Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCOtherNot stated in the judgment· [2026] KEELC 437 (KLR)

Wangari v ABSA Bank Kenya Plc (Environment and Land Case E453 of 2025) [2026] KEELC 437 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
30 January 2026
1,858 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~7 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's Environment and Land Court confirmed it can hear disputes where a lender blocks a borrower's sale of charged land.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Plaintiff/Applicant moved the court by Notice of Motion dated 10th September 2025 seeking an interlocutory injunction restraining the Defendant (a chargee) from advertising for sale, selling or interfering with Villa Number 13 Court B (Edenville Estate) on L.R. No. 21103/1 Kiambu, together with an order compelling the Defendant to furnish a full statement of account of the loan facility, including amortisation, interest and penalties said to underpin a Section 90(1) statutory notice dated 12th June 2025. The Defendant responded with a preliminary objection dated 12th September 2025, contending that the court lacks jurisdiction because the dispute concerns its statutory power of sale and loan computations - contractual and commercial matters for the High Court under Article 162(2)(b) and Section 13 of the Environment and Land Court Act. In written submissions, the Defendant relied chiefly on Co-operative Bank of Kenya v Patrick Kangethe and the Lillian S decision, urging that the suit be struck out. The Plaintiff countered that the predominant subject matter is the clogging of her equity of redemption by the Defendant's unlawful withholding of consent to a sale of the charged property, an interest in land protected under the Land Act and within this court's exclusive jurisdiction. Relying on Mukisa Biscuits and Oraro v Mbaja, the court found the objection a pure point of law. Adopting Mbuthia v Jimba Credit Finance Corporation, it held that the equity of redemption is a primary interest in land, so an allegation of unlawful interference shifts the dispute from the commercial to the land sphere. The preliminary objection was dismissed with costs to the Plaintiff. The substantive application awaits determination.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the preliminary objection is a pure point of law

Holding

Yes - jurisdiction is a pure point of law capable of disposing of the suit without hearing the merits

Reasoning

The court applied the Mukisa Biscuits and Oraro v Mbaja tests, holding that an objection to jurisdiction is a classic pure point of law that requires no leading of evidence and can determine the matter without going into the merits of the case.

p. 4
02

Whether the ELC has jurisdiction over a dispute founded on a chargee's refusal to consent to a sale by the chargor

Holding

Yes - the predominant subject matter is the clogging of the chargor's equity of redemption, a primary interest in land, bringing the dispute within Article 162(2)(b) and Section 13 of the ELC Act

Reasoning

Relying on Mbuthia v Jimba Credit Finance Corporation, the court held that equity of redemption is a primary interest in land encompassing the right to redeem, use, occupy and dispose of the charged property. Because the Plaintiff's claim rests on the Defendant's unlawful withholding of consent to a sale, the dispute transcends the commercial loan account and becomes a land dispute within the court's exclusive jurisdiction.

p. 4

Legal principles established

#
  • A chargor's equity of redemption is an interest in land that the ELC has jurisdiction to protect; a dispute alleging clogging of the equity of redemption is a land dispute under Section 13 of the Environment and Land Court Act, not a purely commercial matter for the High Court

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The preliminary objection dated 12th September 2025 is dismissed
  2. 2.Costs of the preliminary objection to the Plaintiff
Jurisdiction invoked
Article 162(2)(b) of the Constitution and Section 13 of the Environment and Land Court Act

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Wangari v ABSA Bank Kenya Plc (Environment and Land Case E453 of 2025) [2026] KEELC 437 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2026/437/eng@2026-01-30

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.