolved
Issues in the judgment
#The Defendant's name is not stated anywhere in the judgment text supplied; parties are referred to only as 'Plaintiff' and 'Defendant'.
The case number of the suit/application is not stated in the judgment text; only the application date (26th February 2026) is given.
The judgment's introductory numbered paragraphs (1 and 2) are blank in the text supplied.
Inconsistent figures on the outstanding debt: the Defendant's affidavit-path figure and counsel's submissions state different sums.
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Wangari v ABSa Bank Kenya Plc (Environment and Land Case E453 of 2025) [2026] KEELC 2467 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment extract. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2026/2467/eng@2026-04-24
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.