Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNot stated in the judgment· [2026] KEELC 1878 (KLR)

Shibawa General Enterprises Limited v China State Construction Engineering Corporation [Kenya] Ltd & another; Land Registrar Isiolo County & another (Interested Parties) (Environment and Land Case E001 of 2023) [2026] KEELC 1878 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
24 March 2026
9,806 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~39 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A landowner claiming KES 20 million lost because they could not produce a legally recognized title document proving ownership of the plot.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiff, Shibawa General Enterprise Limited (incorporated 12th June 2013), claimed to be the registered owner of Plot No. 307/Garbatulla, allegedly allotted by the defunct County Council of Isiolo in 2008. It sued the 1st defendant, a road contractor engaged by the 2nd defendant, the Kenya National Highways Authority, alleging the 1st defendant entered and trespassed on the plot in 2022, excavating it and erecting campsite structures for the Horn of Africa Gateway road project. The plaintiff sought general and exemplary damages, damages for loss of future use, compensation of Kes 20,240,000 (the plot's market value), and costs. The 1st defendant denied the claim, contending the land was community land availed by the 2nd defendant after stakeholder consultation. The 2nd defendant counterclaimed for declarations that it was the lawful allottee and beneficial owner, but withdrew the counterclaim during trial with costs to the plaintiff. The Attorney General appeared for the interested parties but tendered no evidence. The court framed three issues: ownership, trespass, and relief. It found the plaintiff's supporting documents fatally deficient: the committee minutes were unsigned by the chairperson, signed ten years late by a records officer not empowered to do so (an act the court branded fraud), never adopted by full council, and improperly 'certified' by stamp; the confirmation letter lacked underlying records; and an application for a part development plan and rate demand notes cannot confer title. No letter of allotment or certificate of title existed. Ownership not proven, trespass failed as an ingredient, and the valuation report was unproven without its maker. The suit was dismissed with costs to the defendants.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the plaintiff proved ownership of or entitlement to Plot No. 307/Garbatulla

Holding

The plaintiff failed to prove ownership; the minutes, letter of confirmation, application for PDP and rate demand notes were all legally incapable of conferring title

Reasoning

The plaintiff relied on departmental committee minutes signed ten years after their date by a records officer who was not the chairperson, an unsanctioned act the court characterized as fraud. The minutes were never adopted by full council. The letter of confirmation was unsupported by the underlying records, which were never produced. An application for a part development plan is only a preliminary step, and rate demand notes cannot prove ownership. No letter of allotment or title document was ever produced.

p. 16
02

Whether the plaintiff proved trespass

Holding

Trespass was not established because ownership and the right to immediate and exclusive possession were not proven

Reasoning

A claimant must first prove ownership or the right to immediate and exclusive possession. Having failed on the first issue, and there being no evidence of entitlement to possession, the ingredients of trespass were not established. The plaintiff itself conceded no certificate of title had issued, and the 1st defendant remained in occupation.

p. 16
03

Whether the suit property is private land or unregistered community land

Holding

The court did not make a definitive declaration on community land status, but noted that land formerly trust land now falls under the Community Land Act, 2016

Reasoning

Both defendants contended the land was unregistered community land held in trust by the county government, and the plaintiff's witness conceded no title had issued. The court's analysis of the trust land/Community Land Act transition undermined the plaintiff's claim of private ownership, though the dismissal rested primarily on the failure of proof.

p. 16
04

Whether the plaintiff was entitled to compensation for the value of the land

Holding

No award; the special damages claim was not specifically proven

Reasoning

Although pleaded and particularized, the liquidated claim required specific proof. The valuer was not called to prove the valuation report, so its contents remained unproven. In any event, the plaintiff had failed to demonstrate entitlement to recompense since ownership was not established.

p. 17

Legal principles established

#
  • Ownership of or entitlement to land must be proved by documents recognized by law, not any collection of papers
  • The proper plaintiff in an action for trespass to land is the person with title or in possession
  • A valuation report tendered without calling its maker does not prove a special damages claim

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The Plaintiff's suit be and is hereby Dismissed
  2. 2.Costs of the suit awarded to the Defendants, to be agreed upon and in default taxed in the conventional manner
  3. 3.The 2nd Defendant's counterclaim marked as withdrawn with costs to the plaintiff/1st defendant to the counterclaim (endorsed during trial)
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court over disputes relating to title and possession of land (Article 162(2)(b) of the Constitution)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Shibawa General Enterprises Limited v China State Construction Engineering Corporation [Kenya] Ltd & another; Land Registrar Isiolo County & another (Interested Parties) (Environment and Land Case E001 of 2023) [2026] KEELC 1878 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2026/1878/eng@2026-03-24

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.