Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCAllowedNot stated in the judgment extract (Environment and Land Court, Nakuru)· [2025] KEELC 5167 (KLR)

Njuguna v Kaniu & another (Environment and Land Case E207 of 2016) [2025] KEELC 5167 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court of Kenya
10 July 2025
5,993 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~24 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan landowner recovered her plot after 35 years because the buyers couldn't prove how they got the title.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiff, Veronica Wamere Njuguna, sued the 1st and 3rd Defendants (with the Land Registrar Naivasha as 2nd Defendant) seeking a permanent injunction, revocation of titles, a declaration of proprietorship, and a fresh title over land parcel Kijabe/Kijabe Block 1/3383. Her case was that she was allocated the plot by Maai Mahiu Kijabe Longonot Company Limited, but her name was improperly cancelled in the company register and replaced with that of David N. Thuo, after which a title was fraudulently issued to the 3rd Defendant and transferred to the 1st Defendant's late mother, Rahab Ngendo Kanui, in 1989. The Land Registrar confirmed the register showed the plaintiff as allottee, that the cancellation lacked the liquidator's stamp, and that the green card entries did not tally with the title deed. The defendants claimed the 3rd Defendant was allocated the plot and sold it to Rahab, but produced no allocation documents, sale agreement, or proof of payment, and admitted ignorance of how the 3rd Defendant acquired title. The court rejected the limitation defence, holding time ran from discovery of fraud in 2015. Applying Munyu Maina v Hiram Gathiha Maina and the higher standard for proving fraud, it found the defendants failed to establish the root of their title and that the 1st Defendant was not a bona fide purchaser for value. Judgment was entered for the plaintiff as prayed, including cancellation of the defendants' titles, issuance of a proper title, a permanent injunction, and costs against the defendants.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the suit was time-barred under Section 7 of the Limitation of Actions Act

Holding

No; limitation in fraud cases under Section 26 runs only from discovery of the fraud, and the suit was filed about a year after discovery in 2015.

Reasoning

The court invoked Section 26 of the Limitation of Actions Act, holding that where fraud is pleaded, time does not run until the plaintiff discovers the fraud with reasonable diligence. PW2 testified the plaintiff learned of the fraud in 2015 and reported it to the DCI; the suit was filed roughly a year later. Filing within about a year of discovery was held not to constitute inordinate delay.

p. 8
02

Whether the 1st and 3rd Defendants lawfully acquired the suit property

Holding

No. The plaintiff was allocated plot 3383 by the land buying company; the cancellation of her name was improper and the defendants failed to prove the root of their title.

Reasoning

The register (PEX3) showed plot 3383 in the plaintiff's name, cancelled to David N. Thuo, who featured nowhere. The Land Registrar confirmed the cancellation was never stamped by the company's liquidator, as required, and that green card entries did not tally with the title. DW2 could not produce any allocation or sale documents, and DW1 admitted ignorance of how the 3rd Defendant acquired title. Applying Munyu Maina, the defendants had to go beyond the title instrument and prove legality of acquisition, which they failed to do.

p. 10
03

Whether fraud was proved to the required standard

Holding

Yes, the plaintiff discharged the burden to the required standard in proving the defendants fraudulently acquired the suit property.

Reasoning

Allegations of fraud must be strictly pleaded and proved above balance of probabilities (Emfil Limited; Arthi Highway Developers). The irregular cancellation of the plaintiff's name, replacement with a stranger (David Thuo), the mismatch of entries between the green card and the title deed, and the rushed two-month transfer to the 3rd Defendant collectively satisfied the court that the acquisition was fraudulent, illegal and unprocedural.

p. 10
04

Whether the 1st Defendant is a bona fide purchaser for value

Holding

No; the 1st Defendant failed to fulfil the requirements of a bona fide purchaser.

Reasoning

Relying on Samuel Kamere v Lands Registrar, Kajiado, a bona fide purchaser must prove valid legal title, due diligence into the lawful owner, and payment of valuable consideration. DW1 failed to produce a sale agreement for the purchase from the 3rd Defendant and admitted he did not know how the 3rd Defendant acquired the parcel, nor did the defendants take steps to remove the caution placed by the plaintiff in 1990. The bona fide purchaser defence therefore failed.

p. 11

Legal principles established

#
  • When a registered proprietor's root of title is under challenge, it is not sufficient to dangle the instrument of title as proof of ownership; the proprietor must prove the legality of the acquisition.
  • Allegations of fraud must be strictly pleaded and proved to a standard above balance of probabilities.
  • A bona fide purchaser must prove valid and legal title, due diligence, and payment of valuable consideration.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.A declaration that the Plaintiff is the legal proprietor of land parcel Kijabe/Kijabe Block 1/3383
  2. 2.A permanent injunction restraining the Defendants from transferring, trespassing or dealing in any way with the suit property
  3. 3.An order to the Land Registrar Naivasha to cancel the title deed issued to the 3rd Defendant and subsequently the 1st Defendant
  4. 4.An order directing the Naivasha District Land Registrar to issue a proper title to the Plaintiff
  5. 5.The Defendants to bear the costs of the suit

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Evidence Act, Cap 80Section 107
  • Evidence Act, Cap 80Section 108
  • Evidence Act, Cap 80Section 109
  • Constitution of KenyaArticle 159(2)(d)
  • Registered Land Act (repealed)Section 6
  • Land Registration ActSection 24(a)
  • Land Registration ActSection 26(1)
  • Limitation of Actions ActSection 7
  • Limitation of Actions ActSection 26
  • Civil Procedure ActSection 27

Cases cited (13)

  • Geofirey Kiptarbei Rono v Johana Komen Rotich & Another
    (2021) eKLR
  • Kuria Kiarie & 2 Others v Sammy Magera
    [2018] eKLR
  • Kinyanjui Kamau v George Kamau
    [2015] eKLR
  • Mukuru Munge v Florence Shingi Mwawana & 2 Others
    [2016] eKLR
  • Palace Investments Limited v Geofirey Kariuki Mwendia & Another
    [2015] eKLR
  • Gatiaru Peter Munya v Dickson Mwendia Kithinji & 3 Others
    [2014] eKLR
  • Mulati v Munyasa & Another
    (Environment & Land Case 210 of 2017) [2024] KEELC 6031 (KLR)
  • Justus Tureti Obara v Peter Koipeitai
    (2014) eKLR
  • Emfil Limited v Registrar of Titles Mombasa & 2 others
    [2014] eKLR, Civil Appeal No. 312 of 2012
  • Arthi Highway Developers Limited v West End Butchery Limited & 6 Others
    [2015] eKLR
  • Dina Management Limited v County Government of Mombasa & 5 others
    (Petition 8 (E010) of 2021) [2023] KESC 30 (KLR) (21 April 2023)
  • Munyu Maina v Hiram Gathiha Maina
    [2013] KECA
  • Samuel Kamere v Lands Registrar, Kajiado
    [2015] KECA 644 (KLR)
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court over disputes relating to title to land

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Njuguna v Kaniu & another (Environment and Land Case E207 of 2016) [2025] KEELC 5167 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in the judgment extract (Environment and Land Court, Nakuru). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2025/5167/eng@2025-07-10

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.