Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedThika ELC Suit (not stated in judgment; plaint dated 21/11/2019)

Mac Dee Fast Food Limited & 2 others v Inspector General of Police & 8 others (Environment and Land Case 174 of 2019) [2025] KEELC 6117 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
15 September 2025
4,237 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~17 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiffs, an incorporated fast-food company and its two directors, sued claiming to be registered proprietors of Thika Municipality Block 2/832, alleging that the Officer Commanding Thika Makongeni Police Station uprooted their boundary beacons and blocked development on the ground that the land belonged to the Kenya Police. They sought a declaration of ownership, a permanent injunction, regularization of documents, and alternatively compensation at market value, plus costs. The defence, led by two members of a community policing lobby, contended that the parcel formed part of 10¾ acres reserved for Makongeni Police Station. The National Land Commission and the National Police Service tendered no pleadings or evidence; the court had, on its own motion under Order 1 Rule 10(2), joined the Director of Land Administration and the Director General of Physical and Land Use Planning, who likewise filed no pleadings or oral evidence. The court traced an uncontroverted chain of title from the 1995 allotment to Zipporah Wambui, through registration of Vikta Maina Ngunjiri in 1998, to transfer to the 1st plaintiff in 2015. Holding that no counterclaim or impeaching evidence under Section 26 of the Land Registration Act was presented, the court found the title valid and the land not proved to be public land. The uprooting of beacons by the 6th defendant was proved unrebutted. The suit succeeded only for the 1st plaintiff: declaration and permanent injunction issued; the 2nd and 3rd plaintiffs' claims were dismissed for want of cause of action; regularization and alternative compensation were refused. Each party was to bear its own costs.

Questions the Court framed

#

The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.

  1. 1.Whether registration of the 1st plaintiff as proprietor of land parcel number Thika Municipality Block 2/832 was improper
  2. 2.Whether the said land is public land reserved for Thika Makongeni Police Station
  3. 3.Whether the 6th defendant uprooted beacons relating to the suit land
  4. 4.Whether the plaintiffs are entitled to the reliefs sought in the plaint
  5. 5.Who should bear costs of the suit

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the 1st plaintiff's registration as proprietor was improper and whether the suit land is public land reserved for the police station

Holding

Both issues answered against the defendants; no counter-pleadings or impeaching evidence were presented, so the registered title stands and the land is not shown to be public land

Reasoning

The title chain traced from the 1995 allotment to Zipporah Wambui through registration of Vikta Maina Ngunjiri in 1998 to transfer to the 1st plaintiff in 2015 was uncontroverted. None of the defendants filed a counterclaim to impeach the title or joined the previous proprietor. The National Police Service, the National Land Commission and the joined government directors tendered no evidence that the land was reserved for the police station. The defence evidence came only from two community policing lobby members who did not know the parcel number or registered proprietor.

p. 8
02

Whether the 6th defendant uprooted the beacons

Holding

Proved on the evidence of PW1 and PW2, which the 6th defendant did not rebut

Reasoning

Both plaintiffs' witnesses testified that the 6th defendant uprooted the boundary beacons and ignored the National Land Commission's letter dated 11/6/2018 directing reinstatement. The 6th defendant elected not to tender any evidence on the allegation. On the burden of proof under Sections 107 and 109 of the Evidence Act, the court was satisfied the 1st plaintiff proved trespass against the 6th defendant.

p. 8
03

Entitlement to reliefs

Holding

Only the 1st plaintiff had a cause of action; it was granted declaration and permanent injunction, but the regularization and alternative compensation reliefs were refused

Reasoning

The court observed the 1st plaintiff is a separate legal entity and sole registered proprietor; the 2nd and 3rd plaintiffs had no registrable interest and their claims were untenable. Absent impeaching pleadings and evidence, Article 40 of the Constitution and Section 24 of the Land Registration Act enjoined the court to protect the rights conferred by registration. The regularization plea was unsupported and the alternative relief fell away with the grant of the primary relief.

p. 9

Legal principles established

#
  • It is the duty of the party challenging a registered title to present impeaching pleadings and evidence under Section 26 of the Land Registration Act
  • A certificate of title is prima facie evidence of absolute and indefeasible ownership, challengeable only on fraud, misrepresentation, or illegal, unprocedural or corrupt acquisition

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The claim by the 2nd and 3rd plaintiffs is rejected and dismissed for lack of cause of action
  2. 2.A declaration that land parcel number Thika Municipality Block 2/832 measuring 0.3373 hectares, located in Thika Makongeni Area, belongs to the 1st plaintiff
  3. 3.A permanent injunction restraining the 1st, 6th and 7th defendants and their juniors against trespassing on, damaging, wasting, erecting structures on or interfering with land parcel number Thika Municipality Block 2/832
  4. 4.Parties shall bear their respective costs of the suit

The bench

#

One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.

majority

Wrote the judgment

Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court under Article 162(2)(b) of the Constitution (suit concerning title to land; not expressly cited in the judgment text)

Relief refused

#

Order compelling the 9th defendant to regularize the plaintiffs' documents

Nothing was said or urged in support of the plea; relief not available in the circumstances

p. 9

Alternative relief of compensation by the Government at current market value

The primary relief having been granted, the alternative relief is unavailable

p. 9

Claim by the 2nd and 3rd plaintiffs

No evidence they were co-registered proprietors; no cause of action

Costs

Parties shall bear their respective costs of the suit.

Quotable passages

#

Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.

Judgment is entered in favour of the 1st plaintiff against the 1st, 6th and 7th defendants
p. 9final orders
A declaration is hereby made that land parcel number Thika Municipality Block 2/832 measuring 0.3373 hectares or thereabouts, located in Thika Makongeni Area, belongs to the 1st plaintiff.
p. 9final orders - declaration of ownership
A permanent injunction is hereby issued restraining the 1st, 6th and 7th defendants and their juniors against trespassing on, damaging, wasting, erecting structures on or interfering with land parcel number Thika Municipality Block 2/832
p. 9final orders - permanent injunction
Parties shall bear their respective costs of the suit.
p. 9costs
The defendants neither presented impeachment pleadings nor tendered proper impeaching evidence against the title held by the 1st plaintiff.
p. 8indefeasibility of registered title
The claim by the 2nd and 3rd plaintiffs is rejected and dismissed for lack of cause of action.
standing of non-registered co-plaintiffs

Issues in the judgment

#
minor

Parcel size stated inconsistently within the judgment

minor

Date of consent admitting supplementary documents stated inconsistently (17/2/2025 vs 17/2/2020) and the supplementary bundle dated 4/9/2023 is later referred to as dated 4/9/2025

minor

Amended plaint pleads trespass on 'Thika Municipality Block 3/832' in submissions while the suit parcel is Block 2/832

minor

The OCS is described as the 6th defendant but the judgment nowhere sets out the full list of defendants mapping numbers to parties, and the defence was never amended after joinder of the 8th and 9th defendants

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Mac Dee Fast Food Limited & 2 others v Inspector General of Police & 8 others (Environment and Land Case 174 of 2019) [2025] KEELC 6117 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Thika ELC Suit (not stated in judgment; plaint dated 21/11/2019). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2025/6117/eng@2025-09-15

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.