Kaliuntu v Lemasaria (Environment and Land Appeal E024 of 2024) [2025] KEELC 7431 (KLR)
The bottom line
#Kenya's Environment and Land Court ruled you cannot sell land using only an allotment letter — actual possession and complete documentation won the plot.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Key legal issues
#Whether the respondent proved title to the suit property on the basis of an allotment letter and sale agreement
The respondent did not prove entitlement; an allotment letter is a mere offer incapable of passing title, and a letter of allotment can neither be sold nor purchased
The respondent relied on a sale agreement dated 19.3.2018 over the suit property from George Kobia Nguthari, whose only documentation was an allotment letter dated 12.1.1999 and a PDP. The court found a chronological anomaly: the council's no-objection letter of 12.5.2004 post-dated the alleged allotment letter of 1999, casting doubt on authenticity. Citing the Supreme Court in Torino Investment, the court held an allotment letter confers no transferable title, and no evidence showed the allottee complied with allotment terms or obtained title before the sale.
Whether the appellant proved her counterclaim to Plot No Block/Mwangaza/1276
The appellant proved her entitlement through uncontroverted allocation documents, payment for cadastral survey, a beacon certificate dated 12.10.2017 and possession of the property
The appellant produced the application for allotment, minutes of the works, town planning and marketing committee of 6.5.1997, an allotment letter dated 5.1.1998 for surveyed residential plot 1276-Isiolo and a PDP, none of which were challenged or impeached. She paid for the cadastral survey resulting in a beacon certificate, and photographs tendered by the respondent himself corroborated her possession. Invoking the doctrine of seisin, the court found her established rights over the disputed property.
The jurisdiction of a first appellate court
A first appellate court must subject the evidence to fresh, exhaustive scrutiny and may reach its own conclusions, but defers to trial findings absent perversity, no evidence, misapprehension or error of principle
The court restated the settled remit under section 78 of the Civil Procedure Act as articulated in Kenya Urban Roads Authority v Belgo Holdings and Peters v Sunday Post: re-evaluate the whole evidence, allow for the trial court's advantage of seeing and hearing witnesses, and interfere only where findings are unsupported by evidence or founded on misapprehension of the law.
Legal principles established
#- A letter of allotment is incapable of conferring interest in land, being nothing more than an offer awaiting fulfilment of conditions, and cannot be transferred to pass valid title
- Possession is a root of title; the party in possession has a better right against one who can show no better title (doctrine of seisin)
- A first appellate court must re-evaluate the evidence afresh but may only depart from trial court findings where they are based on no evidence, misapprehension, perversity or error of principle
Court orders
#- 1.The Appeal is hereby allowed
- 2.The Judgment of the Learned Chief Magistrate dated 22.10.2024 is hereby set aside
- 3.In lieu thereof, the respondent's suit vide amended Plaint dated 31.8.2020 is hereby dismissed
- 4.Costs of the Appeal awarded to the appellant
- 5.Judgment entered in favor of the appellant; a permanent injunction restraining the respondent, his agents, servants and/or anyone acting under his instruction from entering upon, trespassing onto, interfering with or in any other manner dealing with plot number block/Mwangaza/1276
- 6.Costs of the counterclaim awarded to the Appellant
- On appeal from
- Chief Magistrate's Court at Isiolo
- Not stated
- Jurisdiction invoked
- First appellate jurisdiction over the subordinate court's judgment (appeal on facts and law from the chief magistrate's decision)
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Kaliuntu v Lemasaria (Environment and Land Appeal E024 of 2024) [2025] KEELC 7431 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in the judgment as reproduced. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2025/7431/eng@2025-10-30
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.