Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNot stated in the judgment text (appeal from the decision of the trial Magistrate delivered 7 November 2023)· [2025] KEELC 3161 (KLR)

Kenya Electricity Transmission Company Limited (KETRACO) v Onsongo & another (Environment and Land Appeal E028 of 2022) [2025] KEELC 3161 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
2 April 2025
6,591 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~26 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This was a first appeal to the Environment and Land Court at Kisii against a judgment of the trial Magistrate delivered on 7 November 2023. The 1st respondent, a widow and beneficial owner of part of land parcel Bassi/Bogetaorio II/984B registered in the name of the deceased Nyakundi Maiko, sued the appellant power company for compensation of Kshs. 231,285.60/= for a 0.30-acre wayleave granted for the Kisii-Awendo power transmission line. The appellant contended that the 1st respondent executed an authority dated 26 January 2017 directing payment of her share to the 2nd respondent, the other widow, who allegedly received the entire Kshs. 462,571.20/=. The trial court entered judgment for the 1st respondent. On appeal, Munyao Sila J applied the first appellate court's duty as set out in Selle v Associated Motor Boat Company and held that the burden of proving both the alleged authority and the payment rested squarely on the appellant under Sections 107, 109 and 112 of the Evidence Act. The court found the finger impression on the authority unproved under Section 70, noted the appellant's witness's concession that both parties needed to sign the authority, and found no documentary evidence whatsoever of any payment to the 2nd respondent. The court observed that the correct procedure for the appellant would have been a notice of claim against co-defendant under Order 1 Rule 24. The appeal was dismissed with costs to the 1st respondent, the trial court's judgment upheld, with interest at court rates from filing suit until full settlement.

Key legal issues

#
01

Execution of the alleged letter of authority

Holding

The appellant failed to prove that the 1st respondent executed the authority directing payment to the 2nd respondent

Reasoning

The document bore an apparent finger impression that had to be proved pursuant to Section 70 of the Evidence Act to be that of the 1st respondent, which could have been done by a document examiner; no such report was availed. Further, the appellant's own witness acknowledged that both persons needed to sign the authority, which was not done.

p. 8
02

Proof of payment

Holding

No evidence whatsoever proved payment to the 2nd respondent

Reasoning

The appellant's own witness could not confirm payment and had no document showing the 2nd respondent received any money. If payment was made by bank deposit or transfer, the appellant would possess the deposit slip or transfer document, none of which was produced, including in the rejected additional evidence application.

p. 9
03

Burden of proof

Holding

The burden rested squarely on the appellant under Sections 107, 109 and 112 of the Evidence Act

Reasoning

Payment, if made, was a fact especially within the knowledge of the appellant, and it was the appellant asserting payment pursuant to instructions; it was not for the 1st respondent to prove non-payment.

p. 7
04

Two separate promises to the two widows

Holding

The appellant made two separate promises, binding herself to pay each widow Kshs. 231,285.60/= for her respective portion

Reasoning

Two letters of offer dated 1 February 2016 were executed on 12 February 2016, one for each beneficiary, each promising equal compensation for her portion of the wayleave over the land informally subdivided between the two widows.

p. 6

Legal principles established

#
  • The party asserting that payment was made pursuant to an authority bears the burden of proving both the authority and the payment; the burden does not shift to the payee to prove non-payment
  • Where a document is alleged to bear a person's signature or finger impression, that signature or handwriting must be proved to be that person's under Section 70 of the Evidence Act
  • A defendant who desires contribution or indemnity from a co-defendant must take out a notice of claim against co-defendant under Order 1 Rule 24; a third party notice lies to a person not already a party

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Appeal dismissed with costs to the 1st respondent
  2. 2.Judgment of the trial court upheld; appellant ordered to make good her promise to pay the 1st respondent the compensation sum
  3. 3.Interest payable from the time of filing suit to the time of full settlement at court rates

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Evidence Act, Cap 80, Laws of KenyaSection 107
  • Evidence Act, Cap 80, Laws of KenyaSection 109
  • Evidence Act, Cap 80, Laws of KenyaSection 112
  • Evidence Act, Cap 80, Laws of KenyaSection 70
  • Civil Procedure RulesOrder 1 Rule 15
  • Civil Procedure RulesOrder 1 Rule 24

Cases cited (3)

  • Selle & Another v Associated Motor Boat Company Limited & Others
    (1968) EA 123
  • Abok James Odera T/A A.J Odera & Associates v John Patrick Machira T/A Machira & Co. Advocates
    [2013] eKLR
  • Makube v Nyamuro
    [1983] KLR at page 403
On appeal from
Magistrates' Court (trial court unspecified by name in the judgment text)
Not stated in the judgment text
Jurisdiction invoked
First appellate jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court over appeals from subordinate courts (appeal against judgment of the trial Magistrate in a land/wayleave compensation suit)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Kenya Electricity Transmission Company Limited (KETRACO) v Onsongo & another (Environment and Land Appeal E028 of 2022) [2025] KEELC 3161 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in the judgment text (appeal from the decision of the trial Magistrate delivered 7 November 2023). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2025/3161/eng@2025-04-02

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.