Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedELC Mombasa — Notice of Motion dated 9th October 2024 (suit number not stated in extract)

Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission v Maywood Limited & 2 others (Environment & Land Case E090 of 2024) [2025] KEELC 2858 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
26 March 2025
1,568 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~6 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's Environment and Land Court froze dealings on Mombasa land parcel MN/V1/2588, ruling that allegedly grabbed public port land can't be replaced by money damages.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiff moved the court by notice of motion dated 9th October 2024 seeking an inhibition order restraining the 2nd defendant from alienating, transferring, charging, leasing, subdividing, disposing of, wasting or developing land parcel MN/V1/2588 pending the hearing of the suit. The plaintiff deposed, through Paul Kinyua, that the suit property was carved out of Kenya Ports Authority land parcel MN/V1/2550 in 1971, leased to Mobil Oil Limited for thirty years, and later fraudulently and illegally alienated by the 3rd defendant to the 1st defendant by letter of allotment dated 8th June 1998, leading to grant CR 45734 and transfer to the 2nd defendant on 12th August 2009, without Presidential consent under the repealed Government Lands Act. Both defendants opposed, asserting regularly acquired and good title, due diligence and payment of statutory consents, and disputing that the suit property formed part of KPA land. Framing the issues as whether the plaintiff met the threshold for inhibition and costs, the court applied the Giella v Cassman Brown principles as amplified in Nguruman, Mrao and Solomon Chepsat. It found a prima facie case, held the loss of public land could not adequately be compensated by damages, and found the balance of convenience tilted towards granting the relief given the public interest. Costs were ordered to abide the outcome of the main suit. Judgment dated 26th March 2025.

Questions the Court framed

#

The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.

  1. 1.Whether the plaintiff has met the threshold for the inhibition order sought to issue at this stage
  2. 2.Who pays the costs

Key legal issues

#
01

Prima facie case

Holding

The plaintiff's contention that the suit property is public land belonging to KPA fraudulently allocated to the 1st defendant established a prima facie case

Reasoning

The court reviewed the pleaded history of the parcel from KPA's land, the lease to Mobil Oil, the 1998 allotment letter and subsequent issuance of grant CR 45734 and transfer to the 2nd defendant. Though aware no final findings could be made, it was satisfied the plaintiff's narrative of fraudulent alienation of public land disclosed a prima facie case with a probability of success.

p. 3
02

Irreparable harm

Holding

If the suit succeeds the property reverts to public land, and damages cannot adequately compensate the Kenyan public

Reasoning

The 2nd defendant argued no risk of onward transfer and that land value is ascertainable. The court held that a successful claim would restore the property to public land, and that the resulting loss to the Kenyan public is not adequately remedied by damages, as in the KACC v Njenga case, plus avoiding further transactions under lis pendens.

p. 3
03

Balance of convenience

Holding

Balance of convenience, considering public interest, tilts towards granting the inhibition

Reasoning

The court weighed the public interest in the suit should the plaintiff succeed against the defendants' claimed rights of title. Given the alleged public character of the land, it concluded the balance of convenience favoured preserving the suit property pending full trial.

p. 3
04

Costs

Holding

Costs to abide the outcome of the main suit

Reasoning

Although section 27 of the Civil Procedure Act provides costs follow the event, the court discretionarily held the interests of justice better served by deferring costs of the interlocutory application until the outcome of the main suit.

p. 3

Legal principles established

#
  • The interlocutory thresholds for temporary injunctive/inhibition orders are a prima facie case with probability of success, irreparable loss not compensable by damages, and balance of convenience
  • An interlocutory court does not make final determinations of law or fact, which await full trial
  • Loss of public land to the Kenyan public cannot be adequately remedied by an award of damages

Court orders

#
  1. 1.An inhibition order restraining the 2nd defendant from alienating, transferring, charging, leasing, subdividing, consolidating, disposing of, wasting, or undertaking any construction or development on, or dealing with parcel MN/V1/2588 pending hearing and determination of the plaintiff's suit
  2. 2.Costs in the application to abide the outcome of the main suit

The bench

#

One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.

majority

Wrote the judgment

Jurisdiction invoked
Original jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court over land disputes; interlocutory application under the Civil Procedure Act (cap 21)

Relief refused

#

Costs of the application to a successful party

The court ordered costs to abide the outcome of the main suit rather than follow the event

p. 3

Costs

Costs in the application to abide the outcome of the main suit.

Quotable passages

#

Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.

That an inhibition order is hereby issued restraining the 2nd defendant whether by itself or through its agents, servants or assigns from alienating, transferring, charging, leasing, subdividing, consolidating, disposing of, wasting, or undertaking any construction or development of any nature thereon or on any part thereof of parcel described as MN/V1/2588, suit property, or from howsoever dealing with the said property pending the hearing and determination of the plaintifi's suit
p. 3Final orders — inhibition order
the court is satisfied the plaintifi has established a prima facie case
p. 3Prima facie case
That loss to the Kenya public is not to be remedied adequately by an award of damages
p. 3Irreparable harm over public land
That the costs in the application to abide the outcome of the main suit
p. 3Costs

Issues in the judgment

#
minor

The pleading refers to parcels MN/V1/2586 and 2586 as distinct parcels, an apparent typographical inconsistency in the 1st defendant's deposition

minor

The 1st defendant deposes that the parcel KPA leased to Mobil Oil was MN/V1/2586 and not 2588, while the plaintiff's affidavit history describes the carved-out parcel as allocated number MN/V1/2586 and later renamed MN/V1/2588

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission v Maywood Limited & 2 others (Environment & Land Case E090 of 2024) [2025] KEELC 2858 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). ELC Mombasa — Notice of Motion dated 9th October 2024 (suit number not stated in extract). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2025/2858/eng@2025-03-26

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.