Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in judgment (ruling applies to Kisumu ELCLC No E035 of 2025)· [2025] KEELC 5216 (KLR)

Obonyo v Okoth & another (Environment and Land Case E034 of 2025) [2025] KEELC 5216 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court (implied from Kisumu ELCLC matter reference)
10 July 2025
896 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~4 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

The Kisumu Environment and Land Court has barred defendants from occupying three Kamagaga land parcels until trial, because the registered owner's title deeds trumped unsupported occupation claims.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This interlocutory ruling by E. Asati, Judge, delivered virtually at Kisumu on 10th July 2025, determines a Notice of Motion dated 15th May 2025 brought under Sections 1A, 1B and 63(e) of the Civil Procedure Act and Order 40 Rules 1 & 2 of the Civil Procedure Rules 2010. The Applicant/Plaintiff, a personal representative of his deceased father's estate, sought a temporary injunction restraining the Respondents/Defendants from encroaching upon, entering or occupying land parcels Kisumu/Kamagaga/1931, 1932 and 1933, alleging they began ploughing the land on 12th May 2025. The Respondents opposed via grounds of objection citing prior suits over the same subject matter (Kisumu H.C. Misc. Application No.60 of 1998, HCCC No.349 of 1999, HCCC No.328 of 2000 and Civil Suit No.187 of 2000) and a Replying Affidavit asserting the suit lands belong to Gatiro Agonda Ondiek per the adjudication record, with claimed occupation of 30 years. Applying the Giella v Cassman Brown principles, the court found the exhibited title deeds showed the applicant's father as registered owner, that the applicant had locus as personal representative, and that the respondents' claim of lengthy occupation lacked evidential support. Section 26 of the Land Registration Act rendered the title prima facie evidence of ownership, with lawfulness of registration left for trial. The court granted the temporary injunction, ordered costs to abide the suit, and directed that the ruling apply to Kisumu ELCLC No E035 of 2025.

Key legal issues

#
01

Prima facie case with probability of success

Holding

Established: title deeds exhibited show the applicant's father as registered owner and the applicant is the personal representative of the deceased's estate

Reasoning

The court observed that the applicant exhibited title deeds showing his father as one of the registered owners of the suit lands, and that he demonstrated capacity as personal representative of the deceased's estate. Whether the registration is lawful remains a matter for trial, but on the documents a prima facie case was shown warranting interim protection.

p. 2
02

Respondents' claim of 30 years' occupation

Holding

Rejected for lack of evidence

Reasoning

The Respondents asserted occupation of parts of the suit lands and Kisumu/Kamagaga/1930 for 30 years, but the court found no evidence supporting this assertion. Against that, the applicant's asserted family occupation of 27 years was placed on record, tipping the interlocutory assessment in the applicant's favour.

p. 2

Legal principles established

#
  • Under section 26 of the Land Registration Act, a certificate of title is prima facie evidence that the named proprietor is the absolute and indefeasible owner
  • The Giella v Cassman Brown conditions govern the grant of temporary injunctions

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Pending the hearing and determination of the suit, the Respondents/Defendants, their agents, servants or any authorised person are restrained by temporary injunction from further encroaching, entering or occupying land parcels Kisumu/Kamagaga/1931, 1932 and 1933
  2. 2.Costs to abide the suit
  3. 3.This ruling to apply to Kisumu ELCLC No E035 of 2025
Jurisdiction invoked
Sections 1A, 1B, 63(e) of the Civil Procedure Act and Order 40 Rules 1 & 2 of the Civil Procedure Rules 2010

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Obonyo v Okoth & another (Environment and Land Case E034 of 2025) [2025] KEELC 5216 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in judgment (ruling applies to Kisumu ELCLC No E035 of 2025). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2025/5216/eng@2025-07-10

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.