Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNot stated in judgment

Mwavumbo Group Ranch v National Land Commission & 3 others (Environment and Land Case 164 of 2021) [2026] KEELC 595 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
6 February 2026
8,584 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~34 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

The Environment and Land Court dismissed a group ranch's Kshs. 1 billion compensation claim for SGR land, ruling that individual members, not the ranch, were entitled to payment.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Plaintiff, the registered proprietor of Kwale/Mwavumbo/1 (approximately 24,908 Ha in Kwale County), claimed compensation of Kshs. 1,011,947,000/- for 178.03 Ha allegedly compulsorily acquired for Phase 1 of the Standard Gauge Railway, asserting that only project-affected persons (and possibly squatters) were paid for structures, crops and graves, and never the ranch as landowner. The 1st Defendant (NLC) maintained only 174.646 Ha was gazetted (Gazette Notice No. 4096 of 20/6/2014) and all PAPs fully compensated; the 2nd Defendant (Kenya Railways) denied liability, arguing the statutory duty to pay lies with the NLC, and raised jurisdiction and exhaustion objections. The court framed three issues: jurisdiction, res judicata and entitlement to compensation. On jurisdiction it held the plaintiff had exhausted available remedies, the Land Acquisition Tribunal did not exist when the suit was filed in 2019, and section 128 of the Land Act vests jurisdiction in the ELC. On res judicata it held the prior constitutional petition and appeal were not decided on their merits. On the merits the court held that group representatives hold ranch land in trust for members, so compensation was properly payable to the affected members, who were paid per the handover checklist; the plaintiff produced no members' register, no search certificate, no particulars of squatters or unpaid members, and a valuation nine years post-acquisition. The suit was dismissed with no order as to costs, each party bearing its own costs in light of public interest.

Questions the Court framed

#

The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.

  1. 1.Whether this Court has jurisdiction to hear and determine this suit
  2. 2.Whether this matter is res judicata
  3. 3.Whether the Plaintiff is entitled to the prayers for compensation for compulsory land acquisition

Key legal issues

#
01

Jurisdiction of the ELC over compensation claims for compulsory acquisition

Holding

The Court had jurisdiction: the Plaintiff had engaged the NLC process (letters of 22/3/2015, inquiry of 21/2/2015, response of 6/7/2016), the Land Acquisition Tribunal did not exist when the suit was filed in 2019, and section 128 of the Land Act vests dispute jurisdiction in the ELC.

Reasoning

The court accepted the exhaustion doctrine but found the plaintiff had exhausted available remedies through correspondence and the NLC inquiry. The Land Acquisition Tribunal under section 133A was created by the Land Value (Amendment) Act, 2019, long after the 2014 acquisition, and only became operational on 7/9/2023. Section 128 of the Land Act expressly permits referral of disputes under the Act to the Land and Environment Court.

p. 11
02

Res judicata vis-à-vis ELC Petition 94 of 2016 (Mombasa) and Civil Appeal No. 115 of 2018

Holding

The suit is not res judicata because the prior cases were not heard and determined on their merits.

Reasoning

Applying the elements in John Florence Maritime Services, the court found that although the same parties and issues were involved, the earlier constitutional petition was dismissed for failing to raise constitutional issues - the main issues were never ventilated on the merits. A final judgment on the merits is an essential element of res judicata.

p. 12
03

Whether the Plaintiff (as registered proprietor of the group ranch) was entitled to compensation

Holding

No. The group representatives held the land in trust for members; members affected by the SGR were compensated as PAPs, and the Plaintiff failed to prove any outstanding entitlement.

Reasoning

The title Kwale/Mwavumbo/1 was held by the group ranch on behalf of members who, upon the April 2015 resolution and dissolution, would hold land individually. The handover checklist showed payments to PAPs in the Mwavumbo area with acreages and awards. The plaintiff produced no members' register, no search certificate, no list of unpaid members or squatters, and no proof of unoccupied acreage, and its valuation was nine years post-acquisition.

p. 14

Legal principles established

#
  • Group representatives hold group ranch land as trustees of the members; it is the members, not the ranch as a unit, who are entitled to compensation for compulsory acquisition
  • Compensation for compulsory acquisition must restitute the claimant and must not result in unjust enrichment or wastage of public resources
  • A claimant who alleges that compensation was paid to squatters bears the burden of proving membership registers and particulars of the alleged squatters
  • Exhaustion of statutory dispute-resolution mechanisms under the Land Act, 2012 is required before invoking the court's jurisdiction, but section 112 does not oust the ELC's jurisdiction under section 128

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The suit be and is hereby dismissed
  2. 2.Each party shall bear its own costs

The bench

#

One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.

majority

Wrote the judgment

Jurisdiction invoked
Environment and Land Court jurisdiction; Section 128 of the Land Act, 2012 ('Any dispute arising out of any matter provided for under this Act may be referred to the Land and Environment Court for determination')

Relief refused

#

Declaration that the Plaintiff is entitled to compensation for the compulsorily acquired portion of Kwale/Mwavumbo/1

Plaintiff failed to prove its claim on a balance of probabilities; compensation was payable to members, not the ranch as a unit, and granting it would risk double compensation

p. 16

Compensation of Kshs. 1,011,947,000/- for the compulsorily acquired land

No evidence of unoccupied uncompensated acreage or of any member unpaid; valuation was nine years post-acquisition and ownership status was in doubt after dissolution of the group ranch

p. 16

Costs

Each party shall bear its own costs - the court departed from the general rule under section 27 of the Civil Procedure Act on public-interest grounds, following Jasbir Singh Rai v Tarlochan Singh Rai.

Quotable passages

#

Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.

It is therefore my finding that this Court is clothed with the requisite jurisdiction to hear and determine this suit.
p. 11jurisdiction
It is the finding of this court that this suit is not res judicata ELC Petition 94 of 2016 before the High Court at Mombasa and Civil Appeal No. 115 of 2018.
p. 12res judicata
It therefore follows that it is the members who were entitled to compensation and not the ranch as a unit.
p. 14compulsory acquisition - entitlement
Based on the foregoing, the upshot of all the above is that the Plaintifi has failed to prove its claim on a balance of probabilities to be entitled to the orders sought.
p. 16failure of proof
Consequently, the suit be and is hereby dismissed.
p. 16disposition
Consequently, each party shall bear its costs.
p. 16costs

Issues in the judgment

#
minor

The gazette notice number for the acquisition is inconsistently cited as No. 4096 and No. 4606

minor

The compensation figure pleaded in the 2nd Defendant's submissions differs from that in the plaint (Kshs. 1,111,947,000/- vs Kshs. 1,011,947,000/-)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Mwavumbo Group Ranch v National Land Commission & 3 others (Environment and Land Case 164 of 2021) [2026] KEELC 595 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2026/595/eng@2026-02-06

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.