Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNot stated in the judgment· [2025] KEELC 7388 (KLR)

Ominde v Lubonga & 2 others (Environment and Land Case E011 of 2025) [2025] KEELC 7388 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
30 October 2025
2,851 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~11 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

The Environment and Land Court in Bungoma refused to stop a bank auction because the buyer could not prove a legally recognised interest in the charged land.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Applicant moved the Environment and Land Court at Bungoma by Notice of Motion dated 26th April 2025 seeking a temporary injunction to restrain the 1st, 2nd and 3rd Respondents from executing a notification of sale over land parcel Bungoma/Kamakoiwa/4338 and from transferring, selling, alienating or subdividing it pending hearing of the suit. He alleged he purchased 0.11 acres from the 1st Defendant for Kshs. 128,000 in 2016 and 2021, had been in quiet possession and had extensively developed the land, and that the 1st Defendant later charged the property to the 2nd Defendant without his consent. The 1st Defendant admitted the sale but said the land sold differed from the charged property and that the loan was being serviced. The 2nd and 3rd Defendants asserted due diligence, registration of a charge securing a Kshs. 800,000 loan, statutory notices under sections 90 and 96 of the Land Act, arrears of Kshs. 890,447.74, and compliance with the statutory power of sale. Applying the Giella tripartite test, E.C. Cherono, ELC Judge, held the Applicant had no prima facie case: the sale agreement lacked particulars of the suit property, the 1st Defendant acquired title only on 8th November 2018, and the Applicant produced no title, search, caution or restriction, sections 24 and 25 of the Land Registration Act conferring indefeasible rights on the registered proprietor. Irreparable harm was not shown since no valuation or receipts substantiated the alleged improvements, and the balance of convenience favoured the chargee. The application was dismissed with costs to the Defendants/Respondents.

Key legal issues

#
01

Prima facie case with probability of success

Holding

Not established - the sale agreement did not identify the suit property and the Applicant held no registrable interest; the 1st Defendant only acquired title on 8th November 2018 and could not validly have sold in 2016, but the Applicant produced no title, search, caution or restriction

Reasoning

The court examined the sale agreement and found it lacked particulars of the land sold. It further noted the 1st Defendant obtained title only in November 2018, postdating the alleged 2016 sale, yet the Applicant produced no title document, official search, caution or restriction evidencing a legally recognisable interest. Sections 24 and 25 of the Land Registration Act confer indefeasible rights on the registered proprietor.

p. 6
02

Irreparable harm not compensable by damages

Holding

Not established - the Applicant produced no valuation report or receipts for alleged improvements, while the chargee produced a professional valuation enabling compensation

Reasoning

The Applicant alleged extensive developments but offered no valuation report or receipts. The 2nd and 3rd Defendants produced a Hillscape Valuers Limited report valuing the property at Kshs. 650,000, which would guide compensation if the Applicant later proved an interest. Damages were therefore an adequate remedy.

p. 6
03

Balance of convenience

Holding

Tilts against the injunction - the 1st Defendant voluntarily charged the property, the loan arrears of Kshs. 890,447.74 were uncontroverted, and the Applicant failed to show a prima facie case

Reasoning

The 2nd Defendant demonstrated on oath that the 1st Defendant willingly offered the property as security and defaulted, leaving arrears of Kshs. 890,447.74 as at 20th March 2025. These averments were not controverted. Since the Applicant had not shown a prima facie case, the balance of convenience favoured the secured creditor's statutory power of sale.

p. 6

Legal principles established

#
  • A purchaser's unregistered contractual claims cannot override the rights of a registered chargee under an indefeasible registered charge
  • Sections 24 and 25 of the Land Registration Act vest absolute and indefeasible ownership in the registered proprietor, subject only to rights noted in the register
  • A sale agreement lacking particulars of the land is incapable of creating or conferring any proprietary or equitable interest in the property

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The Notice of Motion application dated 26th April 2025 is dismissed
  2. 2.Costs of the application awarded to the Defendants/Respondents
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court over land in Bungoma County; no specific constitutional/statutory provision invoked for jurisdiction

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Ominde v Lubonga & 2 others (Environment and Land Case E011 of 2025) [2025] KEELC 7388 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2025/7388/eng@2025-10-30

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.