Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNot stated in the judgment as provided· [2026] KEELC 267 (KLR)

Munywoki v Mwangi & 3 others (Environment and Land Case E021 of 2023) [2026] KEELC 267 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
27 January 2026
3,079 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~12 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

The Environment and Land Court in Machakos dismissed a landowner's fraud claim and awarded the registered owners KShs 1 million and a permanent injunction for trespass.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiff, claiming to be the registered proprietor of LR No. 12715/146 (I.R No. 44487) in Syokimau, Machakos County, sued the registered joint owners, the Chief Land Registrar and others, alleging that the 1st and 2nd defendants demolished his boundary wall on 7 March 2023 and, in collusion with Mlolongo DCI officers, obtained a fraudulent competing title. He sought declarations of ownership, cancellation of the defendants' title, rectification of the register, and a permanent injunction. The 1st and 2nd defendants filed a counter-claim as the registered proprietors, alleging the plaintiff invaded the land on 2 March 2023 with about 40 men who built a stone wall, and sought an injunction, general and special damages for trespass, demolition costs, and costs. The plaintiff's main suit was dismissed on 23 July 2025 for non-attendance and proceeded only on the counter-claim; the claim against Michael Omondi was withdrawn. The court found the defendants produced unchallenged documentary proof of title, corroborated by the Chief Land Registrar's records tracing the grant from Syokimau Farm Limited through the estate of Nathan Kithuku Mbithi. The plaintiff's fraud allegation was unsupported, the burden under sections 107-109 of the Evidence Act not discharged. The court held trespass actionable by a person in possession, awarded nominal general damages of Kshs 1,000,000 for the undisputed trespass, refused special damages for want of specific pleading and proof, and granted a permanent injunction against the plaintiff, with the OCS Syokimau to ensure compliance, and costs to the defendants. Delivered at Machakos on 27 January 2026 by N.A. Matheka, Judge.

Key legal issues

#
01

Who is the lawful proprietor of LR No. 12715/146 (I.R No. 44487)?

Holding

The 1st and 2nd Defendants (plaintiffs in the counter-claim) are the registered owners; the plaintiff's claim of fraud was unproved.

Reasoning

The Defendants produced the title, official search, transfer documents from the estate of Nathan Kithuku Mbithi and the 3rd Defendant, and rates clearances, unchallenged. The Chief Land Registrar's defence confirmed them as registered proprietors. The plaintiff, alleging fraud, adduced no evidence; under sections 107-109 of the Evidence Act he bore the burden and failed.

p. 4
02

Whether the plaintiff proved fraud to defeat the Defendants' title

Holding

No evidence of fraud was adduced.

Reasoning

The plaint alleged the Defendants' title was fraudulently obtained in collusion with lands office and DCI officers, but the plaintiff led no evidence. Fraud vitiating indefeasibility under section 26 LRA must be proved; the burden lies on the person asserting the fraud.

p. 4
03

Whether the counter-claim for trespass succeeds

Holding

The counter-claim was proved on a balance of probabilities; nominal general damages of Kshs 1,000,000 awarded and permanent injunction granted.

Reasoning

Trespass is actionable at the suit of a person in possession. The plaintiff's invasion with a gang of about 40 men building a wall was undisputed. Lacking evidence of the land's value before and after the trespass, the court awarded nominal damages following Aluchio. Special damages failed for lack of specific pleading and proof.

p. 6

Legal principles established

#
  • Indefeasibility of title under section 26 of the Land Registration Act does not extend to property unlawfully acquired, being subject to Article 40(6) of the Constitution
  • A registered proprietor whose root of title is under challenge must prove the legality of the acquisition beyond the title instrument
  • Possession, not ownership, is sufficient to sustain an action for trespass to land
  • Special damages must be specifically pleaded and proved

Court orders

#
  1. 1.An order of permanent injunction restraining the Plaintiffs whether by their employees, servants or agents or any of them or otherwise howsoever from trespassing, taking physical possession, developing, alienating, selling, subletting or in any way dealing with Land Reference No. 12715/146 (I.R No. 44487)
  2. 2.The OCS Syokimau Police Station to ensure compliance with the orders of this court
  3. 3.Kshs 1,000,000/= General damages for trespass
  4. 4.Costs of this suit to the Defendants

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Land Registration ActSection 24(a)
  • Land Registration ActSection 26(1)
  • Evidence Act Cap 80Section 107
  • Evidence Act Cap 80Section 108
  • Evidence Act Cap 80Section 109
  • Constitution of KenyaArticle 40 (including 40(6))

Cases cited (9)

  • Munyu Maina vs Hiram Gathiha Maina
    (2013) eKLR
  • Attorney General vs Torino Enterprises Limited
    (Civil Application 84 of 2012) (2022) KECA 78 (KLR) (4 February 2022)
  • Denis Noel Mukhulo & Another v. Elizabeth Murungari & Another
    [2018] eKLR
  • Jennifer Nyambura Kamau vs Humphrey Mbaka Nandi
    (2013) eKLR
  • James Muigai Thungu vs County Government of Trans-Nzoia & 2 others
    (2022) eKLR
  • Jamal Salim vs Yusuf Abdulahi Abdi & another
    (2018) eKLR
  • Philip Ayaya Aluchio vs Crispinus Ngayo
    (2014) eKLR
  • Hostler – VS – GreenPark Development Co.
    986 S.W 2d 500
  • Jogoo Kimakia Bus Services Ltd vs Electrocom International Ltd
    (1992) KLR 177
Jurisdiction invoked
Original jurisdiction under the Land Registration Act and Evidence Act (specific enabling provision not stated in the judgment)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Munywoki v Mwangi & 3 others (Environment and Land Case E021 of 2023) [2026] KEELC 267 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment as provided. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2026/267/eng@2026-01-27

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.