Clifton Bay Limited v Chivatsi (As the administrator of the Estate of Jefwa Kalama Lewa - Deceased) & 2 others (Environment and Land Appeal E001 of 2024) [2026] KEELC 704 (KLR)
The bottom line
#The Environment and Land Court in Malindi upheld a ruling that a beachfront title was obtained by fraud, confirming that landowners must prove how they acquired their title, not just produce it.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Questions the Court framed
#The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.
- 1.Whether the trial Court erred in law and in fact in failing to find the suit was statutory time barred
- 2.Whether the trial Court erred in law in finding that the appellant was not required to file a resolution authorizing its witness to testify
- 3.Whether the trial magistrate erred in law and in fact in finding that there was fraud
- 4.Whether the trial magistrate's judgment was contrary to the weight of evidence rendered
- 5.Who should meet the costs?
Key legal issues
#Limitation - whether the 1st respondent's suit was time barred
The claim was grounded on fraud, discovered in 2020 when the discharge could not be registered; suit filed in 2021, so Section 26 of the Limitation of Actions Act extended the period and the suit was not time barred
Section 4(2) of the Limitation of Actions Act prescribes three years for tort, but Section 26 provides that where the action is based on fraud, time does not run until the plaintiff discovered or could with reasonable diligence have discovered the fraud. The pleading stated the plaintiff discovered the fraud in 2020 when presenting the discharge of charge; suit filed in 2021 within one year, so no limitation bar arose.
Whether a company witness required a board resolution to testify
The trial magistrate erred in holding the appellant's witness's testimony null and void for want of a resolution; a resolution is not necessary for a witness to competently give oral evidence
Applying the reasoning in Dardanelli v Tilito, where the court declined to uphold an objection based on want of a resolution to swear an affidavit, affidavit and oral evidence are equivalent in nature, and absent any objection from directors or shareholders, a resolution is not a prerequisite for a witness to give evidence on behalf of a company.
Whether fraud was proved in the procurement of the appellant's title
Yes - the root of title of Sleet Properties Ltd was never established; no certified copies, no Presentation Book entries, and the registry disowned the transfers, so the appellant's title was unascertainable and the fraud finding stood
The appellant, whose title was under challenge, bore the burden of proving legality of acquisition (Munyu Maina v Hiram Gathiha Maina). No copy of title or search in Sleet's name was produced; the transfers were uncertified, one undated/altered, the registry had no replica; no Presentation Book extract proved lodgement. Consideration discrepancies (Kshs 1.2m vs Kshs 13m within 4 days) further undermined the chain. Title without registration antecedents is itself proof of fraud.
Whether the trial magistrate's judgment was against the weight of evidence
No - answered in the negative; the fraud finding conclusively answered this issue
Having found that the trial magistrate did not err in finding fraud in the procurement of the appellant's title, the court held that this conclusively answered whether the judgment was contrary to the weight of evidence. The documentary gaps in the appellant's chain of title supported the trial magistrate's conclusions.
Legal principles established
#- Where a registered proprietor's root of title is under challenge, the proprietor must go beyond the instrument of title and prove the legality of the acquisition
- Where challenged transfers were disowned by the registry, only proof that the transfers were lodged and booked at the registry can validate the title
- Proof that a title emerged in the land registry without registration antecedents is sufficient proof of fraud
- A board resolution is not necessary for a company's witness to competently give oral evidence on its behalf
Court orders
#- 1.The appeal is dismissed with costs
- 2.The judgment of the Hon James Ongondo, Senior Principal Magistrate delivered on 6th March 2024 allowing the 1st respondent's claim remains undisturbed
The bench
#One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.
Wrote the judgment
- On appeal from
- Malindi ELC Chief Magistrate's Court
- Civil Suit Number 154 of 2021
- Jurisdiction invoked
- First appellate jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court over the Chief Magistrate's Court (ELC appeal from Malindi ELC Chief Magistrate's Court Civil Suit Number 154 of 2021)
Relief refused
#Setting aside of the trial court's judgment and dismissal of the 1st respondent's suit
The appeal lacked merit; the trial magistrate correctly found fraud and correctly held the claim was not time barred
Costs of the appeal and of the trial court to be borne by the 1st respondent
Costs followed the dismissed appeal; costs were awarded instead
Costs
The appeal was dismissed with costs (costs to the respondents, contrary to the appellant's request that the 1st respondent bear both sets of costs)
Quotable passages
#Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.
The outcome is that the present appeal lacks merit and the same is hereby dismissed with costs. It is so ordered.
When a registered proprietor’s root of title is under challenge, it is not suficient to dangle the instrument of title as proof of ownership.
Proof that the appellant’s title emerged in the land registry without any registration antecedents is suficient proof of fraud.
The process of acquisition of title is as vital as the product when it comes to production of titles
I am of the view that a resolution was not necessary for the witness to competently give evidence on behalf of the appellant.
I therefore find that the trial magistrate was correct in finding that the 1st respondent’s claim was not time barred.
Issues in the judgment
#The case number of the appeal before the ELC is not stated in the judgment; only the trial suit number (Malindi ELC CMCC 154 of 2021) and the date of the Memorandum of Appeal (2nd April 2024) appear
The judgment refers to the 1st respondent's suit being filed by Jefwa Kalama Lewa who died in 2022 and was substituted by his widow, but the substituted party's name is not stated
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Clifton Bay Limited v Chivatsi (As the administrator of the Estate of Jefwa Kalama Lewa - Deceased) & 2 others (Environment and Land Appeal E001 of 2024) [2026] KEELC 704 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Malindi ELC Appeal (as stated in Memorandum of Appeal dated 2nd April 2024). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2026/704/eng@2026-02-10
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.