Makokha & another v Okelo (Substituted in Place of Mose Morris Pamba (Deceased) & another; Wekesa t/a Timpech Auctioneers (Applicant) (Environment and Land Case 111 of 2016) [2025] KEELC 5332 (KLR)
The bottom line
#A Kenyan court struck out an application to seize property because the applicant named the wrong party in his court documents.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Key legal issues
#Correct party against whom execution may issue
The court found on perusal of the judgment of Omollo J that it was the Plaintiffs who were condemned to pay the Defendants' costs, so execution should issue against the Plaintiffs and not the Defendants
The court perused the Motion, the annexed affidavits and the judgment of 27th September 2022 and established that the Plaintiffs, not the Defendants, were condemned to pay costs. The affidavit of service showed the Defendants had been served with the Motion, confirming the Motion targeted the wrong parties. The proper course was to strike out the Motion and direct the Applicant to file a proper one against the Plaintiffs.
Legal principles established
#- Execution arising from a taxed Bill of costs must issue against the party actually condemned to pay costs by the judgment, and a motion naming the wrong party will be struck out
Court orders
#- 1.The Notice of Motion dated 19th March 2025 is struck out for being directed to the wrong parties
- 2.The Applicant is at liberty to file a proper Motion to be served upon the Plaintiffs Joseph Akhungu Makokha and Eperim Kizito Makokha and not the Defendants
- Jurisdiction invoked
- Not stated in the judgment; original civil jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court following a judgment by Omollo J delivered on 27th September 2022
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Makokha & another v Okelo (Substituted in Place of Mose Morris Pamba (Deceased) & another; Wekesa t/a Timpech Auctioneers (Applicant) (Environment and Land Case 111 of 2016) [2025] KEELC 5332 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in judgment (Notice of Motion dated 19th March 2025). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2025/5332/eng@2025-07-16
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.