Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNot stated in the judgment as provided

Kimani v Alai & 3 others; Alcon Holdings Limited (Interested Party) (Environment & Land Case E002 of 2024) [2025] KEELC 3453 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
30 April 2025
2,166 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~9 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Nairobi court refused to stop an eviction on Kileleshwa land, ruling that public road reserve land cannot be claimed through long occupation.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Applicant/Plaintiff moved the Environment and Land Court by Notice of Motion dated 6th June 2024 seeking temporary injunctions restraining the Defendants and the Interested Party from alienating, disposing of, selling by public auction or private treaty, or otherwise dealing with LR No. 209/8874/26 Oloitoktok Road, Kileleshwa, and an order that the OCS Kileleshwa Police Station provide security against an impending eviction. He claimed to have occupied the parcel for over 35 years and to have acquired ownership by adverse possession. He alleged the 1st Respondent, the MCA Kileleshwa, planned to seize the land as public property and had run a social media campaign branding him a grabber, and that the Respondents were compulsorily acquiring private land without due process. The Respondents opposed, contending the Applicant had no locus standi and no title, and that the land was public land compulsorily acquired for the Nairobi Western Ring Road by Gazette Notices Nos. 11218 and 11219 of 24th September 2010. The Interested Party claimed prior registered ownership and a caveat by Margaret Muigai. Applying Giella v Cassman Brown and Mrao, Christine Ochieng J found the Applicant produced no title documents, that the land is a road reserve and government property, and that public property cannot be acquired by adverse possession; hence no prima facie case was established. Following Nguruman, the court declined to consider the remaining limbs and dismissed the application, with each party bearing their own costs.

Questions the Court framed

#

The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.

  1. 1.Whether the Plaintiff is entitled to orders of interlocutory injunction restraining the Defendants from LR No. 209/8874/26 Oloitoktok road Kileleshwa, pending the hearing and determination of this suit.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the Applicant established a prima facie case for an interlocutory injunction

Holding

No. The Applicant produced no title documents; the suit land is public land compulsorily acquired by the government in 2010 for the Nairobi Western Ring Road and cannot be acquired by adverse possession.

Reasoning

The court applied Giella v Cassman Brown and the definition of a prima facie case in Mrao. The Applicant relied solely on occupation for 35 years, but unchallenged evidence showed the land was compulsorily acquired by Gazette Notices Nos. 11218 and 11219 of 24th September 2010. Possession of public land confers no enforceable right capable of protection by injunction.

p. 4
02

Whether the court should consider irreparable harm and balance of convenience

Holding

No. Having failed on the prima facie case limb, the court declined to consider the remaining two limbs, following Nguruman Ltd v Jan Bonde Nielsen.

Reasoning

Relying on the Court of Appeal decision in Nguruman, once an applicant fails to establish a prima facie case the analysis need not proceed further. The application was therefore determined solely on the first Giella limb.

p. 5
03

Whether the suit land is public land

Holding

Yes. The court found no reason to dispute that the land was compulsorily acquired for the Nairobi Western Ring Road and belongs to the government.

Reasoning

No party denied the 2nd Respondent's averments regarding Gazette Notices Nos. 11218 and 11219 of 24th September 2010, and correspondence attached to the supporting affidavit indicated the land is a road reserve/public land. The court therefore found the land belongs to the government.

p. 4

Legal principles established

#
  • Public property cannot be acquired through adverse possession; a person in occupation of compulsorily acquired public land has no prima facie case for an injunction
  • Where an applicant fails to establish a prima facie case, the court need not consider the remaining Giella v Cassman Brown limbs

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The Notice of Motion application dated 6th June 2024 is dismissed as unmerited
  2. 2.Each party to bear their own costs

The bench

#

One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.

Wrote the judgment

Jurisdiction invoked
Original jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court over land LR No. 209/8874/26 Oloitoktok Road, Kileleshwa

Relief refused

#

Temporary injunction restraining the Defendants from alienating, disposing, selling or dealing with the suit land pending hearing and determination of the suit

The Applicant failed to establish a prima facie case; the suit land is public land (road reserve) compulsorily acquired for the Nairobi Western Ring Road and cannot be claimed through adverse possession

p. 4

Order directing the OCS Kileleshwa Police Station to provide security during the alleged impending eviction

Not considered, the application having failed at the prima facie case stage

Costs

Each party to bear their own costs.

Quotable passages

#

Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.

I find that since the Applicant is not the owner of the suit land, and cannot claim public property through adverse possession, he has indeed not established a prima facie to warrant the orders of interlocutory injunction as sought
p. 4prima facie case / adverse possession over public land
In my view, I have no reason to dispute that the suit land indeed belongs to the government
p. 4status of the suit land as public land
where an Applicant has failed to establish a prima facie case, the Court need not proceed to deal with the remaining two limbs on injunction, and I will hence decline to do so
p. 5Nguruman sequencing of Giella limbs
In the circumstance, I find the instant Notice of Motion application unmerited and will disallow it
p. 5disposition
Each party to bear their own costs
p. 5costs

Issues in the judgment

#
minor

The judgment refers to the parties variously as Applicant/Plaintiff, Respondents/Defendants without a defined party list in the provided text; 1st Respondent is described as the MCA Kileleshwa but full party names are not given in the coram or cause title reproduced

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Kimani v Alai & 3 others; Alcon Holdings Limited (Interested Party) (Environment & Land Case E002 of 2024) [2025] KEELC 3453 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in the judgment as provided. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2025/3453/eng@2025-04-30

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.