Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCAllowedNot stated in the extract (instituted by Plaint dated 15/11/2023)

Lofty Les Fonds Limited v Total Kenya PLC (Environment and Land Case E170 of 2023) [2026] KEELC 994 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
19 February 2026
7,548 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~30 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan landlord won KSh 236 million in unpaid petrol station rent because the tenant never challenged the landlord's valuation evidence.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This was a first-instance suit before the Environment and Land Court at Nairobi, brought by the registered proprietor of LR No. 209/10502, Nairobi, against the lessee of premises developed as a petrol station under a twenty-year Lease dated 11/5/2005 expiring 30 June 2025. The Plaintiff sought declarations that the open market rent as at 1/7/2020 for the final five-year term was Kshs. 7,752,364 per month, payment of the underpaid rent for 2020–2024, further declarations and interest on shortfalls in advance rent at 14.5%. The Defendant denied the claim, contending that the five-year term from 1/7/2020 was governed by the Deed of Variation dated 20/8/2015, that the dispute fell within its arbitration clause, that a related suit and consent in HCCC No. E202 of 2021 governed the rent, and that the court lacked jurisdiction. The court held that it had jurisdiction under Article 162(2)(b) and Section 13 of the ELC Act, since the dispute concerned rent for land. The Deed of Variation applied only to the 2015–2020 term; its arbitration clause did not extend to the 2020–2025 rent dispute, and in any event the Defendant waived arbitration by filing a defence and actively litigating without a contemporaneous stay application under Section 6 of the Arbitration Act. Relying on the unchallenged Pinnacle Valuers reports - the Defendant having produced no contrary valuation - the court assessed the open market rent as at 1/7/2020 at Kshs. 7,752,364 per month and Kshs. 93,028,368 annually. The Plaintiff's suit was allowed as prayed, with judgment entered for the declared rent, Kshs. 236,866,510.69 for the 2020–2024 period, interest on the advance-rent shortfalls at 14.5%, and costs to the Plaintiff.

Questions the Court framed

#

The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.

  1. 1.Whether this court has jurisdiction to hear and determine the instant dispute
  2. 2.Whether the Deed of Variation is applicable to the dispute herein
  3. 3.What was the open market rent of the suit property as of 1/7/2020
  4. 4.Whether the Plaintiff is entitled to the orders sought
  5. 5.Costs of the suit

Key legal issues

#
01

Jurisdiction and the effect of the arbitration clause in the Deed of Variation

Holding

The ELC has jurisdiction; the dispute concerns rent under the Lease, not the Deed of Variation, and in any event the Defendant waived arbitration by filing a defence and actively defending the suit without a contemporaneous stay application.

Reasoning

The court traced ELC jurisdiction to Article 162(2)(b) and Section 13 of the ELC Act, which covers rents and valuations of land. The Deed of Variation governed only the 2015–2020 rent term and its Clause 12 arbitration clause did not extend to the 2020–2025 term, the arbitrator having already declined jurisdiction. Further, under Section 6 of the Arbitration Act and the Arbitration Rules 1997, the Defendant was required to apply for a stay by summons at the time of entering appearance; it instead filed a defence and participated in the hearing, thereby submitting to the court's jurisdiction and waiving arbitration.

p. 11
02

Applicability of the Deed of Variation

Holding

The Deed of Variation applies only to the lease term from 1/7/2015 to 30/6/2020 and cannot determine rent for the period 1/7/2020 to 30/6/2025.

Reasoning

The Deed was supplemental to the Lease, and while supplemental agreements are binding, Clause 2 of the Deed fixed a per-litre sales-volume formula expressly for the five-year term commencing 1 July 2015. Recital C confirmed that the Deed determined rent only for that term. The rent for the final five-year term was to be assessed at open market value under Clause 2(a)(iv) of the Lease, which the Deed did not amend. The dispute therefore fell under the Lease and outside the Deed and its arbitration clause.

p. 10
03

Determination of the open market rent as at 1/7/2020

Holding

The open market rent as of 1/7/2020 was Kshs. 7,752,364 per month and Kshs. 93,028,368 annually, based on the uncontroverted Pinnacle Valuers reports.

