Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCAllowedNot stated in the judgment (Environment and Land Court suit, Voi)· [2024] KEELC 7417 (KLR)

Mwanzia v Ngaluma (The Administrator of the Estate of Shadrack Ngaluma) (Environment & Land Case 2 of 2023) (Environment and Land) [2024] KEELC 7417 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
8 November 2024
5,087 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~20 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's Environment and Land Court cancelled a land title obtained irregularly, confirming that holding a title deed alone does not prove lawful ownership.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiff sued by a plaint dated 21 September 2007 (amended 10 February 2022) seeking a declaration that he is the owner and entitled to possession of land parcel Kimorigho/Mboghoni/469, an order directing the defendant to transfer the parcel to him (with the Deputy Registrar to execute instruments in default), a permanent restraint against interference with the land, and costs. He alleged that the parcel, which had belonged to his late father and formed part of his family's land, was erroneously and fraudulently registered in the name of the defendant's father, Shadrack Ngaluma, through misrepresentation during the 1985 Mboghoni Adjudication, while the plaintiff was working in Nairobi. He relied on adjudication records showing that his objection before the Taita-Taveta District Adjudication Objections Tribunal was allowed and the parcel was cancelled from the Adjudication Register, a survey report of 6 March 2019 showing anomalies between the ground and the map sheet, a certificate of official search showing the title was issued on 25 August 2006 while the dispute was pending, and prior criminal and civil proceedings between the parties. The defendant, though filing a statement of defence pleading lawful acquisition and limitation, tendered no evidence at trial. The court framed two issues: ownership of the parcel and entitlement to reliefs. Applying the root-of-title doctrine under Article 40, Section 26 and Section 80(1) of the Land Registration Act, and authorities including Dina Management Limited, the court held that the plaintiff proved a good root of title and that the defendant's title was irregularly procured and impeachable. Judgment was entered for the plaintiff with a declaration of ownership, cancellation of the defendant's registration, an order for transfer within 45 days, a restraint order, and costs to the plaintiff.

Key legal issues

#
01

Ownership and root of title to Kimorigho/Mboghoni/469

Holding

The plaintiff proved a good root of title; the defendant's title was procured irregularly during the adjudication process after the parcel had been cancelled from the Adjudication Register, making the plaintiff the legitimate and bonafide owner.

Reasoning

The court traced the adjudication history: the Mboghoni Adjudication Section was established in 1985; the plaintiff's objection before the Taita-Taveta District Adjudication Objections Tribunal was allowed and parcel 469 was cancelled from the Adjudication Register. The defendant was nonetheless issued a title deed on 25 August 2006 while the dispute was pending. The defendant tendered no evidence to controvert the plaintiff's testimony, and the survey report showed anomalies between the ground and the map sheet.

p. 8
02

Whether the defendant's certificate of title was impeachable under Section 26 of the Land Registration Act

Holding

The title was procured irregularly and was impeachable and liable to cancellation.

Reasoning

Relying on Section 26 of the Land Registration Act and Section 80(1) on rectification, the court held that protection of title is removed where the title is procured through fraud, misrepresentation, illegality or unprocedural conduct. The registration occurred after the parcel had been cancelled from the Adjudication Register and while the dispute remained pending before adjudication officials.

p. 9
03

Whether consent to institute the suit from the Land Adjudication Officer was required

Holding

Consent was not necessary because a certificate of finality had been issued on 4 August 2006 and Mboghoni had become a registered section under the Registered Land Act.

Reasoning

The District Land Adjudication Officer's letter of 28 September 2006 confirmed that a certificate of finality had been signed and issued on 4 August 2006 and that Mboghoni was a registered section under Cap 300, so no consent under Section 30(1) of the Land Adjudication Act was needed before instituting civil proceedings.

p. 8
04

Costs

Holding

The plaintiff, as the successful litigant, is entitled to costs.

Reasoning

Section 27 of the Civil Procedure Act confers discretion on the court; costs follow the events unless special circumstances exist. The plaintiff succeeded in proving his case, so costs were awarded to him.

p. 9

Legal principles established

#
  • A registered proprietor must prove the legality of the root of title; danging the title instrument alone is insufficient where the root title is under challenge.
  • Under Section 26(1)(b) of the Land Registration Act, a title need not be impeached by proving the title holder was party to the fraud; a title acquired illegally, unprocedurally or through a corrupt scheme is impeachable even against an innocent holder.
  • Where two competing interests over the same land exist, the court must investigate the root of title of each party.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.A declaration that the plaintiff is the lawful owner and entitled to possession of land parcel known as Kimorigho/Mboghoni/469
  2. 2.An order cancelling the registration of Shadrack Mwarabu Ngaluma as the registered proprietor of land parcel known as Kimorigo/Mboghoni/469
  3. 3.An order directing the defendant to transfer all that parcel known as Kimorigho/Mboghoni/469 to the plaintiff, Ali Mwanzia, within 45 days from service of the decree and, in default, the Deputy Registrar to execute all necessary instruments to convey the plot to Ali Mwanzia
  4. 4.An order restraining the defendant from interfering with the suit property Kimorigho/Mboghori/469
  5. 5.Costs of the suit awarded to the plaintiff

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Constitution of Kenya, 2010Article 40(1)
  • Land Registration Act, Act No. 3 of 2012Section 26(1) and (2)
  • Land Registration Act, Act No. 3 of 2012Section 80(1)
  • Evidence ActSection 109
  • Civil Procedure ActSection 27
  • Land Adjudication Act, Cap 284Sections 30(1) and 27(2)
  • Registered Land Act, Cap 300
  • Land Consolidation ActSections 17 and 26 (as pleaded by the defendant)

Cases cited (11)

  • Kimani =Versus= Njeri & 3 Others
    (Environment and Land Case No. 10 of 2022) (2023) KEELC 17771 (KLR) (8 June 2023)
  • Hubert L. Martin & 2 Others vs Margaret J. Kamar & 5 Others
    [2016] eKLR
  • Milankumar Shah & 2 others v The City Council of Nairobi & another
    Nairobi High Court Civil Suit No. 1024 of 2005 (O.S)
  • Munyu Maina vs Hiram Gathiha Maina
    [2013] eKLR
  • Funzi Development Ltd & Others vs Country Council Of Kwale
    [2014] eKLR
  • Dina Management Limited vs County Government of Mombasa & 5 Others
    [2023] eKLR
  • Jacob Wekesa Bokoko Balongo vs. Kincho Olokio Adeya & another
    [2020] eKLR
  • Fahiye & 2 others – v- Omar & 4 others
    [201] 2 KLR 224
  • Champaklal Ramji Shah & 3 Anors –v- AG & Anor
    HCCC No. 145 of 1997
  • Alice Chemutai Too – Vs – Nickson Kipkurui Korir & 2 Others
    [2015] eKLR
  • Elijah Makeri Nyangwara –vs- Stephen Mungai Njuguna & Another
    Eldoret ELC Case No. 609 B of 2012
Jurisdiction invoked
Original jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court under the Environment and Land Court Act over disputes relating to title to land

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Mwanzia v Ngaluma (The Administrator of the Estate of Shadrack Ngaluma) (Environment & Land Case 2 of 2023)  (Environment and Land) [2024] KEELC 7417 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2024). Not stated in the judgment (Environment and Land Court suit, Voi). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2024/7417/eng@2024-11-08

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.