Amuma & 7 others (Suing on Behalf of 2500 Residents of Garsen Township) v Haganda Private Ranching Company Limited & 3 others; County Government of Tana River & another (Interested Parties) (Environment and Land Case 198 of 2018) [2026] KEELC 509 (KLR)
The bottom line
#A Kenyan court dismissed 2,500 residents' land ownership claims because neither they nor the company held a title, redirecting them to the National Land Commission.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Questions the Court framed
#The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.
- 1.Whether the plaintiffs or the 1st defendant have a proprietary interest in the suit property
- 2.Whether the allegations of fraud against the 2nd and 3rd defendants have been proved to the required standard
- 3.Whether the plaintiffs are entitled to the relief sought
- 4.Who should bear the costs of this litigation
Key legal issues
#Proprietary interest in the suit property
Neither the plaintiffs nor the 1st defendant holds any proprietary interest; the 1st defendant has only an uncompleted letter of allotment and no title deed exists
The Land Registrar confirmed no title deed was ever issued and no correspondence file exists. A letter of allotment is not evidence of title; title issues only after the allottee meets the conditions of the allotment and a title document is issued. Without a registered proprietor, neither party can assert ownership, and under Article 61 the land is presumed public.
Adverse possession
Adverse possession is inapplicable because there is no registered owner against whom time could run, and the land is public land under Article 61
Order 37 Rule 7 of the Civil Procedure Rules requires a certified extract of title; the rationale of adverse possession is a claim against a registered owner whose title is extinguished by lapse of the statutory period under the Limitation of Actions Act. Section 41 bars adverse possession of public land. No certificate of title or register extract was produced.
Fraud against the 2nd and 3rd defendants
Fraud was not proved; allegations rested on pleadings with no supporting documentary or testimonial evidence
Fraud imputes quasi-criminal conduct and must be distinctly pleaded and strictly proved beyond a mere balance of probabilities. No minutes, letters, memos or witnesses from the Lands Office were tendered. The plaintiffs' own acknowledgment that the 1st defendant has no title undermined the claim, since an incomplete allocation could not have usurped their ownership.
Claim of trust over the suit property
No trust, whether express, implied or constructive, was established
Sections 107 and 109 of the Evidence Act place the burden on the party asserting a trust, which is a question of fact. Long occupation alone does not imply a trust; proof of intention to create one is required. The plaintiffs produced no documentary evidence that the 1st defendant held the land in trust for them or the community.
Entitlement to declaratory and injunctive relief
Relief refused; the plaintiffs must pursue statutory settlement and regularisation processes instead
Declaratory and proprietary relief requires proof of a clear legal or equitable right. The Land Act, 2012 and Land Registration Act, 2012 provide procedures for allocation and settlement of squatters on public land through the Settlement Fund Trustees and the National Land Commission. Allocation is an executive function, not judicial.
Legal principles established
#- A letter of allotment does not confer ownership; title crystallises only upon completion of the conditions in the letter and issuance of a title document
- Adverse possession cannot run against public or government land and requires a registered proprietor whose title may be extinguished
- Allegations of fraud must be specifically pleaded and strictly proved to a standard above mere balance of probabilities
- Allocation of land is the province of the executive, not the judiciary
Court orders
#- 1.The plaintiffs' suit is dismissed
- 2.No orders as to costs
The bench
#One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.
Wrote the judgment
- Jurisdiction invoked
- Original jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court under Article 162(2) of the Constitution (implied); no express provision cited
Relief refused
#Declaration of ownership/adverse possession in favour of the plaintiffs
No registered proprietor existed against whom time could run; adverse possession cannot apply to public land
Declaration that the 1st defendant holds the property in trust for the plaintiffs and the community
No documentary evidence of an express or implied intention to create a trust; burden of proof under sections 107 and 109 of the Evidence Act not discharged
Declarations that the allotment to the 1st defendant was fraudulent, irregular and unlawful
Fraud must be specifically pleaded and strictly proved; no documentary or testimonial evidence tendered to support the allegations
Injunctive orders against the defendants
Declaratory and proprietary relief can be granted only upon demonstration of a clear legal or equitable right
Costs
No orders as to costs
Quotable passages
#Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.
Without such proof, neither the plaintifis nor the 1st defendant can assert proprietary interests in the suit property, and the doctrine of adverse possession is inapplicable as a matter of law.
Where no registered owner exists, time cannot begin to run, and the doctrine of adverse possession cannot be invoked.
The standard of proof for fraud, while not as high as in criminal cases, must be more than a mere balance of probabilities because fraud imputes dishonesty and quasi-criminal conduct on the part of a party.
Reliance purely on assertions contained in their pleadings cannot take the place of proof.
Therefore, if the plaintifis indeed wish to claim ownership of the land they allege to occupy, the proper course would be to petition the relevant authorities, such as the National Land Commission, to consider their case under the legal frameworks for settlement and regularization. Until and unless such lawful processes are followed, it would not be prudent for this Court to issue sweeping declarations of ownership rights or trust in their favor. Allocation of land is the province of the executive, not the judiciary. See Republic v National Land Commission & 6 others [2023] eKLR.
Thus, the plaintifis’ suit is hereby dismissed.
I will make no orders as to costs.
Issues in the judgment
#Judgment text shows a contradictory statement on the legal effect of a letter of allotment: paragraph 8 records the plaintiffs' assertion that a letter of allotment 'is not evidence of title', while the quotation in paragraph 23 from Ocean View Plaza states that allotment 'invests the allottee with inviolable and indefeasible rights'
Case number of this suit is not disclosed anywhere in the judgment as provided
The signature block is dated 28th January 2026 while internal references (witness statement of 22nd October 2022) suggest the matter is older; the 2026 date is anomalous but taken as printed
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Amuma & 7 others (Suing on Behalf of 2500 Residents of Garsen Township) v Haganda Private Ranching Company Limited & 3 others; County Government of Tana River & another (Interested Parties) (Environment and Land Case 198 of 2018) [2026] KEELC 509 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment as provided. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2026/509/eng@2026-01-28
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.