Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment as provided· [2025] KEELC 8485 (KLR)

Kigen v Maiyo & 2 others (Environment and Land Case E021 of 2025) [2025] KEELC 8485 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
4 December 2025
2,777 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~11 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Nakuru court cancelled a land buyer's lease because the owner could not explain how the title was acquired, returning the plot to its original allottee.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
In an undefended land dispute before the Environment and Land Court at Nakuru, the plaintiff, Agnes Jeruto Kigen, sought a declaration that she was the legal allottee of plot No. 102, now Nakuru Municipality Block 15/727, cancellation of the certificate of lease issued to the 1st Defendant, rectification of the land register, and alternatively a declaration of adverse possession. She testified that she was allotted the unsurveyed plot by letter dated 4th May 1999, accepted the offer in October 2000, paid Kshs.12,580, and has been in possession since 2000, building a perimeter wall and a house. Registry records revealed two files for the same parcel, and the Land Registrar could not locate the 1st Defendant's lease forwarding letter, placing a restriction on suspicion of fraud. The 1st Defendant never entered appearance. The court, per M. A. Odeny J, held that uncontroverted evidence still requires judicial interrogation, and that where two titles compete, the court must investigate the root of each; a registered proprietor must go beyond the title instrument and prove legality of acquisition. Finding the plaintiff's root of title sound and the 1st Defendant's title unexplained and tainted by irregularity, the court declared the plaintiff the legal allottee, directed cancellation of the 1st Defendant's certificate of lease and rectification of the register in the plaintiff's favour, and ordered issuance of a certificate of lease to her upon payment of requisite fees. Each party was directed to bear their own costs. Judgment delivered at Nakuru on 4th December 2025.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the plaintiff proved she is the original allottee of the suit property

Holding

Yes - the plaintiff produced an allotment letter dated 4th May 1999, an acceptance letter dated 17th October 2000, and a payment receipt dated 23rd October 2000, corroborated by PW2's evidence of occupation since 2000

Reasoning

The court found that the plaintiff explained the origin of her ownership: she applied for allocation, was allotted unsurveyed plot No. 102, accepted the offer, paid Kshs.12,580, took possession, built a perimeter wall and a house. PW2 corroborated joint allocation and continuous occupation. The registry index map amendment transformed plot 102 into Nakuru Municipality Block 15/727.

p. 5
02

Whether the 1st Defendant's certificate of lease is valid and indefeasible

Holding

No - the 1st Defendant never entered appearance or explained the root of his title, and the Land Registrar's letters raised red flags including the absence of the lease forwarding letter and suspected fraud

Reasoning

Relying on Section 26 of the Land Registration Act, Munyu Maina and Funzi Development, the court held that indefeasibility does not protect a title acquired illegally or irregularly. When a root of title is questioned, the holder must demonstrate how the title was acquired. The 1st Defendant's unexplained title, questioned from the allotting authority, could not stand.

p. 4
03

Whether undefended claims require judicial scrutiny of the plaintiff's evidence

Holding

Yes - the court is still obliged to interrogate uncontroverted evidence before granting judgment

Reasoning

Citing Propwa Company Limited v Justus Nyamo Gatondo and Kenya Power & Lighting Co v Nathan Karanja Gachoka, the court noted that ex-parte evidence is not automatic proof; the plaintiff must still discharge the burden of proof on a balance of probability whether or not the evidence is challenged. The court then conducted its own scrutiny of the exhibits and testimony before arriving at its conclusion.

p. 3

Legal principles established

#
  • A registered proprietor whose root of title is under challenge must prove the legality of the acquisition beyond merely producing the title instrument
  • A certificate of title may be challenged on grounds of fraud, misrepresentation, or where it was acquired illegally, unprocedurally or through a corrupt scheme (Section 26(1), Land Registration Act)
  • Uncontroverted evidence does not automatically prove a case; the plaintiff must still discharge the burden of proof on a balance of probability
  • Where two titles over the same land exist, the court must investigate the root of each title and uphold the one that conformed to procedure without a break in the chain
  • The court may order rectification of the register where a registration was obtained by fraud or mistake (Section 80, Land Registration Act)

Court orders

#
  1. 1.A declaration that the Plaintiff is the legal allottee of plot No. 102 now registered at Nakuru Lands Registry as Land Parcel No. Nakuru Municipality Block 15/727
  2. 2.The Land Registrar Nakuru directed to cancel the Certificate of Lease for land parcel No. Nakuru Municipality Block 15/727 issued to the 1st Defendant
  3. 3.The Land Registry records for the suit parcel rectified to reflect the Plaintiff's name as the registered owner
  4. 4.The Land Registrar, Nakuru to issue a certificate of lease in the name of the plaintiff, upon payment of the requisite fees
  5. 5.Each party shall bear their own costs
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction over a land dispute; Article 40 of the Constitution and the Land Registration Act, 2012 invoked

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Kigen v Maiyo & 2 others (Environment and Land Case E021 of 2025) [2025] KEELC 8485 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in the judgment as provided. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2025/8485/eng@2025-12-04

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.