Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in the extract· [2025] KEELC 498 (KLR)

Omuse & 8 others v Sauti Savings & Credit Cooperative Society Ltd & 9 others (Environment and Land Case Civil Suit E106 of 2021) [2025] KEELC 498 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court of Kenya
31 January 2025
12,841 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~51 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Nairobi plot buyers won KES 4.3 million each in compensation with interest, after the court rejected the seller's valuation evidence.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiffs, purchasers of various sub-plots (7m x 14m) carved out of L.R No. Nairobi Block 82/8760, sued for specific performance, issuance of titles, possession, an injunction, nullification of dealings with third parties, and in the alternative compensation at current market value, plus general, punitive and exemplary damages. By a consent dated 14 June 2023, adopted as a court order, the parties admitted their documents and witness statements, waived cross-examination except of expert witnesses, and confined the court's mandate to determining the compensation due to the plaintiffs in lieu of the plots and the incidence of costs. Four expert valuers testified. The court discredited the defence valuers: DW1 (Nicholas Owino) gave contradictory evidence on whether he visited the site, relied on a 2014 valuation, and omitted comparables from his report; DW2 (Robert Nzioki) also omitted comparables from his report and appendices, and impermissibly deducted infrastructure costs from the value of un-serviced plots. PW2's report (Stanley Juma Muli) was found coherent, peer-reviewed, and based on inspection and un-serviced comparables. Applying the principles in Stephen Kinini Wang'ondu v The Ark Limited and Criticos v National Bank of Kenya on weighing expert evidence, the court adopted Kes. 4,300,000/= as the compensatory market value and awarded that sum to each plaintiff, with interest at 14% per annum from the date of filing suit. Costs were awarded to the plaintiffs, borne by the 1st Defendant, applying Salomon v Salomon on the 1st Defendant's culpability. All other reliefs, including specific performance and damages, were expressly denied in the final orders of 31 January 2025.

Key legal issues

#
01

Assessment of compensation for the suit plots in lieu of specific performance

Holding

The court preferred the plaintiff's valuation by PW2 (Stanley Juma Muli), which was peer-reviewed and coherent, over the contradictory and deficient defence reports, and adopted Kes. 4,300,000/= as the compensatory market value.

Reasoning

The court weighed four valuation reports. DW1's report was discredited: he initially admitted he did not visit the site, then reversed himself; his report omitted comparables. DW2's report similarly lacked comparables in its body or appendices, and its comparables were plots three times bigger than the subject plots. PW2's report was coherent, based on inspection and un-serviced comparables, and had been peer-reviewed in line with ISK practice. Applying the criteria in Stephen Kinini Wang'ondu v The Ark Limited and Criticos v National Bank of Kenya on assessing expert evidence, the court found DW1 and DW2 unreliable and adopted PW2's figure.

p. 21
02

Rejection of deduction of infrastructure costs from valuation

Holding

The defence valuer's deduction of infrastructure costs from market value was illogical because the plots were valued as un-serviced; serviced plots would attract higher, not lower, values.

Reasoning

DW2 arrived at an average value and then deducted the costs of proposed infrastructure. The court held this was self-defeating: the suit plots were being valued as un-serviced plots, and if they were serviced the values would be higher. Since valuation relates to the property as it is at the time, deducting future infrastructure costs from an un-serviced plot's value had no rational basis and undermined the reliability of the defence valuation.

p. 20
03

Incidence of costs

Holding

Costs were awarded to the plaintiffs, borne by the 1st Defendant, following the principle that costs follow the event.

Reasoning

Citing section 27 of the Civil Procedure Act and the Supreme Court in Jasbir Singh Rai v Tarlochan Singh Rai, the court held that costs follow the event and that a successful party is to be indemnified unless there is cogent basis to deprive them of costs. No extenuating factors warranted such deprivation; indeed the plaintiffs had been subjected to mistreatment by the defendants. Liability for costs was placed on the 1st Defendant as the culpable party, applying the Salomon principle of separate corporate personality.

p. 23
04

Liability of the 1st Defendant

Holding

The culpable party liable to the plaintiffs is the 1st Defendant, per the Salomon v Salomon principle.

Reasoning

In the final disposition, the court identified the 1st Defendant as the party culpable towards the plaintiffs, invoking Salomon v Salomon on separate legal personality as reiterated in Omondi v National Bank of Kenya. Accordingly, compensation was decreed in favour of the plaintiffs but costs (and effectively the liability flowing from the judgment) were fastened onto the 1st Defendant rather than the 2nd Defendant.

p. 25

Legal principles established

#
  • Expert evidence does not trump other evidence; a court may reject expert opinion that is internally contradictory, lacks underlying facts, or whose reasoning is defective, preferring competing expert evidence after testing it against the whole record.
  • Comparables deployed by a valuer must be reflected in the body of the valuation report to enable the court to interrogate them.
  • Costs follow the event; a successful party should not be deprived of costs without a plausible, cogent and credible basis.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The Market value of the suit plots be and is hereby assessed and certified in the sum of Kes. 4,300,000/= only.
  2. 2.Each Plaintiff be and is hereby awarded the sum of Kes. 4,300,000/= only as compensation on account of the market value of the suit plots in lieu of specific performance.
  3. 3.The Award in terms of clause [ii] hereof shall accrue interests at court rates [14%] per annum w.e.f date of filing the suit.
  4. 4.Costs of the suit be and are hereby awarded to the Plaintiffs and same shall be borne by the 1st Defendant.
  5. 5.Any other reliefs not expressly granted is hereby denied.
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction (land claim); case proceeds per consent adopted as court order dated 14 June 2023

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Omuse & 8 others v Sauti Savings & Credit Cooperative Society Ltd & 9 others (Environment and Land Case Civil Suit E106 of 2021) [2025] KEELC 498 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in the extract. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2025/498/eng@2025-01-31

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.