Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment (Plaint dated 15/04/2021)

Ngacha v Karanja & 3 others (Environment and Land Case E045 of 2021) [2025] KEELC 7372 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
29 October 2025
4,667 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~19 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court cancelled a land title obtained fraudulently, ruling that even innocent buyers lose protection when a title's root is defective.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Plaintiff, a holder of Share Certificate No. 0028 transferred by Lucy Mwihaki Gachomba and a member of Gatundu Nyakinyua Company Ltd, sued claiming ownership of Gatuanyaga/Ngoliba Block 1/2262, alleging the 1st Defendant fraudulently procured registration and title using forged documents. The 1st Defendant asserted she was allotted the land in 1991 and obtained title in 1992 under the name Wambui Karanja, later changed to Grace Wambui Karanja, and sold the land to the 2nd Defendant in 2011. The 2nd Defendant admitted charging the property but denied wrongdoing; the 4th and 5th Defendants (Land Registrar) claimed due diligence but called no witness.

Questions the Court framed

#

The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.

  1. 1.Whether the Plaintiff proved ownership of the suit property Gatuanyaga/Ngoliba Block 1/2262
  2. 2.Whether the 1st Defendant's title was obtained by fraud or misrepresentation or illegally, unprocedurally or through a corrupt scheme within Section 26 of the Land Registration Act
  3. 3.Whether the Plaintiff is entitled to the reliefs sought, including cancellation of title and damages for loss of use

Key legal issues

#
01

Impeachability of registered title under Section 26(1)(b) of the Land Registration Act

Holding

The 1st Defendant's title was acquired illegally, unprocedurally or through a corrupt scheme and was liable to cancellation notwithstanding that the 2nd Defendant (chargee) may have been an innocent party

Reasoning

The court held that Section 26(1)(b) removes protection even from innocent title holders where the title's root is defective. The 1st Defendant produced no ballot paper, receipts or Clearance Certificate, and the name change on the title was effected without a Deed Poll or Gazette Notice, indicating a fraudulent scheme; hence the root of title was rotten and no good title could pass to subsequent parties.

p. 8
02

Requirement of Deed Poll and Gazette Notice for change of name on a title

Holding

The change of the 1st Defendant's name on the title from Wambui Karanja to Grace Wambui Karanja was irregular as neither a Deed Poll nor a Gazette Notice was produced

Reasoning

The court found that a Land Registrar cannot change a name on a title without a registered Deed Poll and Gazettement. The 1st Defendant produced neither, and the Registrar did not appear to explain how the change was effected suo motu. This irregularity supported the finding of fraud or misrepresentation in the acquisition of title.

p. 7
03

Proof of ownership by the Plaintiff

Holding

The Plaintiff proved on a balance of probabilities that she, through the chain from Gatundu Nyakinyua Company allocations, was entitled to be registered as proprietor

Reasoning

The Plaintiff produced her sale agreement, Share Certificate, receipts, ballot, Clearance Certificate and Land Control Board consent, corroborated by PW3, a Director of the Company, who confirmed from Company records the chain of ownership ending with the Plaintiff. The 1st Defendant, by contrast, failed to produce the foundational documents of her alleged allocation.

04

Liability of the Land Registrar (4th and 5th Defendants)

Holding

The 4th and 5th Defendants escaped liability for want of direct evidence of participation in the fraud, despite the court's criticism of their lack of vigilance

Reasoning

The court observed it was difficult to envision how the irregularities would have occurred had the 4th and 5th Defendants been vigilant, but since no evidence was led directly linking them to the fraudulent scheme, they were not held liable. Their witness also failed to testify, rendering their statements of no probative value.

Legal principles established

#
  • A certificate of title is prima facie evidence of absolute and indefeasible ownership but may be challenged on fraud or misrepresentation, or where acquired illegally, unprocedurally or through a corrupt scheme
  • Under Section 26(1)(b) of the Land Registration Act, a title need not be held by a party to the vitiating conduct to be impeachable; even an innocent purchaser's title falls if the root is illegal or unprocedural
  • A change of name on a title deed requires a registered Deed Poll and Gazette Notice; a Land Registrar cannot effect such a change otherwise

Court orders

#
  1. 1.A Declaration that the suit property belongs to the Plaintiff
  2. 2.An order for cancellation of the existing Title GATUANYAGA NGOLIBA BLOCK 1/2262 and issuance of a new Title Deed in favour of the Plaintiff
  3. 3.A mandatory order compelling the 2nd and/or 3rd Defendant to surrender the Title Deed to the 4th Defendant for cancellation
  4. 4.An order compelling the 2nd and 3rd Defendants to register a discharge of charge against the suit property
  5. 5.KES 1 million awarded to the Plaintiff as damages for loss of use of the suit property
  6. 6.Costs of the case together with interest awarded to the Plaintiff from the date of Judgment

The bench

#

One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.

majority

Wrote the judgment

Jurisdiction invoked
Original jurisdiction under Article 162(2)(b) of the Constitution and the Environment and Land Court Act over land ownership and title disputes

Relief refused

#

Relief against the 4th and 5th Defendants for fraud

No direct evidence linked them to the fraudulent scheme

p. 8

Costs

Costs of this case together with interest awarded to the Plaintiff from the date of this Judgment

Quotable passages

#

Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.

The heavy import of Section 26 (1) (b) is to remove protection from an innocent purchaser or innocent title holder. It means that the title of an innocent person is impeachable so long as that title was obtained illegally, unprocedurally or through a corrupt scheme.
p. 8Impeachability of innocent purchaser's title under Section 26(1)(b)
If the root is rotten then the trunk of the tree and branches is equally affected. In this case the 1st Defendant had no good title to pass on.
p. 7Defective root of title vitiates subsequent transactions
A Registrar of Land in Kenya cannot change a name on a title deed without a Deed Poll and Gazettement; these are legal requirements to make the change official.
p. 6Legal requirements for change of name on title
A Declaration is hereby issued that the suit property belongs to the Plaintiff.
p. 8Final orders - declaration of ownership
The Plaintiff is awarded Kesh 1 million for damages for loss of use of the suit property.
Final orders - damages for loss of use

Issues in the judgment

#
minor

Number of Defendants is inconsistent - reliefs and pleadings refer to five Defendants but the coram lists only the 3rd and 4th Defendants as absent and the joint defence is described as by the '4th and 5th Defendants' while the mandatory order compels 'the 2nd Defendant and/or the 3rd Defendant'

minor

Plaintiff's evidence refers to buying from 'Lucy Mwihaki Gachomba' while PW2 refers to 'Lucy Mwihaki' and the judgment elsewhere mentions 'Margaret Wanjiku Ngacha' as the current registered owner per Company records, creating naming inconsistencies

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Ngacha v Karanja & 3 others (Environment and Land Case E045 of 2021) [2025] KEELC 7372 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in the judgment (Plaint dated 15/04/2021). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2025/7372/eng@2025-10-29

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.