Gikama v County Government of Nairobi & 2 others (Environment and Land Case 1262 of 2013) [2025] KEELC 8448 (KLR)
The bottom line
#A land buyer lost her Kayole plot because she couldn't prove ownership with documents, even though nobody challenged her story in court.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Key legal issues
#Whether the Plaintiff proved ownership of Plot Number A2-716 Kayole and the root of her title
No. She failed to demonstrate the root of her title; the vendor was not called, no transfer or proof of payment was produced, and the allotting authority's records showed the 2nd Defendant complied with allotment requirements.
The Plaintiff's documentary trail was incomplete: no transfer from vendor, no proof of payment of purchase price or transfer costs, no copy of the alleged search, and unexplained anomalies such as receipts dated before the sale agreement. Interlocutory judgment against the 2nd and 3rd Defendants did not dispense with the Plaintiff's burden of proof, and fraud allegations required a higher standard of proof.
Legal principles established
#- A claimant must discharge the burden of proof even where the evidence is uncontroverted
- Allegations of fraud must be strictly pleaded and proved on a higher standard than balance of probabilities
- Where disputed property has no title, the court examines whether documentary evidence establishes an unbroken chain leading to the root of title
- Once land is allotted and the allottee meets the conditions, it is not available for allotment to another unless the first allocation is validly cancelled
- In competing titles or letters of allotment, the burden lies on the plaintiff to demonstrate the root of her title
Court orders
#- 1.The suit is dismissed with costs to the 1st Defendant only
- Jurisdiction invoked
- Original civil jurisdiction over ownership of Plot Number A2-716 Kayole (specific statutory basis not stated in the judgment)
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Gikama v County Government of Nairobi & 2 others (Environment and Land Case 1262 of 2013) [2025] KEELC 8448 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2025/8448/eng@2025-12-04
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.