Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNot stated in the judgment· [2025] KEELC 3011 (KLR)

Naika v Wangatia & another (Environment & Land Case 398 of 2014) [2025] KEELC 3011 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court (matter commenced in the High Court on 31st October 2012 and was later transferred to this Court)
2 April 2025
3,307 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~13 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan land buyer who never finished paying lost his claim because fraud must be strictly proved and adverse possession only starts counting after full payment.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Plaintiff sued over parcels Bunyala/Budonga/1808 and Bunyala/Budonga/929, averring that by a sale agreement of 28th December 1998 he bought them from the First Defendant for KShs 302,500 paid in instalments, took possession, and that the First Defendant instead fraudulently transferred them to the Second Defendant in 2011 through a transmission under Kakamega High Court Succession Cause Number 205 of 2010 despite being alive. He sought declaration of ownership, transfer, and in the alternative a refund of the purchase price at current market value, and claimed adverse possession. The First Defendant denied the claim, asserting the Plaintiff paid only part of the price. The Second Defendant pleaded he was a bona fide purchaser for value without notice, was in occupation, and counterclaimed for a permanent injunction. The First Defendant died after testifying, and the Plaintiff withdrew his claim against him. The court framed three issues: fraud, adverse possession, and availability of reliefs. It held that fraud must be strictly pleaded and proved; the Plaintiff failed to show he was induced to his detriment because he paid only KShs 250,000 of the purchase price, and fraud cannot be inferred, even though the court did not condone the transmission procedure. Adverse possession failed since possession under a sale agreement is permissive, time runs only from final payment, and the Plaintiff was evicted in 2010 before the 12-year period expired. Bound by the pleadings, the court declined to cancel the titles, dismissed the Plaintiff's case including the refund claim, granted the Second Defendant a permanent injunction, and ordered each party to bear own costs.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether fraud was proved against the Second Defendant

Holding

Fraud was not established. Although the transmission through a succession cause while the First Defendant was alive was irregular, the Plaintiff was not induced to act to his detriment since he did not complete payment of the purchase price.

Reasoning

Fraud requires conduct inducing another to act to his detriment or suffer loss. The Plaintiff could only be entitled to the properties upon full payment, yet his own documents showed payment of only KShs 250,000 out of KShs 350,000, and the First Defendant confirmed non-completion. Fraud cannot be inferred, so the claim failed. The court nonetheless disapproved the transmission procedure.

p. 5
02

Whether adverse possession was established

Holding

Adverse possession was not established. Possession under a sale agreement is permissive and time runs only from final payment, which was never made; the Plaintiff was also evicted before 12 years of uninterrupted possession.

Reasoning

Entry under a sale agreement is by permission of the proprietor, and time runs from final payment of the purchase price. The Plaintiff did not complete payment, so time never started running. Further, he was evicted in 2010, before 28th December 2010 when 12 years from the 1998 agreement would have expired, so he lacked the statutory period of undisturbed possession.

p. 6
03

Whether the Second Defendant's title should be cancelled and whether his counterclaim for a permanent injunction should issue

Holding

The titles were not cancelled and the permanent injunction was granted.

Reasoning

The Plaintiff grounded cancellation only on fraud, which failed, and parties are bound by their pleadings. Nullification would revert title to the First Defendant, against whom the Plaintiff had withdrawn his claim, and the Plaintiff had not fully paid. The Second Defendant having made out his proprietorship, the permanent injunction was merited.

p. 6

Legal principles established

#
  • Allegations of fraud must be specifically pleaded and strictly proved; fraud cannot be inferred from the facts
  • A purchaser in possession under a sale agreement holds with the seller's permission; time for adverse possession runs only from final payment of the purchase price
  • Registered proprietors' titles enjoy constitutional and statutory protection subject to fraud or illegal, unprocedural or corrupt acquisition

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Dismissal of the Plaintiff's case
  2. 2.A permanent injunction restraining the Plaintiff, his employees and agents from interfering with the Second Defendant's quiet possession of the parcels of land known as Bunyala/Budonga/1808 and Bunyala/Budonga/929
  3. 3.Each party to bear own costs

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Constitution of KenyaArticle 40
  • Land Registration ActSection 24
  • Land Registration ActSection 26
  • Limitations of Actions ActSections 7, 13, 17 and 38

Cases cited (6)

  • Kinyanjui Kamau vs. George Kamau
    [2015] eKLR
  • Ndolo vs Ndolo
    (2008) 1 KLR (G & F) 742
  • Vijay Morjaria vs. Nansingh Madhusingh Darbar & Another
    [2000] eKLR
  • Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission & another v Stephen Mutinda Mule & 3 others
    [2014] eKLR
  • Richard Wefwafwa Songoi v Ben Munyifwa Songoi
    [2020] eKLR
  • Public Trustee v Wanduru Ndegwa
    [1984] eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Original jurisdiction; matter commenced in the High Court on 31st October 2012 and was later transferred to this Court

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Naika v Wangatia & another (Environment & Land Case 398 of 2014) [2025] KEELC 3011 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2025/3011/eng@2025-04-02

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.