Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment (plaint dated 8th October 2021)· [2026] KEELC 1622 (KLR)

Ethics and Anti Corruption Commission v Kosachey & 4 others (Environment and Land Case 135 of 2021) [2026] KEELC 1622 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court of Kenya
17 March 2026
8,781 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~35 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court cancelled a fraudulently obtained title to public land and ordered the current owner to vacate within thirty days.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission, on behalf of the Kenya National Trading Corporation (KNTC), sued five defendants over parcel Nandi/Kapsabet Municipality/54, alleging that land zoned for a KNTC depot was fraudulently alienated in 2004 to the 1st defendant by certificate of lease and transferred in 2008 to the 2nd defendant. The defendants included retired and serving land officials accused of facilitating the allocation. The 1st defendant raised a jurisdictional objection and the 2nd claimed bona fide purchaser protection. The court held it had jurisdiction under Article 162(2)(b) of the Constitution and the Environment and Land Court Act. It found the suit land was public land reserved for KNTC, that the 1st defendant's allotment lacked the requisite application and allotment documentation, and that his title was tainted with fraud and void ab initio. The bona fide purchaser doctrine was held unavailable to the 2nd defendant where the root title stemmed from an illegal allocation of public land. However, defence forensic expert evidence exonerated the 3rd defendant, whose lease signature was found forged, and the 5th defendant's testimony displaced the claim; the 4th defendant was not linked to the alleged fraud. Judgment was entered for the plaintiff against the 1st and 2nd defendants: a declaration that the lease and transfer were null and void, an order for vacant possession within thirty days failing which eviction would issue, an order to the Chief Land Registrar to cancel and expunge the register entries, a permanent injunction restricting dealings, and general damages of Kshs 10,000 against the 1st defendant with interest. Mesne profits were refused for want of pleading and proof. The claim against the 3rd, 4th and 5th defendants was dismissed, and in view of the public interest character of the suit, each party was ordered to bear their own costs.

Key legal issues

#
01

Jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court over a suit on title to land

Holding

The court has jurisdiction; the objection is a point of law blurred by factual details and the dispute pertains to title to land

Reasoning

The 1st defendant objected to jurisdiction in his defence. Applying Owners of the Motor Vessel 'Lillian S' and Mukisa Biscuits, the judge found the objection a pure point of law blurred by factual details. The dispute concerns title to land, so jurisdiction lies under Article 162(2)(b) and sections 4 and 13 of the Environment and Land Court Act.

p. 10
02

Whether the suit land was public land

Holding

The suit land is public land under Article 62 of the Constitution; it had been planned and zoned for a KNTC depot and was not available for alienation

Reasoning

All parties acknowledged the head lessor was the Government of Kenya. The land was zoned for KNTC under development plans, with no change of user effected. Under Article 62(4), public land shall not be disposed of except in terms of an Act of Parliament, so the alienation was irregular.

p. 11
03

Whether the plaintiff's claim of fraud was proved against the defendants

Holding

Fraud was distinctly pleaded and proved against the 1st defendant only, rendering his allotment and title void ab initio

Reasoning

The plaintiff alleged fraud with particulars in the plaint. PW1, PW6, PW9, PW11 and PW13 proved that no application, allotment letter or change of user documentation existed and that the land was reserved for KNTC. DW1 admitted lacking crucial documents, and the lease signature on the Commissioner's part was forged. The standard of proof on a balance of probabilities was met against the 1st defendant only.

p. 12
04

Whether the 2nd defendant is a bona fide purchaser for value without notice

Holding

The doctrine does not protect the 2nd defendant because the 1st defendant's root title was illegal and fraudulent

Reasoning

Applying Katende, Sehmi and Dina Management, the court held that the bona fide purchaser doctrine cannot shield a purchaser whose vendor's title derives from an illegal or irregular allocation of public land. DW1's evidence was also contradictory and not credible as to the whereabouts of the original lease, and no proof of legality of the initial acquisition was given.

p. 13
05

Whether the plaintiff proved its claim against the 3rd, 4th and 5th defendants

Holding

The claim against them was not proven; the defence expert evidence exonerated the 3rd defendant and the 5th defendant's evidence displaced the claim

Reasoning

DW6's forensic report (DExhibit 13) found the lease handwriting did not belong to the 3rd defendant, and the court found that expert evidence outweighed the plaintiff's. The 5th defendant credibly denied opening the registers or signing the lease. No evidence linked the 4th defendant to the alleged fraud on a balance of probabilities.

p. 13
06

Entitlement to mesne profits and general damages

Holding

Mesne profits refused for want of pleading and proof; general damages of Kshs 10,000 awarded against the 1st defendant only

Reasoning

Mesne profits must be pleaded and specifically proved; no sum was claimed. On general damages, no evidence was availed for assessment of quantum, but the plaintiff was entitled to a minimum amount against the 1st defendant only, assessed at Kshs 10,000.

p. 15

Legal principles established

#
  • The bona fide purchaser doctrine cannot protect a purchaser of a title to public land stemming from an illegal or fraudulent allocation
  • When the origin of title is challenged, a registered owner must prove the legality of the initial acquisition and cannot rely only on the deed
  • Allegations of fraud must be distinctly pleaded and proved and cannot simply be inferred from the facts
  • A party claiming both mesne profits and damages for trespass is entitled to only one, and mesne profits must be pleaded and proved

Court orders

#
  1. 1.A declaration that the purported issuance of lease and registration of the suit land to the 1st defendant and subsequent transfer to the 2nd defendant is invalid, null and void for illegality and fraud and conferred no estate, interest or right
  2. 2.An order for vacant possession of the suit land against the 2nd defendant, who shall remove his possessions including structures and hand over vacant possession within thirty days failing which an eviction order to issue
  3. 3.An order directing the Chief Land Registrar to cancel and expunge from the register the entries relating to the registration of the suit land in favour of the 1st defendant and the subsequent transfer to the 2nd defendant
  4. 4.A permanent injunction restraining the 2nd defendant from alienating, transferring, charging or dealing with the suit land otherwise than by way of transfer to the Government of Kenya
  5. 5.General damages of Kenya Shillings Ten Thousand (Kshs 10,000/=) against the 1st defendant only, with interest at court rates from the date of judgment
  6. 6.The plaintiff's claim against the 3rd, 4th and 5th defendants dismissed
  7. 7.Each party to bear their own costs of the suit
Jurisdiction invoked
Article 162(2)(b) of the Constitution and sections 4 and 13 of the Environment and Land Court Act 2015 (2011)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Ethics and Anti Corruption Commission v Kosachey & 4 others (Environment and Land Case 135 of 2021) [2026] KEELC 1622 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment (plaint dated 8th October 2021). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2026/1622/eng@2026-03-17

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.