Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNot stated in the judgment· [2025] KEELC 5743 (KLR)

Gathuna v Njenga & 3 others (Environment and Land Case E047 of 2020) [2025] KEELC 5743 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
24 July 2025
5,489 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~22 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court dismissed a family's land claim because one administrator sued alone and fraud was never properly proven against the titleholders.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Plaintiff, describing herself as the 1st administrator of the estate of the late Simon Gathuna alias Gathuna Wakaboi/Kabui (deceased 2002), sued for cancellation of title, injunction, eviction, declaration of ownership and damages over parcel Dagoretti/Ruthimitu/T.119, alleging the 1st and 2nd Defendants fraudulently procured registration in 2005 from vendors while the property was subject to succession proceedings, in collusion with the Land Registrar, and that Nairobi City County failed to enforce development controls. The 1st and 2nd Defendants asserted they were bona fide purchasers for value from the then registered owners, Prof. Teresiah Nungari Kiama and Prof. Stephen Kiama Gitahi, with indefeasible title, and counterclaimed for a declaration of ownership and permanent injunction. The court framed six issues. It first held that the Plaintiff, suing alone when the confirmed grant appointed co-administrators, lacked locus standi, a defect sufficient on its own to strike out the suit, but proceeded to the merits. On the evidence, including the green card, Land Control Board consents, stamped transfers and the Land Registrar's testimony, the court found the Defendants lawfully acquired the property and hold absolute and indefeasible title under section 26(1) of the Land Registration Act. The Plaintiff's fraud allegations were unsubstantiated, unsupported by expert or forensic evidence, and failed the heightened standard of proof. The Defendants were bona fide purchasers for value without notice; rating records cannot override the green card. The Plaintiff's suit was dismissed and judgment entered on the counterclaim: a declaration of the Defendants' absolute and indefeasible ownership, a permanent injunction against the Plaintiff, and costs of both suit and counterclaim to the 1st and 2nd Defendants with interest at court rates.

Key legal issues

#
01

Locus standi of a sole administrator where co-administrators exist

Holding

The Plaintiff lacked locus standi to sue alone; joint administrators must sue jointly

Reasoning

Section 79 of the Law of Succession Act vests estate property in personal representatives, but where there are several administrators they must act jointly. The confirmed grant appointed the Plaintiff alongside co-administrators; PW2 confirmed she did not authorize the proceedings, and no renunciation or consent existed. The defect alone would suffice to strike out the suit.

p. 7
02

Validity and indefeasibility of the Defendants' title under section 26(1) of the Land Registration Act

Holding

The Defendants lawfully and validly acquired the suit property and hold absolute and indefeasible ownership

Reasoning

The Defendants produced the full chain of ownership from the green card, Land Control Board consents, stamped transfer instruments and proof of payment. The Land Registrar confirmed each transfer was procedurally proper. The Plaintiff produced no evidence displacing the statutory presumption of indefeasibility.

p. 8
03

Burden and standard of proof for impeaching a title on grounds of fraud

Holding

The Plaintiff failed to discharge the burden; fraud must be distinctly pleaded and proved to a standard higher than mere balance of probabilities

Reasoning

Under sections 107-109 of the Evidence Act, the party alleging fraud must prove it. The Plaintiff alleged forgery but called no handwriting expert and produced no forensic evidence. Her allegations were directed at predecessors in title, and the heightened standard was not met.

p. 9
04

Bona fide purchaser status of the 1st and 2nd Defendants

Holding

The Defendants proved they were bona fide purchasers for value without notice, displaceable by no evidence from the Plaintiff

Reasoning

The Defendants purchased in 2005 from the then registered owners for valuable consideration, conducted due diligence, and had no actual or constructive notice of any adverse claim. The Katende definition was satisfied and the Plaintiff did not displace the presumption.

p. 9

Legal principles established

#
  • Joint administrators form a single legal unit and must institute suits for the estate jointly; proceedings commenced by one alone are fatally defective
  • A certificate of title is prima facie evidence of absolute and indefeasible ownership, challengeable only on fraud or misrepresentation to which the proprietor is a party, or where acquired illegally, unprocedurally or through a corrupt scheme
  • Fraud must be specifically pleaded and distinctly proved; it cannot be left to inference
  • County rating records do not constitute conclusive proof of ownership and cannot override green card entries

Court orders

#
  1. 1.A declaration that the 1st and 2nd Defendants are the absolute and indefeasible proprietors of Title No. Dagoretti/Ruthimitu/T.119
  2. 2.A permanent injunction restraining the Plaintiff, her servants or agents, from entering upon, trespassing or interfering with the Defendants' quiet possession and enjoyment of the said property
  3. 3.The Plaintiff to bear the costs of the suit and the counterclaim, with interest at court rates from the date of judgment until payment in full
Jurisdiction invoked
Original jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court over land disputes; no specific constitutional provision cited

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Gathuna v Njenga & 3 others (Environment and Land Case E047 of 2020) [2025] KEELC 5743 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2025/5743/eng@2025-07-24

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.