Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCAllowedNot stated in the judgment (Originating Summons dated 13/6/2024)· [2025] KEELC 1089 (KLR)

Kiptui v Kibet (Enviromental and Land Originating Summons E023 of 2024) [2025] KEELC 1089 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
5 March 2025
1,057 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~4 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A man who occupied land he bought in 2002 won it outright after 12 years, because the registered owner never challenged his possession in Kenya.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiff filed an Originating Summons dated 13/6/2024 seeking to be declared entitled by adverse possession to 3.5 Ha comprised in parcel No. Kwanza/Namanjalala Block 4/Kapsitwet/352, registered in the defendant's name. At trial, the plaintiff relied on his supporting affidavit sworn 13/6/2024: he bought the portion from Kabarak Farm in 2002, received a letter of allotment dated 2/6/2002 and a confirmation letter from the seller (P. Exhibit 1), and has occupied the land since 2002, evidenced by photographs (P. Exhibit 2(a) and (b)). A search showed the title registered to the defendant, who became registered owner on 23/8/2002 per the green card. The plaintiff registered a caution on 28/2/2013 asserting a purchaser's interest. The defendant never entered appearance or filed evidence despite substituted service per an affidavit of service dated 17/1/2025, consistent with a ruling of 7/10/2024. In written submissions dated 29/2/2025 the plaintiff invoked Sections 7 and 38 of the Limitation of Actions Act and extensive case law on adverse possession. The court set out the statutory framework (Sections 7, 13, 17, 37, 38 and 41 of the Limitation of Actions Act, Order 37 of the Civil Procedure Rules, Section 28(h) of the Land Registration Act) and the ingredients of adverse possession, including exclusive, open possession as of right for 12 years. Finding entry under a sale and no assertion of superior rights or eviction by the defendant, it held the 12 years expired in 2014 and that the plaintiff proved his claim on a balance of probability. The plaintiff was declared entitled to the 3.5 Ha; the defendant was directed to execute transfer documents within two months, failing which the Deputy Registrar would execute them; the caution was to be vacated; costs were awarded to the plaintiff.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the plaintiff established adverse possession

Holding

Yes. Entry was under a sale; the defendant registered in 2002 never asserted superior rights or evicted the plaintiff; the 12-year period expired in 2014.

Reasoning

The court found entry was pursuant to a sale evidenced by the plaintiff's exhibits, with occupation since 2002. The defendant, though served (including by substituted service) and aware of the caution registered on 28/2/2013, never asserted a superior right or evicted the plaintiff. The claimant must show exclusive, open possession as of right without interruption for 12 years; on the balance of probability this was proved, entitling the plaintiff to 3.5 Ha.

p. 2
02

Knowledge of the registered owner of the adverse claim

Holding

The defendant had knowledge or means of knowing of the intrusion, given the registered caution and service of the originating summons.

Reasoning

The plaintiff registered a caution on 28/2/2013 asserting a purchaser's interest, and the defendant was served with the originating summons per an affidavit of service dated 17/1/2025, in line with a ruling of 7/10/2024. The registered owner must be aware, actually or constructively, that an intruder is in possession; the court held this element satisfied.

p. 2

Legal principles established

#
  • Adverse possession is proved by evidence that the claimant has used the land nec vi nec clam nec precario.
  • A mere change of ownership of land occupied by a person in adverse possession does not stop or interrupt the running of time.
  • Where adverse possession arises out of a sale agreement, time starts running after payment of the last installment, the purchaser thereby acquiring an equitable beneficial interest.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Declared the plaintiff entitled to 3.5 Ha of land registered in the name of the defendant as LR No. Kwanza/Namanjalala Block 4/Kapsitwet/352
  2. 2.Directed the defendant to execute, deliver and hand over transfer documents and sign all consents in favour of the plaintiff within 2 months, in default of which the Deputy Registrar of the Court shall execute them
  3. 3.Ordered that the caution placed on the title register be vacated to pave the way for the transfer and registration
  4. 4.Costs to the plaintiff

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Limitation of Actions ActSections 7, 13, 17, 37, 38, 41
  • Civil Procedure RulesOrder 37
  • Land Registration Act, 2012Section 28(h)

Cases cited (12)

  • Stephen Mwangi Gatunge -vs- Edwin Onesmus Wanjau (Suing in her capacity as the administrator of the estates of Kiingi Wairera (deceased) and of Mwangi Kimingi (Deceased)
    [2022] KEELC 1217 [KLR]
  • Cheromei -vs- Muigai
    [2024] KEELC 5604 KLR
  • Maweu -vs- Liu Ranching & Farming Cooperative Society Ltd
    (1985) KLR 430
  • Wambugu -vs- Njuguna
    [1983] KLR 172
  • Githu -vs- Ndeete
    (1984] KLR 776
  • Paul Kamande Gicheha -vs- Jacob Kinyua Kiragu
    [2018] eKLR
  • Mwangi Gitau -vs- Livingstone Ndete
    [1980] eKLR
  • Kimani Ruchine -vs- Swift Rutherford Co. Ltd
    (1980) KLR 10
  • Mbiri Michuki -vs- Samuel Mugo Michuki
    [2014] eKLR
  • Benjamin Kamau Murima & Others -vs- Gladys Njeri
    C.A No. 213 of 1996
  • Kasuve -vs- Mwaani Investments Ltd & Others
    [1984] I KLR 184
  • Mtana Lewa -vs- Kahindi Ngala Mwangandi
    (2015) eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Original jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court under Sections 7 and 38 of the Limitation of Actions Act and Order 37 of the Civil Procedure Rules (adverse possession originating summons)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Kiptui v Kibet (Enviromental and Land Originating Summons E023 of 2024) [2025] KEELC 1089 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in the judgment (Originating Summons dated 13/6/2024). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2025/1089/eng@2025-03-05

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.