Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment text (appeal from Embu MCELC Case No. E047 of 2024)· [2026] KEELC 970 (KLR)

Njagi & another v Gatua & 3 others (Environment and Land Appeal E010 of 2025) [2026] KEELC 970 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
16 February 2026
2,553 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~10 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This is a first appeal to the Environment and Land Court (K. Bor, J, delivered virtually at Bungoma on 16 February 2026) against the judgment of Hon Atieno Joan Otieno, SRM, in Embu MCELC Case No. E047 of 2024. The Respondents (brothers of the Appellants) had sued for rescission of a Memorandum of Understanding dated 26/10/2023 or, in the alternative, payment of Kshs. 200,000/= each under the MoU, contending the Appellants sold family land without paying the agreed sums. The trial court, relying on Eldo City Limited v Corn Products Kenya Ltd, held the MoU was couched in mandatory terms, was executed and attested, and that the Appellants' conduct in selling the land showed an intention to be bound; it entered judgment for Kshs. 200,000/= for each Respondent with each party bearing its own costs. On appeal, the Appellants argued the MoU was a non-binding family understanding lacking consideration, citing Balfour v Balfour and Hirani v Kassam. Applying the Supreme Court's decision in Kenya Railways Corporation v Okoiti, the court held that although an MoU is presumptively non-binding, its binding nature depends on wording and apparent intention; here the MoU lacked offer, acceptance and consideration, no consideration flowed from the Respondents, and partial payments made after the sale were not accounted for by the trial court. The MoU was held to be a family goodwill arrangement, not a binding contract. The appeal was allowed: the trial judgment and decree were set aside, the Respondents' claim was dismissed, and each party was ordered to bear its own costs for the appeal and the suit.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the MoU constituted a binding and enforceable contract

Holding

The MoU was not binding as it lacked offer, acceptance and consideration, and was a gratuitous family understanding

Reasoning

The court considered the Supreme Court's guidance that an MoU is presumptively non-binding but its binding nature turns on wording and apparent intention. Although the MoU was executed and partly acted upon, the Respondents provided no consideration, and the Appellants were under no legal obligation to compensate brothers for land they inherited. It was therefore a family goodwill arrangement, unenforceable in contract law.

p. 5
02

Whether partial payment pursuant to the MoU evidenced intention to be bound

Holding

The trial court erred by not accounting for the payments already made to the Respondents

Reasoning

It was admitted that after the sale of the land the Appellants paid sums to the Respondents pursuant to the MoU. The trial court did not take these payments into account when finding a binding and enforceable contract, an error the appellate court treated as undermining the trial court's conclusion.

p. 5

Legal principles established

#
  • Whether an MoU is binding depends on the wording and apparent intention of the parties, not merely its label
  • A family arrangement made out of goodwill without consideration is not a legally binding contract

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The judgment and decree delivered on 11/2/2025 in Embu CMELC Case No. E047 of 2024 is set aside
  2. 2.The Respondents' claim before the trial court is dismissed
  3. 3.Each party to bear its own costs for the appeal and of the suit
On appeal from
Senior Principal Magistrate's Court, Embu
Embu MCELC Case No. E047 of 2024
Jurisdiction invoked
First appeal from the magistrate's court (statutory first appeal jurisdiction)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Njagi & another v Gatua & 3 others (Environment and Land Appeal E010 of 2025) [2026] KEELC 970 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment text (appeal from Embu MCELC Case No. E047 of 2024). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2026/970/eng@2026-02-16

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.