Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment (plaint dated 14.06.2018, filed at Mombasa)· [2025] KEELC 7222 (KLR)

Prime Bank Limited v DJ Lowe & Company Limited & another (Environment and Land Case 142 of 2018) [2025] KEELC 7222 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
23 October 2025
3,077 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~12 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Mombasa court confirmed an auction buyer's land title, but refused money claims because neither side proved their damages properly.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiff, Guardforce Security [K] Ltd, sued D. J. Lowe & Co. Ltd (1st defendant) and the Attorney General (2nd defendant) seeking vacant possession, a declaration of trespass, eviction and mesne profits over sub-division No. 1280 Section I Mainland North, Nyali, Mombasa, which it bought at a public auction on 03.03.2011 in exercise of a chargee's statutory power of sale. The 1st defendant, the former chargor, denied the claim and by an amended defence and counter-claim alleged the auction was a nullity because the chargee (Bank Indosuez/Credit Agricole) had ceased operations in Kenya without its liabilities being taken over, and pleaded fraud, claiming a declaration of ownership, expungement of the plaintiff's registration, Kshs.100,000,000/= compensation and exemplary damages. The court framed five issues under Order 15 Rule 2. It found the plaintiff to be the registered owner on the strength of the extract of title and certificate of search, noting the 1st defendant's repeated unsuccessful challenges to the auction. The counter-claim failed on three grounds: fraud must be strictly proved and was not; the chargee was an indispensable party whose absence prevented conclusive determination of the auction's validity; and grievances flowing from the charge and statutory power of sale belong in the High Court, per Co-operative Bank v Kang'ethe. Prayers (a), (b) and (c) of the plaint were conceded spent after the court-ordered eviction of 2018; mesne profits were refused for want of evidence of rental income. Judgment was entered for the plaintiff on costs of the suit and counter-claim only, with no costs to the non-participating Attorney General.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the plaintiff proved its registered title to the suit property

Holding

The plaintiff proved its claim as the current registered owner on a balance of probabilities, based on the extract of title and certificate of search; the 1st defendant never succeeded in impeaching the auction sale and transfer

Reasoning

The plaintiff purchased the suit property at a public auction in 2011 and, when the registrar hesitated, obtained a court order compelling registration in Mombasa ELC JR No.29 of 2016. The 1st defendant had litigated the auction repeatedly and failed; one suit was struck out as an abuse of process by Justice M. K. Ibrahim in 2011. On the documentary title evidence the court was satisfied ownership vested in the plaintiff, subject to the fraud counter-claim.

p. 4
02

Whether the 1st defendant's counter-claim alleging fraud and nullity of the auction was proved

Holding

The counter-claim failed: fraud was not strictly proved, the chargee was not joined, and the ELC lacked the appropriate forum for grievances arising from the charge and statutory power of sale

Reasoning

Allegations of fraud require strict proof. The validity of the auction could not be resolved without joining Credit Agricole, the chargee, whose ceased operations in Kenya did not excuse non-joinder. Further, the grievances about statutory notices and compliance with the Auctioneers Act flowed directly from the charge, making the High Court the proper forum. Prior unsuccessful litigation in the High Court did not confer jurisdiction on the ELC as a next stage.

p. 5
03

Whether the plaintiff was entitled to mesne profits

Holding

Mesne profits were refused for want of proof; only costs were awarded

Reasoning

The plaintiff conceded prayers (a), (b) and (c) were spent after gaining possession under an eviction order of 23.07.2018. On mesne profits, the valuation report from Phina Valuers merely addressed the property's 'current condition' and did not assess rental income, and the plaintiff suggested no figure in submissions. The court declined to award an arbitrary amount, holding the plaintiff failed its duty to substantiate the claim.

p. 6

Legal principles established

#
  • Allegations of fraud in civil proceedings must be particularly pleaded and strictly proved to a standard higher than a balance of probabilities but below the criminal standard, and all necessary parties must be joined
  • The validity of an exercise of a chargee's statutory power of sale cannot be conclusively determined in the absence of the chargee, who is entitled to a hearing on the issue
  • Disputes flowing directly from a charge and the exercise of a statutory power of sale fall within the jurisdiction of the High Court, not the ELC
  • Costs follow the event under Section 27 of the Civil Procedure Act unless the court, for good reason, directs otherwise

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Judgment entered for the plaintiff against the defendant for costs of the suit only, since prayers (a), (b) and (c) of the plaint are spent and prayer (d) was not proved
  2. 2.The 1st defendant's counter-claim is dismissed in its entirety with costs to the plaintiff
  3. 3.The 2nd defendant by counter-claim (Attorney General) shall not be awarded costs since he did not file a defence to the action

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Civil Procedure RulesOrder 15 Rule 2
  • Civil Procedure ActSection 27 (proviso)
  • Auctioneers ActNot specified
  • Auctioneers RulesNot specified

Cases cited (2)

  • Co-operative Bank of Kenya Ltd v Patrick Njuguna Kang'ethe & 5 Others
    [2017] eKLR
  • Hussein Janmohamed & Sons v Twentsche Overseas Trading Co. Ltd
    [1967] EA 287
Jurisdiction invoked
Original jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court under Article 162(2)(b) of the Constitution and the Environment and Land Court Act over disputes relating to land (not expressly cited in the judgment; court framed issues under Order 15 Rule 2 of the Civil Procedure Rules)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Prime Bank Limited v DJ Lowe & Company Limited & another (Environment and Land Case 142 of 2018) [2025] KEELC 7222 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in the judgment (plaint dated 14.06.2018, filed at Mombasa). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2025/7222/eng@2025-10-23

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.