Reasoning

The court reiterated that it cannot rewrite the parties' contract and that rent for the final term was to be assessed as open market rent under Clause 2(a)(iv). The Defendant produced no valuation report in court to challenge the Pinnacle reports of 30/6/2022 and 6/3/2023, and called no witness from Tysons Limited; its own witness conceded the Pinnacle figures in cross-examination and confirmed the open market rent had not been assessed or agreed. The Pinnacle reports therefore stood uncontroverted and were adopted.

p. 13
04

Entitlement to the reliefs claimed

Holding

The Plaintiff discharged the burden of proof under Section 107(1) of the Evidence Act and the suit was allowed as prayed.

Reasoning

It was uncontested that the Defendant failed to fulfil its contractual obligations while occupying the premises. The rent payable for the term was calculated arithmetically from the assessed open market rent, with the agreed interest rate of 14.5% applied to the shortfalls in advance rent. The legal burden lay on the Plaintiff, who invoked the aid of the law, and the unchallenged valuation evidence satisfied that burden, entitling the Plaintiff to the declarations, the underpaid rent, and interest.

p. 14

Legal principles established

#
  • A court of law cannot rewrite a contract between the parties; parties are bound by the terms of their contract absent coercion, fraud or undue influence pleaded and proved.
  • A party who does not apply for a stay and referral to arbitration at the time of entering appearance, but instead files a defence and actively defends the suit, is deemed to have waived the right to arbitration.
  • Duly executed supplementary or supplemental agreements are legally binding and enforceable in their express terms and serve as a record of changes or additions to the original agreement.
  • Where an unchallenged valuation report stands uncontroverted by any contrary report or evidence, the court may adopt its figures.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.A declaration that the open market rent for the Premises as on 1/7/2020, applying for the 5-year period from 1/7/2020 to 30/6/2025, is Kshs. 7,752,364/= per month, Kshs. 93,028,368/= per annum and a total Kshs. 456,141,840/= for the 5-year period (all exclusive of VAT)
  2. 2.Judgment for the Plaintiff in the amount of Kshs. 236,866,510.69 being the open market rent for the period from 1/7/2020 to 30/6/2024 (Kshs. 372,113,472/=) less Kshs. 135,246,961.31/= paid as advance rent
  3. 3.A declaration that the open market rent for the one-year period from 1/7/2024 to 30/6/2025 is Kshs. 93,028,368/= (exclusive of VAT), due and payable by 1/7/2024
  4. 4.Interest on the underpaid advance rent from the date it was due to the date of judgment: on Kshs. 45,293,976.35/= from 1/7/2021 at 14.5%; on Kshs. 51,777,451.77/= from 1/7/2022 at 14.5%; and on Kshs. 55,275,078.47/= from 1/7/2023 at 14.5%
  5. 5.Costs of the suit awarded to the Plaintiff

The bench

#

One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.

majority

Wrote the judgment

Jurisdiction invoked
Article 162(2)(b) of the Constitution and Section 13 of the Environment and Land Court Act

Quotable passages

#

Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.

It is my considered view that the Plaintifi has discharged the burden of proof. It is my further finding that the Plaintifi’s suit is meritorious and is allowed as prayed. The upshot of this Court’s findings is that the Plaintifi’s suit succeeds.
p. 14Disposition - suit allowed as prayed
A declaration that the open market rent for the Premises as on 1/7/2020 and which should apply for the 5-year period from 1/7/2020 to 30/6/2025 is Kshs. 7,752,364/= per month, Kshs. 93,028,368/= per annum and a total Kshs. 456,141,840/= for the 5-year period (all exclusive of VAT).
p. 1Final orders - declaration of open market rent
Costs of this suit shall be in favour of the Plaintifi
p. 14Costs order
Jurisdiction is everything. Without it, a Court has no power to make one more step.
p. 7Jurisdiction
A court of law cannot re-write a contract between the parties. The parties are bound by the terms of their contract unless coercion, fraud or undue influence are pleaded and proved.
p. 11Sanctity of contract

Issues in the judgment

#
minor

The judgment states the rent claim totals Kshs. 456,141,840/= in the declaration, but the pleaded figure in the Plaint is Kshs. 465,141,840 for the five-year period, a discrepancy within the judgment itself.

minor

The Reply to Defence is stated to describe the Deed of Variation as dated 20 August 2025, whereas elsewhere the judgment uses the date 20/8/2015.

minor

The valuation figures for the updated Pinnacle report appear inconsistently as Kshs. 7,752,354 and Kshs. 7,752,364 within the judgment.

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Lofty Les Fonds Limited v Total Kenya PLC (Environment and Land Case E170 of 2023) [2026] KEELC 994 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the extract (instituted by Plaint dated 15/11/2023). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2026/994/eng@2026-02-19

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.