Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCAllowedNot stated in the judgment text provided· [2025] KEELC 2901 (KLR)

Corporate and Pension Trust Services Limited v New Kivae Ngwatanio Welfare Society & 3 others (Environment & Land Case 32 of 2020) [2025] KEELC 2901 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
26 March 2025
1,671 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~7 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court confirmed that a registered title holder wins land disputes and can get damages for trespass even without proving actual loss.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
By a plaint dated 23rd April 2020, the plaintiff claimed to be the registered proprietor of L.R No. 12648/67 (IR No. 133445), a 20-hectare parcel at the Daystar University - Mombasa Road Junction, Athi River, Machakos County, purchased and registered on 1st October 2013. It alleged that on 6th April 2020 the defendants' armed agents entered, cleared and leveled the land and intimidated and attempted to evict the plaintiff's security guards, being repulsed by police and the County Commissioner. The plaintiff sought a permanent injunction, declarations of ownership and unlawfulness of the invasion, revocation of the defendants' ownership documents, general damages, costs and interest. The defendants, despite service, neither entered appearance nor filed a defence, and the suit proceeded by viva voce evidence from two plaintiff witnesses, who produced a certificate of title, searches, sale agreement, transfer and photographs. The court framed two issues: whether the plaintiff is the lawful proprietor, and whether the defendants trespassed. Applying sections 24, 25 and 26 of the Land Registration Act, the court held the plaintiff's title absolute and indefeasible and unrebutted, and found the defendants' one-day invasion unlawful trespass, actionable per se. Following Duncan Nderitu Ndegwa v KP&LC Limited & Another [2013] eKLR, it awarded Kshs. 300,000/= general damages with interest from the date of judgment, granted the permanent injunction and declarations, declared the defendants' purported ownership documents null and void, and awarded costs to the plaintiff. Judgment was delivered virtually at Kakamega on 26th March 2025.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the plaintiff is the lawful proprietor of the suit property

Holding

Yes. The plaintiff produced a certificate of title, searches, sale agreement and transfer showing lawful purchase and registration since 2013; the evidence was unrebutted as the defendants did not enter appearance or file defence despite service.

Reasoning

Section 26 of the Land Registration Act makes a certificate of title prima facie evidence of absolute and indefeasible ownership, challengeable only on proof of fraud, misrepresentation, or illegal, unprocedural or corrupt acquisition. The plaintiff traced its root from purchase at a consideration to registration on 1st October 2013 and enjoyment of quiet possession. The defendants, though served, neither appeared nor filed a defence, so no challenge to the title was mounted.

p. 3
02

Whether the defendants trespassed on the suit property

Holding

Yes. The defendants' armed entry on 6th April 2020, clearing and leveling and attempted eviction of guards, was unlawful and amounted to trespass for one day only.

Reasoning

Sections 24 and 25 of the Land Registration Act vest absolute ownership and rights of a registered proprietor, entitling quiet possession free of third-party interference. Photographs proved the invasion of 6th April 2020. Having no proprietary interest, the defendants had no right to enter; the plaintiff's alleged lease dated 27th September 2019 post-dates the plaintiff's 2013 title. The trespass was a single-day incursion, informing the quantum of damages.

p. 4
03

Whether the plaintiff was entitled to general damages for trespass and in what quantum

Holding

Yes. Trespass is actionable per se without proof of actual damage; given the one-day invasion of the 20-hectare property, damages of Kshs. 300,000/= were awarded with interest from the date of judgment.

Reasoning

Relying on Duncan Nderitu Ndegwa v KP&LC Limited & Another [2013] eKLR, the court applied the principle that once trespass is established damages lie without proof of loss. The evidence showed the defendants invaded the 20-hectare property and chased away guards on 6th April 2020 only; the plaintiff did not suggest persistence, so the trespass lasted one day. Weighing these facts, the court fixed Kshs. 300,000/= as appropriate general damages.

p. 4

Legal principles established

#
  • Registration vests in a proprietor of land absolute and indefeasible rights unless fraud, misrepresentation, illegality, improper procedure or corruption in the acquisition is proved
  • Trespass to land is actionable per se and no proof of damage is necessary for an award of damages
  • A registered proprietor is entitled to a permanent injunction against interference by third parties with no proprietary interest

Court orders

#
  1. 1.A permanent injunction restraining the Defendants, their employees, servants and agents and any other person acting on their behalf from trespassing, occupying, alienating, dealing in any manner or otherwise interfering with the plaintiff's property being L.R. No. 12648/67
  2. 2.A declaration that all that property located on L.R No. 12648/67 belongs to the plaintiff
  3. 3.All documents of purported ownership held by the Defendants with regard to L.R No. 12648/67 are declared null and void
  4. 4.A declaration that the defendants attempted invasion of L.R No. 12648/67 on 6th April, 2020 was unlawful
  5. 5.General damages for trespass awarded to the plaintiff in the sum of Kshs. 300,000/= with interest from the date of judgment
  6. 6.The costs of the suit awarded to the plaintiff and borne by the defendants
Jurisdiction invoked
Original jurisdiction under Article 162(2)(b) of the Constitution and the Environment and Land Court Act over disputes relating to title to land (inferred; not expressly stated in the judgment text provided)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Corporate and Pension Trust Services Limited v New Kivae Ngwatanio Welfare Society & 3 others (Environment & Land Case 32 of 2020) [2025] KEELC 2901 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in the judgment text provided. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2025/2901/eng@2025-03-26

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.