Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNot stated in the judgment (application dated 22.8.2024)· [2024] KEELC 7308 (KLR)

Redeemed Gospel Church Meru & another v Mwirebua & 2 others; Muthuri & another (Third party) (Environment & Land Case E003 of 2020) [2024] KEELC 7308 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
30 October 2024
1,597 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~6 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

The Environment and Land Court in Meru ruled that defendants who lose a case together must pay all the legal costs together, and refused to let one defendant pay in tiny monthly instalments.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This ruling of the Environment and Land Court at Meru (Nzili J) determined a notice of application dated 22 August 2024 by the 1st defendant, a judgment debtor, seeking leave to act in person, a stay of execution of the orders of 1 August 2024, review of a taxed bill of costs of Kshs.443,465/= so that each of the three defendants bears one-third, and leave to liquidate her share in monthly installments of Kshs.5,000/=. The application followed judgment delivered on 25 October 2023 allowing the plaintiffs' land-sale suit with costs; only the 2nd and 3rd defendants appealed. The respondents opposed, arguing the review was a disguised appeal not meeting the thresholds of Section 80 of the Civil Procedure Act and Order 45, and relied on Hosea Nyandika Mosagwe v County Government of Nyamira. On review and apportionment, the court applied Republic v Permanent Secretary, Oasis Park Self Help Group and Kenya Airways v Mwaniki Gichohi, holding that costs awarded against several defendants in a single cause are jointly and severally payable unless specifically apportioned, and that no clerical error existed. On installments, applying Order 21 Rule 12 and authorities including Keshavji Jethabhai v Saleh Abdul, Hildegard Ndelut and Singh Gitau Advocates, the court held that mere inability to pay is insufficient; the applicant had disclosed no assets, offered no security, and was the sole author of the debt, while the proposed installments were unreasonably small. The entire application was dismissed with costs on 30 October 2024.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the court can review and apportion taxed costs among several defendants where the judgment was silent on joint or several liability

Holding

No. Defendants against whom costs are awarded in a single cause are jointly and severally liable unless the court specifically apportions them; there was no error apparent to warrant review

Reasoning

The court applied Oasis Park Self Help Group and Kenya Airways Ltd v Mwaniki Gichohi, holding that joint and several liability means one decree against two or more persons liable collectively and individually to its full extent. The plaintiffs' claim had been allowed as prayed with costs against the defendants jointly and severally, so there was no clerical mistake capable of review under Section 80 and Order 45.

p. 3
02

Whether the judgment debtor should be allowed to pay the decretal amount in installments

Holding

No. The discretion under Order 21 Rule 12 was not deserved because the applicant lacked bona fides, made no full disclosure of assets, offered no security, and her own conduct caused the debt

Reasoning

Guided by Keshavji Jethabhai, Hildegard Ndelut and Singh Gitau, the court considered hardship, delay, how the debt arose, financial position and the amount proposed. The applicant, solely responsible for the litigation after breaching the land sale contract, disclosed only a medical report and pension statement, offered no security, and proposed a token Kshs.5,000/= monthly which would prolong collection unreasonably.

p. 3

Legal principles established

#
  • Where judgment awards costs against several defendants in a single cause without specific apportionment, the defendants are jointly and severally liable for the costs
  • Mere inability to pay a decretal sum in full at once is not sufficient reason for payment in installments unless bona fide is shown
  • An applicant seeking installment payment must show sincerity and make full disclosure of financial position

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The application dated 22.8.2024 is dismissed with costs

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Civil Procedure ActSection 80
  • Civil Procedure ActSection 27
  • Civil Procedure RulesOrder 45
  • Civil Procedure RulesOrder 21 Rule 12

Cases cited (12)

  • Hosea Nyandika Mosagwe & others vs County Government of Nyamira
    (2022) eKLR
  • Republic vs Permanent Secretary in Charge of Internal Security; Exparte Joshua Paul
    (2013) eKLR
  • Oasis Park Self Help Group petitioning through John Mutinda and others vs Joinven Investments Ltd & others
    (2016) eKLR
  • Kenya Airways Ltd vs Mwaniki Gichohi
    Milimani Courts Civil Case No. 423 of 2002
  • Keshavji Jethabhai and Brothers Ltd vs Saleh Abdul
    [1959] EA 260
  • Hildegard Ndelut vs Letkina Dairies Ltd and another
    (2005) eKLR
  • Mohamed Akbar Khan vs Kasturchand Daga
    cited in Keshavji Jethabhai & Brothers Ltd vs Saleh Abdul [1959] EA 260
  • Diamond Star General Trading LLC vs Ambrose D O Rachier t/a Rachier & Amollo Advocates
    (2018) eKLR
  • A. Rajabali Alidina vs Remtulla Alidina & Another
    [1961] E.A. 565
  • William Ndeti t/a Ndeti Enterprises vs NIC Bank Limited
    [2020] eKLR
  • Lavington Security Ltd vs Nairobi City Water and Sewerage Co. Ltd
    (2014) eKLR
  • Singh Gitau Advocates vs City Finance Bank Ltd
    (2013) eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Inherent jurisdiction of the court under Section 80 of the Civil Procedure Act and Order 45 and Order 21 Rule 12 of the Civil Procedure Rules

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Redeemed Gospel Church Meru & another v Mwirebua & 2 others; Muthuri & another (Third party) (Environment & Land Case E003 of 2020) [2024] KEELC 7308 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2024). Not stated in the judgment (application dated 22.8.2024). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2024/7308/eng@2024-10-30

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.