Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment extract (ELC Mombasa)· [2025] KEELC 5463 (KLR)

Al-Guthmy & 8 others v Said Bin Seif Properties (2016) Limited & 4 others; Said Bin Seif Properties (2016) Limited & 2 others (Plaintiffs to the Counterclaim); Karama (Defendant to the Counterclaim) (Environment and Land Case 236 of 2020) [2025] KEELC 5463 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
23 July 2025
2,346 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~9 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This Environment and Land Court judgment at Mombasa, delivered virtually on 23rd July 2025 by S. M. Kibunja J, resolves a land dispute over Mombasa/Block XLV/54 and portion 318 following a counterclaim by the 1st to 3rd defendants (styled plaintiffs in the counterclaim) against the 9th plaintiff in the main suit. The main suit by nine plaintiffs sought, inter alia, a permanent injunction against rent increases, declarations that the transfer of the suit property was illegal and unconstitutional, cancellation of title, and registration of the plaintiffs as owners of their respective portions. The 1st to 8th plaintiffs settled by a consent adopted on 13th June 2022, leaving the 9th plaintiff's claim and the counterclaim for exclusive possession, an injunction, demolition of structures, mesne profits, costs, and interest. At formal proof, PW1 Saif Said Al-Busaidy produced title deeds showing registration of the parcels in the names of the 1st and 2nd plaintiffs and proved termination of the defendant's oral lease by notice dated 31st December 2020. The defendant filed no defence or submissions and tendered no evidence. The court applied Section 26 of the Land Registration Act on indefeasibility of title and sections 107 to 109 of the Evidence Act on burden of proof, holding that the defendant's unproved averments could not challenge the titles. The 9th plaintiff's main suit claim was dismissed with costs; judgment was entered for the plaintiffs on the counterclaim with declarations of exclusive possession and trespass, an injunction, an order to demolish structures within ninety days, mesne profits of Kshs.1,000,000, costs, and interest at court rates.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the plaintiffs are registered proprietors of the suit properties

Holding

Yes; title deeds produced through PW1 show Mombasa/Block XLV/54 and 318 registered in the names of the 1st and 2nd plaintiffs, and the claim of ownership is unchallenged.

Reasoning

The court relied on copies of title deeds produced as exhibits and on Section 26 of the Land Registration Act, which makes a certificate of title prima facie evidence of absolute and indefeasible ownership. The defendant filed no defence to the counterclaim and tendered no evidence, so the titles could not be challenged. The court held that the plaintiffs discharged their evidentiary burden under sections 107 to 109 of the Evidence Act.

p. 4
02

Whether the defendant has any legal or beneficial interest in the suit property

Holding

No; his averments remained unproved allegations and his continued occupation was without permission after the oral lease was validly terminated.

Reasoning

The plaintiffs showed they had verbally allowed the defendant to occupy the land, that they terminated the verbal lease by notice dated 31st December 2020 requiring vacatur by 15th January 2021, and that the notice lapsed without compliance. The defendant produced no evidence of any interest. His continued occupation was therefore wrongful, rendering him a trespasser on Mombasa/Block XLV/318, a portion of Mombasa/Block XLV/54.

p. 4
03

Whether the plaintiffs are entitled to the prayers in the counterclaim

Holding

Yes, prayers (a) to (d) allowed with the demolition period extended to 90 days; mesne profits of Kshs.1,000,000, costs, and interest allowed.

Reasoning

The court found that as registered proprietors under sections 24 and 25 of the Land Registration Act, the plaintiffs were entitled to exclusive possession. On mesne profits, counsel proposed Kshs.1,000,000 relying on Mary Wanjiru Kihugu & 6 Others v Regency Cooperative Savings and Credit Society Limited [2021] eKLR, where Kshs.2,000,000 was awarded; the court found the proposed sum reasonable and awarded it, plus costs and interest at court rates.

04

Costs

Holding

Costs follow the event; awarded to the plaintiffs.

Reasoning

Applying section 27 of the Civil Procedure Act, the court found no good cause to depart from the general rule that costs follow the event, awarding costs to the plaintiffs as sought under prayer (f), with interest at court rates on mesne profits and costs from the date of filing suit until payment in full.

p. 5

Legal principles established

#
  • A certificate of title is prima facie evidence of absolute and indefeasible ownership, challengeable only on fraud, misrepresentation, or illegal/unprocedural/corrupt acquisition (Section 26, Land Registration Act).
  • Under sections 107 to 109 of the Evidence Act, the party who alleges must prove; unchallenged averments unsupported by evidence remain mere allegations.
  • Under section 27 of the Civil Procedure Act, costs follow the event unless the court directs otherwise for good cause.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The 9th plaintiff's claim in the main suit is dismissed with costs.
  2. 2.Declaration that the 1st to 3rd plaintiffs in the counterclaim are entitled to exclusive and unimpeded right of possession and occupation of Title No. Mombasa/Block XLV/318.
  3. 3.Declaration that the defendant is wrongly and illegally in occupation of Title No. Mombasa/Block XLV/318.
  4. 4.Injunction restraining the defendant from remaining or continuing in occupation of Title No. Mombasa/Block XLV/318.
  5. 5.Order directing the defendant to demolish his structures on Title No. Mombasa/Block XLV/318 at his costs within ninety (90) days, failing which the plaintiffs may demolish at his costs.
  6. 6.Defendant to pay mesne profits assessed at Kshs.1,000,000.
  7. 7.Defendant to pay the plaintiffs' costs in the counterclaim.
  8. 8.Interest on mesne profits and costs at court rates from the date of filing suit until full payment.
Jurisdiction invoked
Original jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court over land disputes

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Al-Guthmy & 8 others v Said Bin Seif Properties (2016) Limited & 4 others; Said Bin Seif Properties (2016) Limited & 2 others (Plaintiffs to the Counterclaim); Karama (Defendant to the Counterclaim) (Environment and Land Case 236 of 2020) [2025] KEELC 5463 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in the judgment extract (ELC Mombasa). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2025/5463/eng@2025-07-23

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.