Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment text provided (Plaint dated 28th March 2025)· [2026] KEELC 1278 (KLR)

Kyengo v Kivuva & 3 others (Land Case E002 of 2025) [2026] KEELC 1278 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
5 March 2026
1,840 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~7 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan landowner won court protection of his property but lost trespass damages because he had no police or agricultural officer's report to prove the interference happened.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiff, Mutala Kyengo, sued the defendants in the Environment and Land Court seeking an order to implement a survey report reflecting the true boundaries of Makueni/Kiou/1679, a permanent injunction against interference with the property, damages for trespass, mesne profits, costs and interest. The defendants did not enter appearance or file a defence despite service, and the suit proceeded to formal proof with the plaintiff as the sole witness. The plaintiff testified that he purchased the suit property from Ndambuki Nzulua in 2020, held the title deed issued on 29th September 2021, and produced Land Control Board consent and transfer documents. In February 2025, defendants allegedly obstructed a government surveyor from installing beacons, chased away the plaintiff and officials, and uprooted his plants and Kei apple fence, replacing it with a chain-link fence. A court-ordered survey by the Sub-County Surveyor, Mukaa dated 17th July 2025 confirmed the suit property measures 3.11 hectares and the 1st Defendant's parcel 1678 measures 1.07 hectares, but did not report any encroachment, fence uprooting or new fencing. The court, applying Daniel Toroitich Arap Moi v Mwangi Stephen Muriithi, held that formal proof still requires proof to the balance of probabilities. Ownership being undisputed, the plaintiff was entitled to quiet enjoyment and was granted a permanent injunction against interference with the property and its beacons. However, trespass was not substantiated - no agricultural officer's or police report was produced - so damages for trespass and mesne profits were refused. The plaintiff received costs of the suit.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the plaintiff proved entitlement to the orders sought in the plaint on a balance of probabilities

Holding

The plaintiff partially proved his case: ownership was undisputed and a permanent injunction issued, but trespass and mesne profits failed for want of proof

Reasoning

The plaintiff produced his title deed (PEX 1), Land Control Board consent and transfer documents showing he purchased the suit property from Ndambuki Nzulua. A court-ordered survey report confirmed the acreage of the suit property. However, the report did not mention encroachment, uprooting of the Kei apple fence or installation of a chain-link fence, and the plaintiff produced no agricultural officer's report or police report to substantiate trespass. As registration was not disputed, he was entitled to quiet enjoyment, justifying an injunction but not damages.

p. 4

Legal principles established

#
  • Even in formal proof proceedings, the trial court must examine the claimant's evidence and dismiss the claim if it falls short of the balance of probabilities standard
  • Trespass to land must be proved by evidence; the plaintiff bears both the legal and evidential burden

Court orders

#
  1. 1.An order of permanent injunction restraining the Defendants whether by themselves, agents, servants, employees or otherwise from interfering with the Plaintiff's right of ownership and possession of Makueni/Kiou/1679 and or interfering with the beacons marking the boundaries of the property
  2. 2.The Plaintiff shall have costs of the suit
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court over the suit land Parcel No. Makueni/Kiou/1679

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Kyengo v Kivuva & 3 others (Land Case E002 of 2025) [2026] KEELC 1278 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment text provided (Plaint dated 28th March 2025). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2026/1278/eng@2026-03-05

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.