Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNot stated in the judgment (Plaint dated 24th May, 2022)· [2025] KEELC 3463 (KLR)

Mohammed v Ocean View Limited & 2 others (Environment & Land Case 57 of 2022) [2025] KEELC 3463 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court of Kenya
25 April 2025
6,723 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~27 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

The Environment and Land Court in Mombasa dismissed National Bank's attempt to throw out a land dispute, ruling the case belongs in that court and was filed on time.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The National Bank of Kenya Limited, the 3rd Defendant, raised a preliminary objection dated 12th November, 2024 against the Plaintiff's suit on two grounds: that the court lacked jurisdiction, and that the cause of action was barred by the Statute of Limitation. The court directed that the objection be disposed of by written submissions; only the Plaintiff's submissions were accessible to the court. The court framed three issues: whether the objection met the requisite standards, whether it was merited, and costs. Relying on Mukisa Biscuits v Westend Distributors and its progeny, the court held the objection raised pure points of law and had to be determined in limine. On jurisdiction, the court found the dispute, pleaded around a joint venture agreement over L.R. NO. 2263 and L.R. NO. 2264, concerned the use, planning, construction and title of the suit land, thus falling within the ELC's jurisdiction under Article 162(2)(b) of the Constitution and Section 13 of the Environment and Land Court Act. It noted the Co-operative Bank v Kangethe Njuguna position that mortgage and charge disputes fall to the High Court, but held the present dispute was clearly over the land itself. On limitation, the court held the applicable provision was Section 7 of the Limitation of Actions Act (12 years for recovery of land) rather than Section 4, and that since fraud was pleaded, Section 26 extended time from discovery of the fraud in 2017, so the suit was not time barred. The preliminary objection was dismissed with costs to the Plaintiff, and the matter set for mention on 7th May, 2025 for further directions.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the preliminary objection was a proper one (pure point of law)

Holding

The court held that both grounds (jurisdiction and limitation) raised pure points of law, so the objection was properly before the court

Reasoning

The court reviewed the classic definition of a preliminary objection from Mukisa Biscuits and its progeny, establishing that such an objection must rest on a pure point of law argued on the assumption that the facts pleaded by the other side are correct, and cannot depend on ascertaining facts or exercising discretion. Both grounds advanced - lack of jurisdiction and statutory limitation - satisfied this standard, and an issue of jurisdiction must be dealt with in limine.

p. 9
02

Whether the ELC has jurisdiction over the suit

Holding

The court held it has jurisdiction because the dispute is over the suit land - its use, planning, construction and title under the joint venture agreement

Reasoning

Although the 3rd defendant framed the dispute as a contractual/commercial matter, the court found the pleadings showed the case concerned use, occupation and title to the suit properties. The court noted Co-operative Bank v Kangethe Njuguna holds that ELC jurisdiction over 'use' of land does not include mortgages and charges, which fall to the High Court; however, on the facts the dispute was clearly over the suit land itself, its use, planning and construction, so the ELC could entertain and finally determine the case.

p. 11
03

Whether the suit is statute barred

Holding

The claim is for recovery of land with a 12-year limitation period under Section 7, and as fraud is pleaded, Section 26 extends time from discovery of the fraud; the suit is not time barred

Reasoning

The court noted the objection was grounded on Section 4 but the applicable provision, for a land claim, is Section 7 (12 years). Since the plaintiff pleaded fraud in the creation of the 2014 charge, discovered in 2017, Section 26 has the effect of starting limitation from the date of discovery. The suit, filed about three years after discovery, was therefore within time, and the precise date of discovery is a matter for trial, not a preliminary objection.

p. 12
04

Costs of the preliminary objection

Holding

Costs follow the event; the plaintiff, having succeeded, is awarded the costs of the objection

Reasoning

Relying on the principle that costs follow the event under Section 27(1) of the Civil Procedure Act, and the authorities confirming the successful party is typically entitled to costs absent compelling reasons, the court awarded the plaintiff the costs of the preliminary objection.

p. 12

Legal principles established

#
  • A preliminary objection must be raised on a pure point of law and no fact should be ascertained from elsewhere
  • Where a plaintiff's claim is for recovery of land, the applicable limitation period is 12 years under Section 7 of the Limitation of Actions Act, and where the claim is based on fraud, time runs from discovery of the fraud
  • A question of limitation is a question of law going to jurisdiction; if a matter is statute barred, the court has no jurisdiction to entertain it

Court orders

#
  1. 1.That the Preliminary objection dated 12th November, 2024 is found to lack merit and is hereby dismissed
  2. 2.That there be a mention of the matter on 7th May, 2025 before Hon. Justice Olola for further direction on the disposal of the main suit
  3. 3.That costs of the Preliminary Objection to be awarded to the Plaintiff
Jurisdiction invoked
Article 162(2)(b) of the Constitution of Kenya, 2010 and Section 13 of the Environment and Land Court Act, No. 19 of 2011

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Mohammed v Ocean View Limited & 2 others (Environment & Land Case 57 of 2022) [2025] KEELC 3463 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in the judgment (Plaint dated 24th May, 2022). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2025/3463/eng@2025-04-25

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.