Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNot stated in the judgment (notice of motion dated 04.04.2025)· [2025] KEELC 5790 (KLR)

Mumbi v Mureithi & another (Environment and Land Case E040 of 2025) [2025] KEELC 5790 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
31 July 2025
2,074 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~8 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court refused to stop a bank from selling property a buyer claimed to have purchased, because she never completed the sale or registered a caution on the title.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiff moved the court by notice of motion dated 04.04.2025 seeking an interim injunction to restrain the defendants from selling, disposing of or interfering with Plot No. 2 MN/IV/927 pending trial. She alleged she purchased Unit No. 2 from the 1st defendant in 2014 for valuable consideration, later discovered the entire property had been secretly charged to the 2nd defendant (a bank) to secure Kshs. 38,400,000/-, and that a newspaper advertisement announced disposal of the units. The bank opposed, contending the ELC lacked jurisdiction over what it termed a commercial dispute, that the plaintiff, not being party to the charge, could not challenge the statutory power of sale, that it conducted due diligence, and that the sale agreement referenced parcel 934, not the charged parcel 927. The 1st defendant filed no response. Framing three issues, the court accepted the Co-operative Bank of Kenya Ltd v Patrick Kang'ethe distinction between land and commercial disputes but distinguished it, holding the plaintiff's claim was one for title to land within Section 13 of the ELC Act and Article 162(2)(b). On the injunction principles in Giella v Cassman Brown, the court found no prima facie case: the sale agreement's completion period expired without completion or transfer, no caution was ever registered, and the parcel number was uncertain. Irreparable injury was also not shown, damages being adequate. The application was dismissed with costs to the bank, and the suit transferred to ELC Malindi for trial, to be mentioned on 09.10.2025.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the ELC has jurisdiction over a purchaser's claim to a unit on land charged to a bank

Holding

The court has jurisdiction; the Co-operative Bank case is distinguishable because the claim is one for title to land, not a chargor/chargee dispute

Reasoning

The bank invoked the Court of Appeal's commercial-vs-land distinction. The court accepted that ratio but held it inapplicable: this is not a dispute between chargor and chargee over accounts or statutory power of sale; both are defendants, and the plaintiff claims title to Unit No. 2 purchased before the charge, a claim falling under Section 13 of the ELC Act and Article 162(2)(b).

p. 3
02

Whether the plaintiff established a prima facie case with probability of success

Holding

No - the sale was uncompleted, no transfer registered, no caution lodged, and the parcel number in the agreement was uncertain

Reasoning

The agreement provided a one-month completion period which was never completed or extended; possession date was unproved; the agreement referred to parcel 934 while the plaintiff claimed parcel 927; and no caution or restriction was ever registered. The court could not find a prima facie case with a probability of success.

p. 4
03

Whether the plaintiff demonstrated irreparable injury not compensable by damages

Holding

No - the purchase price of about Kshs. 1,200,000/- was quantifiable and compensable in damages

Reasoning

The plaintiff neither alleged nor demonstrated irreparable loss, nor that any injury could not be compensated by damages. Given the 2014 purchase price of Kshs. 1,200,000/-, monetary compensation with interest was possible. The third principle (balance of convenience) need not be considered given failure of the first two.

p. 4

Legal principles established

#
  • The ELC's jurisdiction is confined to disputes relating to use, occupation and title to land and does not extend to chargor/chargee disputes over creation of charges or exercise of statutory power of sale, but a purchaser's claim to title to a unit on charged land falls within ELC jurisdiction.
  • A purchaser who has neither completed a sale nor registered a caution cannot claim a prima facie case against a third-party chargee dealing with the registered owner.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The plaintiff's notice of motion dated 04.04.2025 is dismissed with costs to the 2nd defendant.
  2. 2.The suit is transferred to the ELC at Malindi for trial and disposal, the suit property being within Kilifi County.
  3. 3.The suit shall be mentioned before the presiding Judge at Malindi on 09.10.2025 for further orders.

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Environment and Land Court ActSections 13 & 19
  • Civil Procedure RulesOrder 40 Rules 1, 2 & 4
  • Civil Procedure Act (Cap 21)Sections 1A, 1B, 3A and 27
  • Constitution of KenyaArticle 162(2)(b)

Cases cited (3)

  • Giella vs Cassman Brown & Co Ltd
    [1973] EA 358
  • Cooperative Bank of Kenya Ltd vs Patrick Kang’ethe & 5 Others
    [2017] eKLR
  • Hussein Janmohamed & Sons –vs- Twentsche Overseas Trading Co. Ltd
    [1967] EA 287
Jurisdiction invoked
Article 162(2)(b) of the Constitution and Section 13 of the Environment and Land Court Act

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Mumbi v Mureithi & another (Environment and Land Case E040 of 2025) [2025] KEELC 5790 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in the judgment (notice of motion dated 04.04.2025). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2025/5790/eng@2025-07-31

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.