Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment (Plaint dated 4th May 2022)· [2025] KEELC 1425 (KLR)

Kariuki v Magana & another (Environment & Land Case E016 of 2022) [2025] KEELC 1425 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
20 March 2025
2,565 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~10 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan landowner who still held her original title deed successfully recovered her land from a fraudulent registration, but could not hold the Land Registrar personally liable.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Plaintiff sued for cancellation of entries No. 4 and 5 on the register of land parcel Kiine/Gacharo/2236 and reversion of proprietorship to herself, alleging that the 1st Defendant fraudulently caused himself to be registered as proprietor on 11th April 2008. She claimed she was gifted the land by her parents, the original registered owners, was registered on 12th September 2006 and issued a title deed on 14th September 2006, which she still held in original form. She discovered the fraudulent registration in July 2021 during a search occasioned by road construction compensation verification, and reported the matter to the DCI, who could not trace the 1st Defendant. The 1st Defendant, served by substituted service through the Standard Newspaper, never entered appearance or filed a defence, leaving the Plaintiff's evidence unchallenged. The 2nd Defendant, the Attorney General sued on behalf of the Land Registrar, denied liability and argued the Plaintiff had not proved fraud to the required standard. The court framed three issues and held that the Plaintiff lawfully acquired valid title by gift; that the 1st Defendant, whose root of title was under challenge, bore the burden of proving a procedural acquisition and, failing to appear, his registration was fraudulent and unprocedural and his title cancellable under Section 26(1)(a) and (b) of the Land Registration Act; but that no fraud was specifically pleaded or proved against the Land Registrar, whose failure to avail registration documents alone did not constitute fraud. Judgment was entered against the 1st Defendant only: the entries were ordered cancelled, proprietorship reverted to the Plaintiff, and each party was ordered to bear their own costs.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the Plaintiff was the lawful owner of the suit land

Holding

The court found the Plaintiff obtained a valid title by gift from her parents, the original registered owners, and was issued a title deed on 14th September 2006, which she still held in original form

Reasoning

The green card showed the register opened on 31st October 2003 in favour of Joseph Kariuki Mukumbiru and Milka Muthoni Kariuki as joint owners; the land was transferred to the Plaintiff by gift on 12th September 2006 and a title issued on 14th September 2006. The Plaintiff produced and exhibited the original title deed and testified she was in continuous possession, farming the land without interference, and never sold or transferred it.

p. 3
02

Whether the transfer to the 1st Defendant was fraudulent and his title cancellable

Holding

The 1st Defendant did not appear or file a defence, so the Plaintiff's evidence stood unchallenged; the court found the transfer fraudulent and the title impeachable under Section 26(1)(a) and (b) of the Land Registration Act

Reasoning

The Plaintiff's unchallenged evidence that she never transacted with the 1st Defendant, combined with her production of the original title (which would have had to be surrendered for any valid transfer), shifted the burden to the 1st Defendant to prove the legality of his acquisition under Munyu Maina v Hiram Gathia Maina. No such evidence was tendered, so the registration was held fraudulent and unprocedural, falling within the Section 26(1) exceptions to indefeasibility.

p. 4
03

Whether fraud was established against the 2nd Defendant (Land Registrar/Attorney General)

Holding

No fraud was pleaded or proved against the 2nd Defendant; the claim against it was dismissed

Reasoning

The Plaintiff pleaded particulars of fraud only against the 1st Defendant. Although the Land Registrar could not trace the documents supporting entries 4 and 5, the court held that this alone did not constitute fraud, and there was no demonstration that the Registrar was party to or aware of any fraud, applying the principle in Koinange v Charles Karuga Koinange that fraud must be strictly pleaded and proved.

p. 5

Legal principles established

#
  • Where the root of a registered proprietor's title is under challenge, it is not sufficient to produce the title instrument; the proprietor must prove the legality of the acquisition
  • Allegations of fraud must be specifically pleaded and strictly proved, on a standard above a mere balance of probabilities

Court orders

#
  1. 1.That the Plaintiff, Irene Wanjiku Kariuki is the lawful owner of land Parcel Kiine/Gacharo/2236
  2. 2.The Land Registrar Kirinyaga is ordered to cancel Entry Nos. 4 and 5 on the register of land parcel Kiine/Gacharo/2236
  3. 3.That the Land Registrar, Kirinyaga is ordered to revert the proprietorship of land parcel Kiine/Gacharo/2236 to Irene Wanjiku Kariuki, the Plaintiff herein
  4. 4.The parties shall bear their own costs of the suit

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Land Registration ActSection 26(1)(a) and (b)
  • Evidence Act, Cap 80 Laws of KenyaSections 107 and 108

Cases cited (6)

  • Yalwala & 2 Others (Sued in their capacity as Board of Trustees of Chavakali Yearly Meeting of Friends (Quakers) v. Kadenge & 3 Others
    (2022) KEELC 2510 (KLR)
  • Edward Mwangi Irungu v. Chief Land Registrar & Others
    (2018) eKLR
  • Kuria Kiarie & 2 Others v. Sammy Magera
    (2018) eKLR
  • Kinyanjui Kamau v. George Kamau Njoroge
    (2015) eKLR
  • Munyu Maina –vs– Hiram Gathia Maina
    (2013) eKLR
  • Koinange & 13 Others –vs– Charles Karuga Koinange
    (1986) KEHC 3 (KLR)
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court over land parcel Kiine/Gacharo/2236

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Kariuki v Magana & another (Environment & Land Case E016 of 2022) [2025] KEELC 1425 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in the judgment (Plaint dated 4th May 2022). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2025/1425/eng@2025-03-20

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.