Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in judgment· [2025] KEELC 3551 (KLR)

Gitere v Gitere Kahura Investments Limited & 3 others (Environment and Land Case Civil Suit E049 of 2022) [2025] KEELC 3551 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
6 May 2025
4,724 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~19 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A shareholder won the right to see full accounts of Kshs 100 million in land sale proceeds after his family company's directors failed to produce receipts proving how the money was spent.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiff, a sibling and minority shareholder of the 1st defendant family company, sued the company and the 2nd to 4th defendants (his siblings and directors) over the subdivision and distribution of family-owned land pursuant to a consent order of 24/09/2014 adopted in probate proceedings and the company's resolution of 24/10/2018. He sought release of the title to LR No. 5980/66 (Windsor), an account for a 1-acre sold parcel (LR No. 5980/60), cancellation and fresh subdivision of Midas and Ruiru farms, and subdivision of Njeneni farm. The court found the Njeneni claim failed because the property was inadequately described in the plaint and not proved to be registered in the 1st defendant's name. The Midas and Ruiru claims were premature, as the parcels as pleaded did not correspond to those in the consent order and resolution. However, the plaintiff proved his entitlement to an account of the Kshs 100,000,000/- proceeds of the sale of LR No. 5980/60, the defendants having failed to substantiate their assertion that the funds went to loans and KRA demands. He was also entitled to the title for LR No. 5980/66, subject to reimbursing the company's substantiated subdivision expenses, the defendants' Kshs 10,000,000/- demand being unsupported by evidence. The court issued a sequence of orders for accounts, invoices, reimbursement and unconditional release of the title, and, mindful of the parties' familial relationship, directed each party to bear their own costs. Judgment delivered at Machakos on 6 May 2025 by A. Y. Koross, J.

Key legal issues

#
01

Description of Njeneni farm in the plaint

Holding

Claim over Njeneni farm failed for inadequate description and failure to prove ownership by the 1st defendant

Reasoning

Order 4 Rule 3 CPR requires a plaint involving immovable property to describe it sufficiently for identification. No title document or certificate of official search was availed; the only reference was a Bahati Land Control Board consent over LR No. 24161/4. Without proof of registration in the 1st defendant's name, the property could not be ordered subdivided.

p. 7
02

Claims over Midas and Ruiru farms

Holding

Claims dismissed as premature because the parcels as pleaded were not the subject of the consent order or the 24/10/2018 resolution

Reasoning

The plaint pleaded LR Nos. 8943/7, 9946, 4872/1 and 4872/2, but the consent order and resolution referenced LR Nos. 8943/10, 9946/2, 4871/1 and 4871/2. Without an order or resolution covering the parcels specifically defined in the plaint, the cancellation and re-subdivision claims could not be entertained.

p. 8
03

Account for the 1 acre (LR No. 5980/60)

Holding

Plaintiff entitled to an account; defendants failed to substantiate expenditure of the Kshs 100,000,000/- sale proceeds

Reasoning

The 24/10/2018 resolution reflected the consent order that Windsor farm be divided equally among the twelve children. The 3rd defendant asserted a rescinding resolution and expenditure on loans and KRA demands but produced no documents. Under Sections 107-109 of the Evidence Act, the defendants bore the burden of substantiating those assertions and failed.

p. 9
04

Release of title for LR No. 5980/66

Holding

Plaintiff entitled to unconditional release upon reimbursing the 1st defendant for substantiated subdivision expenses

Reasoning

It was undisputed the title was available and that expenses were incurred towards change of user, rates, rent, survey and registration. The defendants' demand of Kshs 10,000,000/- was unsubstantiated by invoices or receipts, but the plaintiff, having acknowledged the expenses and his willingness to pay, must reimburse properly documented outlays before the title is released.

p. 9

Legal principles established

#
  • A plaint concerning immovable property must contain a description sufficient to identify the property
  • Directors must account to shareholders for proceeds of sale of company assets where they fail to substantiate how proceeds were expended
  • Costs follow the event but may be tempered by the familial relationship of litigants

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Within 60 days of judgment, the defendants shall deliver to the plaintiff a detailed, complete and accurate statement of account for the proceeds of the sale of LR No. 5980/60, and any funds found unaccounted for shall, within 30 days, be deposited in the 1st defendant's bank account.
  2. 2.Within 60 days of judgment, the defendants shall deliver to the plaintiff an invoice of expenses the 1st defendant incurred as overheads towards hiving off of LR No. 5980/66 from LR No. 5980/4.
  3. 3.The statement of account and invoice shall be accompanied by supporting documents including an agreement for sale, bank statements, receipts and invoices.
  4. 4.Upon full compliance, the plaintiff shall, within 60 days of receipt of the supported invoice, pay in full the sum due and owing to the 1st defendant.
  5. 5.Upon compliance, the defendants shall, within 14 days, unconditionally release the title document of LR No. 5980/66 to the plaintiff.
  6. 6.Each party shall bear their respective costs of the suit.

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Civil Procedure RulesOrder 4 Rule 3
  • Evidence ActSection 3
  • Evidence ActSections 107, 108 and 109

Cases cited (4)

  • Gitere & another (Both Suing on behalf of Gitere Kahura Investments Limited) v Gitere & 5 others
    [2023] KEHC 2318 (KLR)
  • Gitere Kahura Investments Limited & another v Kenya Planters Co-operative Union Limited & another
    [2017] KEELC 2918 (KLR)
  • Macharia & another v Kenya Commercial Bank Limited & 2 others
    [2012] KESC 8 (KLR)
  • Hawkesbury Development Co Ltd v Landmark Finance Pty Ltd
    (1969) 2 NSWR 782
Jurisdiction invoked
Not expressly stated in the judgment; the court had earlier ruled on jurisdiction on 19/10/2023 and declined the defendants' challenge

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Gitere v Gitere Kahura Investments Limited & 3 others (Environment and Land Case Civil Suit E049 of 2022) [2025] KEELC 3551 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2025/3551/eng@2025-05-06

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.