Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNot stated in judgment (previously HCCC No. 48 of 1998, referred back for hearing afresh)· [2026] KEELC 524 (KLR)

Chebiego & 2 others v Ayabei & 3 others (Environment and Land Case 11 of 2016) [2026] KEELC 524 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
5 February 2026
12,788 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~51 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

The Environment and Land Court in Eldoret dismissed a 27-year land dispute, ruling that officials of an unregistered farm committee could not reclaim land from its registered owners.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Plaintiffs, purporting to act as Chairman, Treasurer and Secretary of the Committee/Management of Sumbeiywo Farm, sued for a declaration that the suit property, Plateau/Chepkongony Block 2(Sumbeiyo)/65, was fraudulently transferred to the 1st and 2nd Defendants and should revert to Sumbeiywo Primary School, alongside a permanent injunction, special damages of KShs. 233,400/-, general damages, mesne profits and costs. The 1st Defendant denied fraud, asserting he and the 2nd Defendant were bona fide allottees of plot no. 201 since 1973. The National Land Commission withdrew its cross-claim and participation, while the 4th Defendant closed its case without calling witnesses. The court found the Plaintiffs lacked locus standi, representing an unregistered, non-existent entity, but proceeded on the merits in the interest of justice. On the evidence, the Defendants were the original allottees of the suit land; the alleged relocation to plots 49 and 50 and sale to Chumo Cherop were unproved. The transfer from the Government to the Defendants was explained by Ministry of Education and Wareng County Council consent after the school's closure, so fraud failed. Any setting aside of the land for a school in 1983 was not a valid compulsory acquisition under the repealed Land Acquisition Act, there being no gazette notice, inquiry or compensation. Sumbeiywo Primary School was closed with finality in 1989 and never revived, so no entity exists to receive the land. The suit was dismissed with costs to the 1st Defendant, the court holding special damages were neither pleaded nor strictly proved and general damages and mesne profits could not issue without proof of entitlement to the property.

Key legal issues

#
01

Locus standi of the Plaintiffs

Holding

The Plaintiffs purported to represent a non-existent unregistered entity and had no mandate; however, the court elected to determine the matter on merit in the interest of justice.

Reasoning

There was no certificate of registration of Sumbeiywo Farm nor annual returns, and no minutes authorising the Plaintiffs to sue. They should have sued individually, enjoined all members, or filed a representative suit under Order 1 Rule 8. Despite the locus deficit, the court exercised discretion to hear the claim on the merits because the Plaintiffs claimed to advance a public interest regarding the school.

02

Alleged fraudulent acquisition of the suit property

Holding

Fraud was not proved; the Defendants were the original allottees of the land and registration followed lawful administrative process after the school's closure.

Reasoning

The Plaintiffs admitted plot 201 became plot 65, and the original area list allocated plot 201 to the Defendants. The alleged alternative plots 49 and 50 were never proved to have belonged to the Defendants, and Chumo Cherop was not called to prove any purchase. The Ministry of Education and Wareng County Council consented to the release of the land to the Defendants after the school closed, explaining the transfer from the Government.

p. 14
03

Validity of acquisition for public purpose

Holding

There was no valid compulsory acquisition under the repealed Land Acquisition Act - no gazette notice, no inquiry, and no compensation.

Reasoning

The suit land was private land allocated to the Defendants. Conversion to public use required compulsory acquisition under the Land Acquisition Act (repealed): gazette notice of intention, notice of inquiry, award and prompt compensation. None of these steps was proved; no gazette notice was published and no compensation was paid to the owners.

p. 17
04

Existence of Sumbeiywo Primary School

Holding

No school known as Sumbeiywo Primary School exists; it was closed with finality in 1989 and re-establishment conditions were never fulfilled.

Reasoning

The school was closed in 1989 due to the land dispute and unavailability of land. The Ministry of Education's letter of 17th July 2017 confirmed there was no school on the ground and supported return of the land to its original owners. Conditions for revival - a title of at least 5 acres, structures, and DEB/DDD procedures - were never met, so no entity exists in whose favour the land could revert.

p. 19

Legal principles established

#
  • A registered proprietor whose root of title is under challenge must go beyond the title instrument and prove the legality of acquisition
  • Under section 26(1)(b) of the Land Registration Act a title is impeachable if acquired illegally, unprocedurally or through a corrupt scheme even where the holder is innocent
  • Compulsory acquisition of private land requires strict compliance with the statutory procedure including gazettement, inquiry and full compensation
  • Special damages must be both specifically pleaded and strictly proved

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The Plaintiffs' suit is dismissed.
  2. 2.The 1st Defendant shall have the costs of this suit.
Jurisdiction invoked
Original jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court over land disputes (Environment and Land Court Act); suit referred back for hearing afresh after earlier proceedings in HCCC No. 48 of 1998 and the Court of Appeal

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Chebiego & 2 others v Ayabei & 3 others (Environment and Land Case 11 of 2016) [2026] KEELC 524 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in judgment (previously HCCC No. 48 of 1998, referred back for hearing afresh). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2026/524/eng@2026-02-05

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.