Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in judgment (1st Defendant's Notice of Motion dated 14th November 2024)· [2026] KEELC 1970 (KLR)

Maina v Kenya National Highway Authority & 3 others; Safaricom Kenya Plc (Garnishee) (Environment and Land Case 650 of 2017) [2026] KEELC 1970 (KLR)

High Court of Kenya (not expressly named in the judgment extract)
13 April 2026
1,132 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~5 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

The High Court ordered Safaricom to pay only the Kshs. 36,868.62 actually held in the judgment-debtor's M-PESA wallet, not the larger sum allegedly withdrawn.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This first-instance ruling determines the 1st Defendant's Notice of Motion dated 14th November 2024 seeking to make absolute a garnishee order nisi issued on 17th June 2025 against the Plaintiff's M-PESA wallet, to satisfy a decree of Kshs. 1,246,300 being taxed costs certified on 30th August 2024. The Garnishee, through its Data Analyst Paul Muewa Titia, confirmed the M-PESA line +254 725 936 441 was registered to the Plaintiff but that only Kshs. 36,868.62 remained available between June and November 2025, and offered to release that sum in partial settlement. The 1st Defendant, relying on two High Court decisions, argued the Garnishee allowed withdrawals of Kshs. 151,442 after service on 18th June 2025 and should be liable for the depleted amount. The court framed a single issue: whether the order nisi should be made absolute and whether the Garnishee was liable for the full Kshs. 1,246,300. Applying Order 23 rule 1 of the Civil Procedure Rules and adopting the object of garnishee proceedings as reaching debts owed to the judgment-debtor, the court allowed the motion only in part: the order nisi was made absolute, but the Garnishee was directed to pay only Kshs. 36,868.62, being the balance actually held, and the costs of the application and of the Garnishee were placed on the Plaintiff. The claim to the depleted Kshs. 151,442 was effectively refused.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the garnishee order nisi should be made absolute against the M-PESA balance

Holding

The order nisi was made absolute but only for the balance of Kshs. 36,868.62 actually held by the Garnishee

Reasoning

The court considered Order 23 rule 1 of the Civil Procedure Rules and the object of garnishee proceedings. The Garnishee filed an affidavit confirming the M-PESA line was registered to the Plaintiff and that it was able to release only the available balance of Kshs. 36,868.62 in partial settlement. Although the 1st Defendant sought to hold the Garnishee liable for Kshs. 151,442 allegedly withdrawn after service of the order nisi, the court, associating itself with the cited decisions, limited the decree-holder to the amount shown in the M-PESA statement in the Garnishee's custody.

p. 3

Legal principles established

#
  • The object of garnishee proceedings is to enable a decree-holder to reach a debt due to the judgment-debtor from the garnishee sufficient to satisfy the decree, and crucial to such proceedings is that the garnishee is indebted to the judgment-debtor
  • A garnishee who willfully allows withdrawals of funds after service of an order nisi is culpable to the extent of such withdrawals

Court orders

#
  1. 1.That the Garnishee Order Nisi be and is hereby made absolute
  2. 2.That the Garnishee be and is hereby directed to pay to the 1st Defendant Kshs. 36,868.62 which is in the M-PESA line bearing the Number +254 725 936 441, registered to the Plaintiff
  3. 3.That the costs of this application and that of the Garnishee be borne by the Plaintiff
Jurisdiction invoked
Order 23 of the Civil Procedure Rules (garnishee proceedings)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Maina v Kenya National Highway Authority & 3 others; Safaricom Kenya Plc (Garnishee) (Environment and Land Case 650 of 2017) [2026] KEELC 1970 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in judgment (1st Defendant's Notice of Motion dated 14th November 2024). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2026/1970/eng@2026-04-13

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.