Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNot stated in the judgment extract· [2025] KEELC 5386 (KLR)

Ondiek v Ondiek (Land Case E537 of 2024) [2025] KEELC 5386 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
18 July 2025
1,217 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~5 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's Environment and Land Court dismissed a limitation objection, ruling the clock started in 2024 when the property title was first challenged, not at the deceased's 2011 death.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The defendant filed a notice of preliminary objection dated 25th February 2025 seeking to have the plaintiff's suit and notice of motion dated 7th February 2025 struck out as incompetent, sham, vexatious and an abuse of process, arguing that the suit over Nairobi/Block/72/2230 was time barred under Sections 4, 7 and 9 of the Limitation of Actions Act because it was instituted 13 years after the death of Archbishop Stephen Alloys Ondiek Oluoch on 9th September 2011. The objection was canvassed by written submissions. The defendant relied on Sohanladurgadass Rajput, contending the property formed part of the deceased's estate allocated under a 1994 will. The plaintiff, the registered owner since 7th March 2012, relied on Cornella Nabalanga Nabwana, Estate of Job Ndunda Muthike and Yellow Horse Inns, submitting that her cause of action arose only on 2nd December 2024 when the defendant filed a notice of motion in HCCC Succession Cause No. 44 of 2012 challenging her title, and that the right of survivorship entitled her to defend her interest. The court, confining itself to the pleadings and applying the Mukisa Biscuits, John Musakali and Oraro v Mbaja tests, held that a preliminary objection must be a pure point of law on undisputed facts. It found the cause of action accrued on the defendant's 2nd December 2024 application, not on the deceased's death, and that the objection was bedevilled by disputed facts. The court dismissed the preliminary objection with costs in the cause, allowing the suit to proceed to trial.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the suit is time barred under Sections 4, 7 and 9 of the Limitation of Actions Act

Holding

The preliminary objection fails; the cause of action accrued on 2nd December, 2024 when the defendant filed the application in the succession cause challenging the plaintiff's title, not on the deceased's death in 2011

Reasoning

The court confined itself to the pleadings. The plaint pleads that the defendant's notice of motion dated 2nd December, 2024 in HCCC Succession Cause No. 44 of 2012 first challenged the validity of the plaintiff's title. The plaintiff was registered owner since 7th March, 2012. Because the cause of action was prompted by that application, time did not begin to run on the deceased's death, and the defendant had not admitted or disputed facts to found a pure point of law.

p. 3
02

Whether the objection qualified as a true preliminary objection on a point of law

Holding

It did not, because it depended on disputed facts requiring evidence

Reasoning

Applying Mukisa Biscuits, John Musakali and Oraro v Mbaja, a preliminary objection must be a point of law pleaded in or arising by clear implication from the pleadings, on agreed facts, capable of disposing of the suit without trial. Here, whether the property formed part of the estate and when the plaintiff's right accrued were contested, so the objection could not succeed at the interlocutory stage.

p. 2

Legal principles established

#
  • A preliminary objection must be a pure point of law arising from the pleadings on agreed facts and capable of disposing of the suit without trial
  • Limitation runs from the date the cause of action accrued, not merely from the date of the relevant death, where the claim is prompted by a later challenge to title

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The notice of preliminary objection dated 25th February, 2025 is dismissed with costs in the cause

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Limitation of Actions ActSections 4, 7 and 9(2)

Cases cited (7)

  • Mukisa Biscuits Manufacturing Company Limited v West End Distributors
    [1969] EA 696
  • John Musakali vs. Speaker County of Bungoma & 4 others
    [2015] eKLR
  • Oraro v Mbaja
    [2005] KLR 141
  • Sohanladurgadass Rajput and another v Divisions Integrated Development Programmes Co. Ltd
    [2021] eKLR
  • Cornella Nabalanga Nabwana v Edward Vitalis Akuku & 2 others
    [2017] eKLR
  • Estate of Job Ndunda Muthike [deceased]
    [2018] eKLR
  • Yellow Horse Inns Limited v Mitar Consultants Limited
    [Environment and Land Case E431 of 2022] [2024]
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court over the suit land Nairobi/Block/72/2230

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Ondiek v Ondiek (Land Case E537 of 2024) [2025] KEELC 5386 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in the judgment extract. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2025/5386/eng@2025-07-18

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.